We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Port Macquarie Surf School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Port Macquaries' original and multi award winning surf school. We have been coaching surfers in the local area since 1981. Come and enjoy the amazing beaches, while learning to surf in a fun and safe environment. All our coaches are passionate surfers and if we can't get you riding, no -one can! Hire boards are also available (Hard and soft) for surfers wanting to get out there and experience the amazing waves of our coastline
Moama, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Our 2 older kids (9 and 11) had surfing lessons with these guys last week (January 2013). It was an absolutely fanstistic experience. Both were up on boards within half an hour! They were supposed to do 5 lessons for beginners. This course normally runs Monday - Friday but we were only in town Wednesday - Sunday. This was no problem and they tailored lessons to suit. The instructors were heaps of fun and did their job well. There were both guys and girls instructing which was good. We booked in before our holiday and dealt with Amy which was a pleasure. Wayne, Jenny and Macca were all good down at the beach.
We will definitely send the kids back for more lessons next time we go to Port Mac.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank touring-plonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grandson's First surf”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our daughter came over to Australia for a visit and we took her 5 year old son to Flynn's Beach where the surf school is located. He was given excellent instruction on how to surf. The instructor was very professional in his manner.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank davidgilbert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“kids paradise”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

my 2 teenage sons attended surf school on friday 6th and monday 9th july to learn to surf. The hudson family have really nailed their business. Wayne is the best guy you could meet and has the kids under his spell. His Dad is just the same. My sons had the best time, they wish they could have had more time. Both learnt to surf, and were given plenty of assistance and individual attention. For $40 you get a 2 hour lesson and it is cheaper if you do the whole week. Wet suits provided. Best money we spent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank anny65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great thing to do”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Totally agree with first reviewer. Great fun. Great family

Helpful?
2 Thank Groundhogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great experience with friendly competent professionals”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We first had experience with this surf school as a one off experience during holidays which my son enjoyed immensely. They were easy too book with, picked us up from the hotel and were very friendly.

When we moved to Port we took up a block of lessons for the term. All our experiences have been very positive, the coaches are terrific, well informed, very friendly and professional. My son has learnt a lot about the surf, not just how to surf, but about rips and currents, how to read the conditions etc. I would recommend Peter and his family to everyone, people wanting a one-off unique Australian experience or people wanting serious lessons for a block of time.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Macquarie Surf School also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Port Macquarie Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing