We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no complaint for a $110 night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no complaint for a $110 night”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

the property was a bit old. But you got everything you need. Heard some noisy yelling around 11pm for 15 minutes, probably some guests got drunk. Reception service is good and efficient. Convenient location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    83
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
36
69
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Many thanks for your help with athletes and carers from Special Olympics this weekend. When accommodation was needed because another motel let them down you were very helpful. Great customer service at a time of need.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narooma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent service, very welcoming. Requested a quiet room and we were well catered for. Couldn't fault our room, included full length mirror, comfy bed, warmth, great shower/bathroom etc. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed overnight on way to Coffs Harbour . Room clean , spacious and perfect for an overnight stay. Although located on major road we were not bothered by road noise. Has a restaurant where we ate both dinner which we felt was well priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Upon arriving at the motel, the front desk staff were extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. There was plenty of car parking available.
We stayed in the king spa room for 3 nights. There are two of these rooms at the front of the motel and they are separated from all the other rooms. They each have a small private courtyard.
Our room was very clean, bright and spacious. The king bed was really comfortable. The room also had a sofa, desk, small table and good sized TV. There was a kitchen area with toaster, kettle and decent sized bar fridge, but no microwave. The bathroom was spacious and bright, with large spa bath and shower. The room wasn't brand new but didn't feel dated, and we had a comfortable stay.
We were not able to connect to the free wifi using the password provided by the staff (note we are both competent at computer networking and troubleshooting to solve such issues). The staff weren't able to help us get connected.
We ate at the motel restaurant one night - the food was quite good and the wait staff were efficient and helpful.
I was initially worried there would be a lot of traffic noise but the main road at the front of the motel quietened down at night. I routinely wear ear plugs to bed, especially when travelling, so I slept well. My partner said the sensor light outside was loudly clicking on and off all night but I didn't hear it.
The motel is located a couple of kms from the main shops and restaurants of Port Macquarie. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night as a quick stopover on the way home to canberra from Brisbane. The room was neat and tidy and had everything we needed for the night. The bed was comfortable and plenty of car parking. The hotel is in a good location for a quick stop as it's only a short drive off the highway and it's still close to the cbd where the restaurants and shops are.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highgate Hill, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Room dated, and too expensive for room ambiance. Desk clerks friendly. Location was Ok. A microwave in the room would have been appreciated. Not a bad experience but not a good value either. Cleanliness was ok inside and out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.9 mi away
HW Boutique Hotel
HW Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn

Property: Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Address: 103 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing