We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame about the awful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a shame about the awful staff!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Let me start off by saying that in terms of location and facilities, this was one of the best hostels we have stayed in. The hostel is very close to the town centre and there is a free shuttle to the bus stop which was great as we are travelling on the greyhound bus. The facilities were also really good at this hostel. It is a brilliant place to go back and relax in a comfortable room or in one of the great communal areas. However the staff here were not good at all. The men here walk around with faces like thunder all day and don't say a word to any of the guests. Once they have finished their work in the morning they seem to sit by the pool all day drinking. All of the guests seem like a massive inconvenience to them which makes the atmosphere quite uncomfortable. At one point we witnessed one of these older men be extremely rude behind on of the female guests back in the pool area. The other men found this quite amusing. On our final day here a new quest arrived but the office was closed. I let the staff by the pool know someone was wanting to check in to which one of the men replied "just let him wait" and the women who was actually on duty replied "I'm too hungover to go and help him now any way". The guest waited there for a couple of hours before leaving. Such a shame about the awful staff here, this would be a brilliant hostel without them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    49
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
31
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I loved Port Macquarie, small enough to be quaint but large enough to be interesting .

Local buses don't seem to run very often (especially on Sundays) and they don't seem to coincide with trains very well neither. I arrived at Wauchope (nearest station) on a Sunday and very was grateful to the hostel for arranging a car pick-up, although the $20 may be too pricy for some. Left mid-week but needed the car service again rather than wait for hours at the station.

I think this hostel has upgraded a lot since becoming YHA affiliated as some of the negatives mentioned in the Lonely Planet (such as uncomfortable beds) were not true. The hostel is clean, comfy, with great facilities and just a short walk to the shops and restaurants. There's a creek a short walk away too where I was able to see koalas in their natural habitat.

There's a nice pool, great TV room, lots of communal space and options to play pool, table tennis, chess etc or just relax in the reading room.

The staff here are really friendly and really helpful - I needed to do a bit of copying and scanning with some paperwork and it was no worries.

But the hostel's highlight is Cheeky, the resident Rainbow Lorikeet. He's happy to sit on your shoulder and talk to you, especially if you have some fruit for him.

The only negative thing I experienced related to the room. The 4-bed dorm was pretty small but clean and comfy. However, with just 2 small windows for ventilation and no fan, it was unbelievably hot. And this is in November when it's not even hot outside yet - I would hate to be in the room mid-Summer.

I thought about making my review score 4 stars instead of 5 because of this, but Cheeky promised he'd get the staff to look into fans for the room if I gave the hostel 5 stars, so here we are. How cheeky!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Definitely one of my favourite hostels on my trip along the Eastcoast. First of all the staff was great, they were so helpful and really fun to hang around. I stayed in a 6-share dorm which I only had to share with two other girls, so there definitely was enough space. The room and our private bathroom were really clean, aswell as the kitchen and pool area. The hostel was only a 5 minute walking distance away from Port Macquaries town center but the staff still picked us up from the busstop and drove us there on our last day. The atmosphere in the hostel was super chilled and the pool area was perfect to get to know new people!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in January 2013 in a double room. The room wasn't bad and was clean enough although a major downside was that the room had no air con or fan and when the temperature is still in the high 20's, early 30's at night, it makes it very difficult to sleep. We shared a bathroom but was only with one other room which wasn't too bad. They have a weekly BBQ/wine night which was good and gives you a chance to meet fellow travellers however get there early to get a seat. The hostel was about a 20 minute walk to coles and about 40 minutes to the koala hospital. The kitchen wasn't great and didn't have many utensils but this wasn't a massive issue-just try and cook when it's a bit quieter. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. I've given this hostel a 'poor' rating for sleep quality based purely on our experience of hot weather and no air on, and a 'poor' rating for value as we paid $90 for a private double which is very expensive compared to the rest of the East Coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I went to this hostel during the beginning of my trip in Australia and stayed here for almost a full week, and I absolutely loved it! The ENVIRONMENT was so RELAXED and FUN! I am travelling on my own and this place made me feel like I was at home, the staff were INCREDIBLY FRIENDLY nothing like any other hostel. This place was very accommodating, my light bulb in my bathroom went out at some point during the night when I spoke with them in the morning they had it fixed right away,they didn't wait around. A VERY CLEAN hostel, with a good sized kitchen to cook food. Tons of space to eat inside or outside! Close to the beach and the town. I met a ton of great people here and I still keep in contact with them, months later!

Room Tip: The all girls dorm 6 bed share had its own shower which was very nice! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samiee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Had a flying visit through Port Macquarie unfortunately, but chose this hostel to stay in for location and price. It was very nice indeed - the owner checked us in whilst on his break (sorry again about that!) then gave us a map and directed us to decent pubs, nice walks and spots to see the wildlife. We didn't have much time to indulge in much other than a walk along the waterfront, but this was very nice (the painted rocks are pretty cool). There are parrots EVERYWHERE here, and the owner has one which lives with him! Huge room - when told we had a 10-bed dorm I was waiting to be underwhelmed, but it was really a 4-bed and a 6-bed separated by a door, so you had your own space anyway. Big kitchen with free tea & coffee...all in all if you are coming to Port Macquarie this is a great base. But stay longer than just the one night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuslostinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights. Its pretty clean and comfortable but doesn't have much character. The staff didn't seem to want to help particularly one guy. For example offering to help with bags... A guy from another hostel actually ended up helping me and holding an umbrella for me too. Also asking for my ID back as I was checking out early, he said you can back later a few times before giving it to me! Got woken up by police outside one night.. Some guy lurking apparently. The second night woken up by obnoxious drunk girls returning to the room (I have not experienced this so bad the whole time I've been traveling!) I don't think it had a friendly atmosphere and I'm good at getting chatting to people normally.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.9 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Macquarie Backpackers
Port Macquarie Backpackers
#4 of 35 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.2 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers

Property: Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers
Address: 36 Waugh St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers Nomads)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ozzie Pozzie is Port Macquarie’s most highly recommended resort youth hostel by "Lonely Planet" and "Lets-Go" and Port Macquarie’s best value and cheap youth hostel accommodation. While this quiet youth hostels location features a great social atmosphere in a tropical setting, it is only 5 mins walk from town, shops and bars. Richard used his 8 years of backpacking hostels experience to renovate and extend Ozzie Pozzie and operate it as a friendly fun-filled hostel with lots of free extras. Newly extended it is spotlessly clean with two cosy courtyards to meet and greet, and lounges & hammocks to enjoy in a cabana around a palm fringed pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing