We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sails resort from Thursday 17th April till Saturday 19th of April. I booked this accommodation because they were offering a special deal for Easter. Also if I joined the priority guests we would get more discounts. While deciding whether to book or not online a pop up box appeared and offered me a room upgrade if I proceeded. I booked and requested a room with a waterview. We were given room 244. It was a very spacious room with a separate bedroom. It had a waterview however we had to look accross the top of a tin roof. It had a large private balcony. There was a kitchenette however the microwave had no plate in it.
The bed was dreamy as advertised however the pillows weren't.
There was a spa bath which we weren't expecting. Small but still a spa bath. The bathroom door had water damage on the bottom of it. The blockout curtain in the bedroom was disconnected on one end so the sun blasted in.
This room is normally $199.00 per night. We got the room for $135.00 per night as a priority guest with a buffett breakfast. This was also part of the Easter special deal.
The people in the next door stayed up late the first night till at least 1am playing a loud computer game that vibrated through the wall and there was also a humming noise like a motor that cut in and out all night. We had very poor sleep our first night because of these things.
We spoke to reception about the noisy neighbours. We were told to ring security if it happens again. I asked reception if they were going to speak to the people themselves. They were reluctant as these people were staying longer than us. We were eventually told that they would speak to the manager about talking to the noisy neighbours. No one did because it started again the next night. This time the receptionist on duty rang the neighbours and asked them to turn the noise down which they did. Unfortunately the humming engine cutting in and out type noise continued all night. Again we had poor sleep. We told reception about this humming noise and we were told well you got that room for $135.00 and it's usually $200. That's beside the point. We came here for two days to relax and rest. You had a special deal on. That doesn't mean you give your customers poor service. If you offer a special deal you should still give the same service. If you offer an upgrade it should be an upgrade. Also if one guest is staying longer it doesn't mean they should be treated better than the guest staying for a shorter period.

Room Tip: Don't choose or accept room 244.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

I agree, that is beside the point, and you shouldn't be treated differently to any other guest...! In fact, you should have been treated better as a Priority Guest Member. I am embarrassed.
I am embarrassed that this is the kind of service you received and extremely disappointed in the way the hotel staff handled this situation. If you know the name of the staff member you dealt with I would really like to discuss this with them.
I have the hotel's Maintenance Manager looking into this "humming" noise now, it is strange and not something I have heard of before.
I am please however that you were able to book the Priority Guest Rewards Easter Special online. A great special offering for this Easter that many guests were able to book, and something we may reproduce next year.
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your stay. I apologies for the lack of attention you received during your stay and by my standards is inexcusable. If you are able to recall the staff member I would appreciate you being able to let me know.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Was put in a room on bottom floor next to 2 rooms being renovated, after check in at 16.30 a tradesman opened adjoining door and walked into our room. He apologised as he didn't know the room was occupied, the next morning (Good Friday) at 9am another tradesman barged through the door waking my wife and I and giving us an almighty fright, after a lot of hassle with front desk we were offered a different room. Was asked could we 'stick it out' for another night in the renovation room. This room should not have been for sale, it was money making at its worst. No care for guests at all. Poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

I am terribly sorry that these tradesmen entered your room whilst you were in there, it is extremely unacceptable. I have spoken with the painters responsible who would also like to pass on their apologies. Thanks to your feedback I have implemented a new procedure to ensure this does not happen to future guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and again, my sincere apologies for this disruption during your stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just stayed at Sails over this past weekend with our three children aged 12, 9 and 7 and had a fabulous relaxing weekend. We arrived Friday night and had a booking for Spinnakers restaurant. The service was wonderful with our children well catered for and our seafood meals were excellent. Our room a water studio was spacious enough for the five of us, the beds were comfortable and we had a beautiful view over the pool and to the Hastings river beyond. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff very attentive. Special mention of Lily who was there both mornings and was very kind and lovely to our children. The buffet was kept well stocked with fresh hot food e.g. pancakes, hash browns, eggs etc. We enjoyed the pool and spa on Sat afternoon and Sun morning. It was clean and inviting. Included in our package was a family ticket to Billabongs Wildlife Park which we all enjoyed. Breakfast was also included in our package. I am really glad Rydges has bought this property and are giving it a facelift. It is such a beautiful location and unique design. We stayed here about 10 years ago when our eldest was about 2 years old and thought our children would enjoy it and they did.
There was a wedding in the atrium and restaurant on Saturday afternoon and evening but this didn't bother us as we dined at Quay Lime nearby and the music stopped around 10.30pm. There are lots of dining and entertainment options in close walking distance with the marina, shopping centre and clubs nearby.My children thought it was fantastic that McDonalds was across the road and we had a quick lunch there on Saturday. Overall our stay at Sails was very good and the service was excellent. We will come back again.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a water view is very relaxing and quiet. No lift to the first floor if you can't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words and wonderful feedback. I hear a lot of comments about guests that have stayed a long time ago and starting to come back and discover Sails Resort again. It is a pleasure to know that the hotel has so much meaning and history to previous travellers. Rydges is very excited to have added this property to its portfolio of hotels and is excited to get the refurbishment underway. Mock up rooms have already begun and are looking amazing. The hotel will get some photos online once they are finished.
Thank you again for your wonderful feedback, Lily was especially grateful. I hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges in the future.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed just one night to break up the gold coast to Sydney drive. Rooms are quite dated, but I understand Rydges will be refurbishing. I hope they redo the bathrooms too, they are not too functional, with shower over bath and toilet in one room, and vanity and basin outside of that. Our bathroom did not have a working exhaust fan, so we had to leave the door open a bit while showering.

Only real disappointment was the beds, horribly hard and uncomfortable, with easily felt springs in the bigger bed. We booked a water deluxe studio because the Sails website said this room had Rydges Dream beds, and after a 7 hr drive all we wanted to do was sleep in comfy beds. But no, apparently only the rooms with king sz beds have dream beds. Best fix the website then.

http://www.rydges.com/accommodation/port-macquarie-nsw/sails-port-macquarie/rooms-and-suites/water-deluxe-studio/

We didn't get to try Spinnakers evening meals, as there was a wedding reception on, so the restaurant was closed. However we did have breakfast in the morning, and the food was really good. We have stayed at Sails before, and the breakfast has improved since then. In fact, as we said to the staff, it is better than the buffets at SeaWorld Resort, where we had just been for 6 nights. Well done to the chef.

Pool area is quite nice, not huge like big resorts, but i really like the stone around it, and the outlook on the river is gorgeous, lovely location. I hope that Rydges just renovates Sails and doesn't expand it. Part of the charm is the smaller size and friendliness. Good location too, opposite a shopping mall that has Woolies, Big W, etc, plus a McDonalds, petrol station, and a Panthers club. In saying that, you don't hear any noise from any of that, as it is not in the main part of the town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on some feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I was pleased to read that your overall enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I have passed on your feedback about the Rydges Rise breakfast to the Executive Chef who thanks you for your comments. I was also pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and the pool area. I agree with you, the pool does have a certain charm that is hard to replicate.
You are right in saying that the hotel will be undergoing a full refurbishment, in fact, it has already begun. Mock up rooms are currently underway and after 30 years the hotel will finally be getting a proper make over thanks to the new Rydges Management.
Thank you also for pointing out the Rydges Dream Beds being advertised online, I have updated this now. Every room will have a Rydges Dream Bed once the refurbishments are complete.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you had a lovely Easter and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We are a mature retired couple, we apprciate quality at an affordable price. This is exactly what we got ar Rydges (Sails resort) at Port Macquarie. The staff were excellent & I was very warmly greeted by Cheryl on arrival.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and will pass on my personal thanks to Cheryl at Reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This resort runs events on the weekend where the music and bass continue until 11.3o pm. If you wish to sleep before 11.30 pm, this is not the place for you. Try somewhere else. During an event (eg wedding, party, celebration) restaurant will be closed and noise and loud speaker of MC continuous until 11.30 pm. What more can One say...avoid!! Staff seem powerless to help!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank kath r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback Kath, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and were inconvenienced by the noise from the wedding in the restaurant. The restaurant does occasionally get booked for functions and we do our best to ensure the music is stopped early and guests not attending the function are allocated away from the noise. It appears we may not have been able to do this on your stay.
Again, I apologise for any inconvenience, I hope we can welcome you back to Sails Resort for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed between 28th Feb and 3rd March and stayed in a water view king room and LOVED IT SO MUCH we're planing on going again in either september or october.

The resort has everything, pool, indoor spa and outdoor spa.

Only thing I can say I was bit saddened by was no sink or room to cook our breakfast only a small cube to prep your food maybe an extra bench would be better but thats the only thing.

The bedding was amazing, so Confortable, amazing views, Couldn't ask for anything better.

I think the sauna was out of action or geting re-modeled but would love to see it up and working on our next trip..

The staff was AMAZING the food was AMAZING could not say a bad word about it.. And plus there doing remodels of every room cant wait to see u soon Sails!!!!!

5 stars on service
5 stars on food
5 stars on room

Room Tip: Was in room 220 and loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

It really makes my day reading such positive feedback :). I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and am looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. I would recommend booking a Water Deluxe Studio on your next time up, these rooms have the same views as the one you stayed but also have a little kitchenette.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
917 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#17 of 42 in Port Macquarie
409 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: £98 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing