We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Scotts Head, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just came back from 2 nights at Sails and it was great! the position across from the club/shopping centre was so convenient and also a nice walk along the waters edge to the main town. The outdoor spa was great and when the pump stops you can just reach out, press the button and start it again! ( some you have to get out of the tub in the freezing cold to turn it on again). The room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable for us and the breakfast had everything for all tastes and appetites. The staff were all lovely and yes I would stay again, maybe spend the extra to have water views but then we were very happy with what we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am, in particular, pleased that you enjoyed the Rydges "Rise" breakfast. This breakfast was put in place to change guest’s conception about normal hotel breakfasts. The "Rise" Breakfast is full of fresh fruit, homemade juices, fresh cereals and mueslis, good cuts of bacon, fresh free range eggs and more. It is truly delicious.
Thank you again for your wonderful feedback. I hope to see you again soon for another stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    191
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
124
225
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have not been there for several years, so decided to try it again whilst travelling north to Queensland...stayed over one night, excellent service, great room clean and tidy, plus restaurant meal was more like you would get in a top city restaurant...polite professional reception staff.

Great views, relaxing and friendly..what more could you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzaofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
What more could you want?
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

we have been before and the refurb they have done is really good. lovely view from balcony and so warm for a winter stay. slept so well i want one. really helpful staff. location is great for an easy walk into town.

Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am pleased you enjoyed the new style of room. The hotel is planning a full refurbishment over the next 12 months and all should look like the one you enjoyed.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have always enjoyed SAILS and have made a point of overnighting for many years, when driving back from the Gold Coast, for a bit of pleasant scenery and great food on the last night of my trip.
I was not aware that RYDGES had taken over, and was surprised that all my previous stays had been wiped. When booking through the very friendly and professional Wendy, she indicated that the Resort had been refurbished and an attempt would be made to get me into one of the new rooms... which they did.
I have to say, I never had any problem with the old rooms; obviously with single overnights one isn't frantically fussy. However, the new rooms are just amazing, the new design features modern, airy and open. I was allocated 212 - different from my usual pool/water views, but still a lovely water view. The rooms was huge, obviously a family room with a couple of single beds spare - but my King size bed was brilliant. I was spending the evening out, so didn't get to lie back in bed and watch the large, perfectly positioned TV, unfortunately. Absolute bonus is having an overhead fan... much nicer than having the air conditioner on during a warm night. I actually could have had a really great holiday by just 'staying in'. The next morning, I was somewhat reluctant to get up and hit the Road so early, I was just so comfortable. I know better next time, I will stay for 2 nights!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Welcome back Lynley, great to see regular guests returning. Unfortunately the Rydges System was different to the old system and therefore a lot of guest data was lost. I am pleased you enjoyed the new style of rooms. The first stage of the refurbishment is due to get underway in the next couple of weeks.
I hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed two nights over the long weekend for a wedding. The service was excellent at the hotel as was the food and service in the attached restaurant. My only complaint would be that the rooms are very dated and not what you would ecpect for the price. That said the hotel does feature Rydges Dream Beds.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank se86an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to supply some feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the Service and Food at the wedding you attended. I am also very pleased to inform you that the hotel is weeks away from beginning stage one of a full refurbishment.
Thank you again for your feedback, I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've been there on various occasions for business trips and it never disappoints. The views from the rooms facing the wharf on Hastings river are obviously much better. And when I say much better I mean breathtaking! So make sure your room is not on the side of the car park :)
The Spinnaker's restaurant is absolutely beautiful, but a bit snooty and hideously expensive. Worth a try! My work was paying for the food, if I was paying I'd probably eat in town for better value.
It's unfortunate they do not have a fitness centre!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the wharf on Hastings river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoy the view and Spinnakers Restaurant. It was interesting to read your comments about the food prices. The restaurant recently updated its menu with a heavy seafood focus and mains averaging $30 a plate. Seafood prices fluctuate on a regular basis and we had to take this into account when designing the menu.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope to see you again at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges soon.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

First of all this hotel will be undergoing refurbishment in the coming months I believe. Having said that we were given a newly refurbed room upon arrival and based on that and the friendliness of the staff and the great meal we had that first night, we made a further booking for when we stopped on our homeward bound journey after travelling north. It is located just outside town but that makes it just a short walk to the town centre if that's what you want to do. However, just sitting on the little terrace with a glass of wine is a very nice way to end the day. It overlooks the marina and is quiet and peaceful. We ate on both occasions, at the hotel restaurant rather than walking in to town and had two really lovely meals. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff were lovely. Found my missing watch, contacted me about it and verified my address before posting it to me. While there may be some parts of the hotel that look a little patchy and dated, hopefully after the refurb, it will all be freshened up, but the helpfulness and assistance of the staff alone make it a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if a refurb room ia available. They are at the side of the hotel but you still get a lovely (par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding a recent stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the style and set up of the new rooms which will soon be the style of all the rooms in the hotel. I was especially pleased however, about the staff contacting you regarding your watch. It is special as a Manager to know my staff pay such close attention to guests needs even after they have left the hotel.
Thank you again for your wonderful feedback. I hope to see you again at Sails Resort Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#21 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Property: Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing