We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We came here for an overnight trip to see The Beards at Panthers and it did the trick just nicely. Not overly modern or fancy, but it's pleasant and convenient with beautiful views of the marina.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the wifi is free and easy to access.
The only issue was the bed, being a bit soft. I like my beds supportive. Not a disaster though.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank DJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks you for supplying some feedback from your recent stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and the Free Unlimited Wi-Fi.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at Sails a few times in the past (more years ago now than I like to remember....or even can!) and was aware of the facilities. However I was very disappointed to find that the sauna - one of the main reasons I booked this place, was not only not working, it was non-existent and not going to be reopened. I thought this was a bit poor since it is still on their description through Wotif which is where I booked. I recognize that this may be the fault of Wotif rather than Rydges, but then again it may not and one would think that it constitutes false advertising. The fact that there is still a big sign pointing the way to the ‘Pool, Spa and Sauna’ may indeed say something in itself about who is not actively advertising exactly what is available rather than being offered. Why would a resort take away a feature that people would use as a differentiation point when booking?
Anyway I built a bridge and got over the fact that there was no sauna. I comforted myself with the fact that the spa/hot-tub/Jacuzzi was still there and looked forward with anticipation to sinking into the enveloping warmth of the sudsy, bubbly blissful bath. Sadly, again I was bitterly disappointed when I realized it was stone cold. I thought that it would warm up, however after three cycles of the pump (it turns off after about 8 or so minutes) I realized that it was not going to heat up. Given that the outside temperature was about 15 degrees I didn't want to use it, and 'hot tub' was not really an accurate description of what confronted me.
Anyway I went back to my room disillusioned and despondent. I usually book properties based on what they say they are offering and in this case they were inaccurate on two counts. They were not core promises but if they said to me we no longer have a sauna and the spa will be cold, then I would have booked elsewhere, where those essential features (to me) were offered.
Having said all that, if I had booked elsewhere I would have missed out on a great room overlooking the water, a really, really comfortable king bed and a breakfast that can only be described as wonderful, especially since it was included in the price of the room. The location and staff were both great, but I have to admit I probably won’t be returning because the ‘creature comforts’ that I am after and which they promised were just not there.

Room Tip: Waterfronts are worth the extra $20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Shaby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I apologise if you felt the hotel had been untruthful. The hotel sauna had broken down and unfortunately the price to repair it was unreasonable or affordable for the hotel at the time. I have been onto this website and removed any notation of a Sauna to ensure there is no confusion for future guests. I personally update all the websites once the Sauna broke down and it appears I missed this one.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and surroundings near the Port Macquarie Marina. You may be interested to know that the hotel is about to undergo a full renovation with every room and public facilities getting a massive overhaul.
I hope you are able to look past this error and join us at Sails Resort Port Macquarie for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just had 2 night stay at Sails, in a water view king room and it was very enjoyable. Sure the hotel is showing its age but I understand it will soon be renovated so that should transform it into a high quality resort. The location and perspective overlooking the river, marina and town is excellent and even though it was a little cold still pleasant. The breakfast is excellent with a wide range of offerings and a wonderful outlook. Staff were all polite, rooms very clean so all in all a very nice stay. Over the road is a very large and diverse shopping centre which includes a large licensed club, Panthers Port Macquarie, so great location.

Room Tip: Water view king rooms are great, Exec suite excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coghlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the hotels facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

With no reservation we called in and were warmly welcomed and once checked in luggage was out of the car and to the rooms by the helpful staff.
Nothing was a problem with very clean rooms that were quiet and a restful atmosphere. A perfect stopover for a night or a week.
Walking tracks lead from the resort and lead to many places around Port Macquarie.
Car parking was secure.
Staff advised that there was an event in the complex and made an effort to ensure that guests not associated with it were accommodated away from the noise, a very kind gesture.
Rates were very reasonable, restaurant looked very inviting but we didn't get a chance to sample the produce.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N1770FAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding you stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I was pleased to see that the hotel staff were extremely inviting and helpful after what sounded like a long day on the road.
I hope you had a safe journey back to Hobart and I hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie again.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed early june 2014 booked online with Priorlty guest rewards and got the room for only $100 a night, which is very good for a 4star property, It is free to join and you get a few benifits like a free drink to be had in the bar/resteraunt plus other discounts.
the room was great with balcony, the pool area was also great with a indoor and outdoor spa.
If you choose to not have your room services every day you get $10 credit to be used in the bar/resteraunt. staff were great.

Room Tip: join the rydges Priority guest rewards club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and everything the hotel rewards program had to offer. I hope to see you again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for a few nights during school holidays and it worked out great. Upon check in I did ask to be moved as we were located on the bottom floor in a room right by the pool gate and given it was school holidays i guessed it would be a high traffic area early in the morning. The room also smelled a little damp and musty.

We were moved without much of a problem, and the new room on the floor above was much better. Both rooms had a bathtub which is a bonus when travelling with kids. the pool area is lovely and looks out to the water for spectacular views. If your kids are older you can sit on the balcony and watch them in the pool, a nice break for parents. The spa area seemed closed. I could be wrong on that one but the door seemed locked when we tried it. There is advertised a putt putt course. Don't put too much stock in that advertisement, it was pretty ghetto and we wouldn't touch it. There is also tennis courts (we did not use). Canoe rental is free and it was fun to give it a go as a family.

We had friends in town and they met us at the hotel for dinner and with our 20% Priority Membership it was a great deal and the food was good. We were within walking distance to Quaylime, another great restaurant close by. Mcdonalds is within walking distance (cheap breakfast for the kids!) as is a shopping centre with a grocery store.

All in all we would stay again as a family. I know they are renovating so it will be nice to see how it finishes up. The location really is the highlight of the hotel. A fantastic spot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelingtrio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to supply some feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am glad the hotel staff were able to find you a room that was more suited to your needs without the smell. That area of the hotel is lovely with the view over the pool and up the Hastings River.
I was disappointed to see you didn’t try your hand at the Putt Putt Golf. The course is designed to make it nice and easy for children to have some fun. This course, especially over school holidays, is full with kids knocking balls around and climbing over the course. It is great that you were able to dine one night at Spinnakers Restaurant and enjoy your membership discount.
Thank you again for your feedback. The hotel renovations are due to start soon and be completed next year. I hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just came back from 2 nights at Sails and it was great! the position across from the club/shopping centre was so convenient and also a nice walk along the waters edge to the main town. The outdoor spa was great and when the pump stops you can just reach out, press the button and start it again! ( some you have to get out of the tub in the freezing cold to turn it on again). The room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable for us and the breakfast had everything for all tastes and appetites. The staff were all lovely and yes I would stay again, maybe spend the extra to have water views but then we were very happy with what we had.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am, in particular, pleased that you enjoyed the Rydges "Rise" breakfast. This breakfast was put in place to change guest’s conception about normal hotel breakfasts. The "Rise" Breakfast is full of fresh fruit, homemade juices, fresh cereals and mueslis, good cuts of bacon, fresh free range eggs and more. It is truly delicious.
Thank you again for your wonderful feedback. I hope to see you again soon for another stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
918 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#18 of 42 in Port Macquarie
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: £96 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing