We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A too brief stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Hill Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A too brief stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a brief overnight stay at the Aston Hill Motor Lodge, arriving at 7.30pm after a very long drive from Brisbane. We were greeted warmly by the Resident Manager who was keen to ensure our comfort. When I enquired about where was close by to dine that evening, she mentioned the motel's courtesy bus that would take us where we wished to go. Our room was clean, quiet and spacious with excellent facilities. Breakfast in the breakfast room the following morning was generous and we enjoyed chatting with other guests and taking in the view from the balcony. A beautifully kept property with great pride taken in its facilities and gardens.

Room Tip: The Budget rooms are extremely good value and there was not one 'budget' thing about them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 840VinceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Vince for your much valued review,
we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    105
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
87
123
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a great room large with a kitchenette, large TV and windows on both sides of the room so we could see our car in the carpark at the rear and the street in the front. We also had a private entrance to our room with a staircase outside. Loved the privacy. The only negative was it is a distance from the shops and restaurants but it gives you a reason to explore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1051JanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Jan for your valuable review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can visit Port Macquarie again in the near future.

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed overnight travelling from Victoria to Gold coast.
Looked for 'quiet' in Trip Advisor and found this Motel. Checked map in Trip Advisor and found it was well located in a residential area, but only a 5 min trip to the center of Port Macquarie.
Did not book as travelling plans were flexible, so just rocked up to see what was available and to check out the rooms. All the 'special' queen rooms were gone, so was shown both the King and Queen + single bed rooms. $10 difference in price, so choose the king as it had a balcony with view and a larger TV. Pleasant woman on reception offered breakfast for two when it was $5 extra, (Strange to only provide one breakfast in a King room. Marketing move?)
After booking I had to go back to see if I could get senior discount as I forgot to ask when booking. Was no problem for receptionist to adjust booking.
Anyway, the room was very attractive and well furnished and everything was in great condition.
The top quality air conditioner heated the room very quickly, was very quiet and was left on low all night. (was winter)
Kitchen had microwave, small oven/griller as well as toaster and kettle, but surprisingly also included a pod coffee maker with 4 pods provided. Not sure of brand, but the coffee was the best pod coffee I have ever had.
After a great nights sleep we had breakfast in the spacious and bright breakfast room.
Great to see that a Pod machine was there as well, in addition to brewed coffee.
Overall, highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_Radley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Gary for your valued review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The free Continental breakfast for one is a service we do for corporate guests who normally stay as a single but we also extend the same offer to all our guests and the small charge for the second guest is simply to cover the cost for one person.
Hopefully this will explain why we give the first continental free of charge.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West Rocks, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very friendly staff and clean room. Breakfast room was perfect with plenty of variety, even brewed coffee. Would stay again beats some of the larger resorts for service and room facilities. BBQ facilities available with outdoor seating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Margaret for your valued review
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
hopefully you will visit us again on your next trip to Port Macquarie.

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked a 'Superior' room and were allocated to the handicapped/disabled room. It has a 'view' of the garbage bins so we kept the blinds closed, which made the room very dark. When we checked out, attempted to overcharge us but rectified when produced email with quoted price. The on-site parking is inadequate for the number of rooms. After driving in to town for dinner, returned to the model and found there was only one parking space available at a very acute angle that was very hard to get in to without damaging our car. The location is off the main road and very quiet, though it means driving into town for most things.

Room Tip: Avoid handicapped/disabled room if you do not need these facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your valued review
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, the disabled room is a high 4 star standard room the same as the rest of our rooms, we did have relief managers on in Feb so we are not sure why you were relocated.
Rest assured this would not happen again

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My parents are suffering a personal tragedy. I rang Aston hill motel. Not only did they accommodate my parents. Due to circumstances, they accommodated them in a premier room at a standard room price! They go out of their way to make the stay comfortable and easy. They have an amazing BBQ area with heaters. They even clean the BBQ! They offer a very cheap breakfast. Rooms are clean, spacious and have absolutely everything you need! All you have to do is ask the owners for anything and they go out of their way to do anything for you. This is a gem of a motel and a rare find. CHEAP, CLEAN, SPACIOUS AND VERY VERY COMFORTABLE. GREAT MOTEL AT A GREAT PRICE!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it the suites are very very nice. I have stayed at this motel many times and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 141sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Sally for your much valued review
We are glad we could make your stay a little more comfortable.

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have normally stayed at the beach end of Port Macquarie but decided to try the river end this time. What a great decision- and finding this motel was amazing. It said kitchenette and it truly was- you could have made a very nice, simple meal. There is also a nice BBQ area available. Rooms were very generous- with a Queen bed, a sofa and table & chairs. We only stayed two nights but it would be perfect for longer stays as there is so much room. The motel also has bikes so you can ride around the river area- it was pouring so we didn't try them, but they looked newish. Staff were very helpful and the whole place was lovely and clean.

Room Tip: If motel is busy it might get noisy to have a room near BBQ area as they also serve breakfast there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ D, Manager at Aston Hill Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Amanda for your much valued review
We hope you will be staying with us on your next trip to Port Macquarie.

Regards
Gordon & Sharon Snowden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.8 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks
BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks
#16 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Hill Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hill Motor Lodge

Property: Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Address: 15 Mort St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#5 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Hill Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest in modern motel and apartment accommodation nestled in a quite residential cul-de-sac adjoining public parkland & gardens 140m away from a busy highway. Only 3 minutes drive to the centre of Port Macquarie. Registered 4 star facilities with the latest technology in 3D TVs plus theatre surround sound in our apartments. In house bike hire facilities for rides along the Hastings River, offered free to guests returning the bikes before 9.00Am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Hill Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing