We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra The Observatory
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
495 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My first stay at this property though I have been coming to Port on business for many years. Excellent staff, room, location & value! Clean & great balcony too!
I will definitely stay here again & recommend it :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the ocean views and the service from our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Observatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    384
    97
    16
    5
See reviews for
281
749
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Observatory as part of a deal. Our level 2 room overlooked a park with a view of the beach in the background. It was QUIET, the bed was comfortable and the shower fantastic. It is not right in the centre of town (about 8 minutes walk away) but we found that to be an advantage. Have visited Port Macquarie before (not at the Observatory) and did not think we would go back. This enjoyable stay has change our attitude to Port. We had dinner at the ground floor restaurant twice and enjoyed the food and the lovely attitude of the staff both times. Nothing was too much trouble!

Room Tip: There is an observatory in the park opposite the hotel which is open for visitors 2 nights a week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie51Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Port Macquarie. Thanks for your great feedback about our on-site restaurant and service from our staff.

We hope to welcome you again next time you come to Port Macquarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a one-bedroom apartment overlooking the ocean and I have to say whoever designed this place knew what they were doing. The entire wall of the living room was glass doors that folded back so the kitchen dining and living area opened completely onto the balcony. The bedroom had sliders that opened onto the same deck. Man it was gorgeous. We sat and had our coffee, meals and our cocktails watching surfers, joggers, beach walkers and the sun rise and set on the spectacular views. Then just footstep across the street we walked along the beach swam, or could even walk downtown. Don't miss the painted rocks walk which you can get to right across the street and all the way downtown. This was a dyn-o-mite place to stay. Modern (washer and dryer too), and convenient, but really made for a try de-stressing vacation.

Room Tip: MAke sure to get a room with a view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanm816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
WOW - thank you so much for your fantastic 5 Star Review!

It sounds like you had such a relaxing stay and were able to really kick back and enjoy the view and all that Port has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Observatory on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Great view and a lovely apartment with lots of space. Very well equipped and comfortable. The indoor pool and outdoor spa were great, small but wel maintained. We stayed 3 nights and loved it, only comment was that we didn't know if the apartment was serviced or not and it was not cleaned, neither was the Coffee and Tea replenished during the stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ladderinthebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us including the on-site facilities and your apartment.

With room servicing, hotel rooms are serviced daily while the self-contained apartments are serviced on the 3rd day on stays of 5 nights. Sorry that wasn't clear.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Port Macquarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you like sea and sand, The Observatory is ideally placed, overlooking the sparkling clean sea. Staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. Everything is clean and well organised, with outstanding environmental pluses - that the Observatory has deservedly gained awards for. We'd not stayed in Port Macquarie before and were so impressed with both the Observatory and what the area has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolJ436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your nice review.

We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed Port Macquarie and your stay with us and found the location convenient to the beach and also appreciated our environmental sustainability practices.

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you head South!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great place to stay in Port .. We stayed in a hotel room overlooking the beach and it was ample in size for three nights as it had a lovely shuttered conservatory attached which we spent quite a few hours reading and taking in the view.
The staff were friendly and efficient. There is a wonderful cafe downstairs for breakfast.. And also Scampis seafood restaurant will do great seafood takeaways as well if you want to eat in your room. endota spa on premises as well as a heated pool spa and BBQ area . Would recommend !!

Room Tip: Make sure you select a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the ocean views, the service from our staff and the onsite restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Observatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacktown, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have had several short breaks in various locations and The Observatory at Port Macquarie was the best ever! From the friendly receptionists to the smiling, helpful service staff, we felt welcome and valued. Our room exceeded our expectations. It was a pleasure to look out at the water while sitting in comfortable lounges on the balcony. We are looking forward to a return visit in warmer weather.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms with loggia are great for all types of weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review!

We are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that really enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The Observatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra The Observatory

Property: Mantra The Observatory
Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly The Observatory)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra The Observatory 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra The Observatory offers seaside accommodation in the heart of Port Macquarie. Located directly across from the beach, this contemporary hotel boasts spectacular views over the ocean, river and hinterland, and provides close proximity to many of the areas natural attractions. Secure onsite car parking with an electric car charging station is complimentary for all guests along with free in-room wireless Internet access. Accommodation is modern and spacious with the choice of the Hotel Room, One, Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, and the Three Bedroom Penthouse. Apartments boast private balconies, air-conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, and large TVs with Foxtel channels. At Mantra The Observatory you’ll enjoy an excellent range of facilities including a heated lap pool, spa, sauna, BBQ area, and onsite dining options. Sample the region’s freshest seafood at Scampi’s Seafood Bar and Grill, or visit The Observatory Milkbar for a refreshing holiday beverage. A day spa is situated onsite for your convenience if you’d like to treat yourself to massage or facial during your stay. If you’re planning to soak in the sun there are countless beaches and picnic spots to explore, or for a little retail therapy the town centre is just a short walk away with a collection of boutique stores and retail chains at your fingertips. There is an abundance of activities on offer from the more adventurous including kayaking, fishing, horse riding and camel safaris, to family friendly activities such as wildlife and nature parks, local markets, golf, and ten pin bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing