We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra The Observatory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra The Observatory
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous time at The Observatory. The facilities and service were outstanding and we are looking forward to returning next year. We found the location was handy to everything we needed and the views were superb. Thank you for such a memorable time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannamariah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    339
    86
    14
    5
See reviews for
252
698
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a 3 night stay, and we were very happy with the accommodation on 2nd floor. Room overlooked the ocean (across 2 roads and a small Park) and was completely satisfactory for its purpose i.e. somewhere to sleep at night . The only contact we had with staff was Reception to Register and sign out, which was effortless, and very pleasant. About a 15 minute walk to the town centre.
Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I travel to Port Macquarie for business, have been staying at the observatory for close to 7 years. They have amazing staff who make the place so great. You have to try the guest chocolates (made locally) and the milk bar cafe is the best in town.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelJTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for the choosing to stay with The Observatory for the past 7 years - that's so great to hear that we can look after you while you are away on business and that you find our staff to be so helpful.

The choccies are a special treat and our guests love them - local and handmade using local native ingredients, they are quite special. Thanks for your feedback about The Milkbar café onsite - it's a great spot.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to welcoming you to The Observatory next time you visit Port Macquarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We found the location was excellent. It was quiet but within easy walking distance of the main attractions of Port.
Room was spotless, offered a marvellous ocean view and was more spacious than most with a very useful loggia.
Front desk service was pleasant helpful and efficient.
We'd definitely use this property again
bbay2536

Room Tip: Get the ocean view, which is north-facing and a loggia
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbay2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the location and the room and plan to stay with us again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Observatory on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a ocean view hotel room in the Observatory for one night on our way up to Surfers Paradise. The room was modern and clean, with the bonus of a large and comfortable king size bed. The view was spectacular aswell set right on Town Beach with views to the breakwall and beyond. There was minor evidence of wear and tear of the room itself but all in all great. The bathroom was fantastic with a HUGE shower. There are separate laundry facilities that you share with your next door neighbour. The reception staff were very friendly. The indoor lap pool looked clean although we didn't use them. The underground parking was included in the room price but the driveway was very steep - not good for our low car. The Milkbar café on the ground floor was a little overpriced but the service was good. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review.

We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and plan to stay at The Observatory next time you pass through.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Point, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Observatory for a few days in August in a seaview room on the 3rd floor.
we had a covered balcony with louver windows to the front which served as a dinning area.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and it was situated within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be booking another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 Star review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and plan to stay with us again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Observatory on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We're currently staying at The Observatory in an ocean view room due to a very generous gift from my mother; we're on our first trip with a 6 month old.
This hotel is lovely, and if we didn't have our baby with us, I probably would have rated it more. The problem is that the halls are tiled, and so all noise carries LOUDLY so our baby hasn't slept very well in the time we've been here, especially in the day time. We're staying directly across from the laundry, despite having asked for a quiet room (maybe it is a quieter room?)
Having said that, the facilities are great, the location of the milkbar etc really convenient and the front desk staff pleasant. I just would hesitate to stay here again, especially with a young baby.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JiffyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Sorry to hear your baby didn't sleep well, unfortunately it's hard to control all noises in the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you are enjoyed the facilities and the onsite restaurant and found the location convenient.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra The Observatory

Property: Mantra The Observatory
Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly The Observatory)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra The Observatory 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra The Observatory offers seaside accommodation in the heart of Port Macquarie. Located directly across from the beach, this contemporary hotel boasts spectacular views over the ocean, river and hinterland, and provides close proximity to many of the areas natural attractions. Secure onsite car parking with an electric car charging station is complimentary for all guests along with free in-room wireless Internet access. Accommodation is modern and spacious with the choice of the Hotel Room, One, Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, and the Three Bedroom Penthouse. Apartments boast private balconies, air-conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, and large TVs with Foxtel channels. At Mantra The Observatory you’ll enjoy an excellent range of facilities including a heated lap pool, spa, sauna, BBQ area, and onsite dining options. Sample the region’s freshest seafood at Scampi’s Seafood Bar and Grill, or visit The Observatory Milkbar for a refreshing holiday beverage. A day spa is situated onsite for your convenience if you’d like to treat yourself to massage or facial during your stay. If you’re planning to soak in the sun there are countless beaches and picnic spots to explore, or for a little retail therapy the town centre is just a short walk away with a collection of boutique stores and retail chains at your fingertips. There is an abundance of activities on offer from the more adventurous including kayaking, fishing, horse riding and camel safaris, to family friendly activities such as wildlife and nature parks, local markets, golf, and ten pin bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing