We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Flynns Beach
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was spacious but rather dark given the design of the building. There was a sizeable balcony overlooking the pool to counteract this. The building design also entails the bedroom being located next to the hallway which can create some noise at night. However, the apartment was clean and came well equipped. The grounds are well cared for and include a large pool and playground. The gym is small but has the essentials. Friendly staff. Overall, a lovely time was had.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is about our 8th stay at Flynns Beach, and every time has been different, and also enjoyable.
We have stayed in a different room every time, with never a problem. Staff are always courteous and attentive.
We have stayed at most of the Worldmark resorts in Australia, and this has always rated as our favourite.
Despite the crowds enjoying the resort, post Christmas/New Year, the pool and BBQ areas were never as packed as you would expect.
My wife and I were here with two grandkids for 7 days, and on the 3rd day, were joined by our son and daughter-in-law, and their two young sons (though they had their own apartment - their holiday a Christmas gift from us).
We visited Timbertown at nearby Wauchope - an attraction that has pulled itself out of near ruin a few years ago, to become a great insight into the past.
We also did a tour of the Douglas Vale Winery, the only winery in Australia completely run by volunteers, and came away with some great samples of their product.
A lot of the time was spent around the resort pool and in the games room.

As a reply to Qldgirl1, in her review " Avoid Unit 3102 and adjacent rooms", my wife is always named as the guest, even though we are both owners, purely (we assume) because they (Wyndham), address the owners alphabetically, so I wouldn't read anything sinister or even sexist in having her husband's name on the feedback - they would have replied to the owner member.

If Qldgirl1 is worried about the parking, just be advised that at the Wyndham Sydney place, there is NO parking, so you either have to pay for off street parking, or take a train to Sydney, as we did.

All in all, Flynn's Beach Resort, while possibly in need of a refurb, just to "freshen" the place up a bit, was totally enjoyable

Room Tip: Rooms are not "reservable", and are booked on an " availability" basis. We have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rescue1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have recently stayed at this property for 7 nights over the Xmas period and am a Worldmark owner, so well aware of what to expect regarding policies and check in times etc.

Arrived at 3pm and told the unit was not ready, come back at 4pm. Well - this was okay except for the rude manner in which this was communicated by one of the receptionists. All other staff were lovely.

On coming back to the resort an hour later the same person could not find my reservation as it was in my husband's name (even though I had made and paid for the reservation with my own credit card). Being a co-owner, I got out the relevant ID and was finally allowed to check in. But the experience left a sour taste in my mouth.

I was told by one of the nicer staff members that the unit I was in was a very nice one - it would seem like she probably had not had the opportunity to actually stay in it, or she may have had a different opinion. More about the unit below....

This resort is located a short walk from the beach across a main road. It is a multi storey building with a lift and tight underground parking (as one might expect). There is a pool and BBQ and play areas, gym and "adult spa".

I had a one bedroom unit (3102) on the ground floor. It was of a good overall size. Lounge and dining area and separate bedroom and bathroom. In the kitchen there was a cooktop, oven, microwave, fridge, dishwasher.

The lounge area had an air con, tv, DVD, CD player, lounge and dining table and chairs. The bedroom had a double/queen bed, tv, ceiling fan and wardrobe. There was an adjoining bathroom and whilst functional, it was ugly. Shower over bath, washer and drier and a hand basin that seemed to double as a laundry tub. There was very little space to put any toiletries. Ventilation in the bathroom was abysmal and the lights had to be on all the time if you wanted to see anything and the sliding door had to be closed so that no passersby could look in.

There was a small outdoor balcony with no privacy either from the adjoining units or from the kids playground area in close proximity.

The reasons I would say to avoid this unit and the ones on either side include:
* It is located right next to the lift well on the ground floor and right near several big wheelie rubbish bins all in an undercover area. All the noise outside the unit is intensified by the echoes due to the enclosed nature of this unit. There are other guests continually walking past and you could not help but hear their conversations. Also lots of kids running past from the recreation room and pool area.
* Because of the enclosed nature of this unit, there is minimal light coming inside and internal lights have to be on for much of the time. The bedroom curtain cannot be left open to let more light in as people can see straight in, and it was the same sort of situation with the patio curtains.
*Poor ventilation - you cannot get much air in through the one window that faces into the enclosed lift well. The sliding screen patio door, has no lock on it, so not really an option to leave open unless sitting in the vicinity. This also is impacted by the lack of privacy when the curtain were left open.
* As mentioned above - the bathroom is ugly - but I would suspect that this design would be in the other units as well - with the hand basin possibly doubling as a laundry tub. The enclosed nature of the bathroom and lack of ventilation, made it smell musty (as did the rest of the unit). The light had to be on all the time to see anything.

I imagine that there are other better located units that had more light and ventilation (eg those on upper floors not located near a lift well). Mine was not a last minute booking, so I am not sure how the allocation was determined on this occasion.

Other aspects that I thought were not the best at this resort:
* Beware of the position you park your car in the underground car park. All spaces are not equal! Of course the parking is tight when trying to fit so many vehicles in, but if you park near any one of the many air conditioners you are at risk of having rusty water discolour the paint on you car(as happened to me).
* There is a so-called adult spa that seems to be located right outside a couple of the units, so this would impinge on privacy of the spa users and the unit occupiers. It was not a walk in spa, but one of those with a big cover that the user would have had to take off and deal with. Nothing looked inviting about it.
* WIFI costs $6 per hour. A total rip-off. Worldmark/Wyndham needs to lift there game to catch up with the many resorts that offer free WIFI.

Other comments:
The pool area outside is not bad but was mostly overrun by unsupervised kids. I did manage to get one swim in and the water was pleasantly warm.
The resort is within walking distance of a mini supermarket and several restaurants. It is about a 45 minute walk into town depending on the route taken. Also a short walk to the koala hospital.

I have stayed in the majority of Worldmark/Wyndham resort sin Australia and Fiji and must say that this particular resort is a big disappointment compared to the others(primarily due to the poor unit). I will not be staying here again.

I filled in an online survey after the event and received some feedback (actually still addressed to my husband, even after I had advised them that I stayed there - as he could not make it this trip). Do they not read? Or if they are genuine about dealing with issues would they at least not look up their customer records to get my name correct? Anyway, this is just a minor annoyance but seems in line with the overall resort experience at this location.

I wonder if because they have a so-called "captive audience" of Worldmark owners that there is less effort put in to ensuring that standards and practices are maintained.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 3102 and those on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice hotel. Large well furnished 3 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms.
The best thing with the outdoor area for this apartment, balcony was huge with BBQ and 6 person outdoor setting.
Pool Area looks bigger in the photos and was jam packed with families day and night.
Check-in is not till 4pm which is pretty crazy but i think they compensate for late leavers with a 12pm check-out.
Flynns Beach is a short driving distance from the heart of Port but its a little seaside town so you wont miss much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gotrice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights, and we did not have one complaint. The room was lovely, the pool and spa were lovely and the staff were phenomenal!
Super helpful and welcoming. Special mention to Carlys team, though all the were spectacular.
On top of everything else, its right near an AMAZING beach, several excellent restaurants, a convenience store, a bottle shop and a take away.... it has everything, and Id love to go back asap :)

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get room 3402 and it was perfection for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The complex is not situated on the beach front but access is easy enough. Close enough to walk into town or to take a stroll along the beach front. Good on site facilities - pools, spa, sauna, gym, play centre. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Although it is not beach front, this place is great for value for its costs. Less than 3 minutes drive to town, a few steps to the beaches. Close to the light-house.

The apartment has everything, cups, cutboards, mixer, a/c, pots and pan, washing machine with provided washing liquid,

Our 3 bedrooms apartment was advertised to house 8 ppl, this can only be done if 2 other persons sleep on the couch in the living room. The rooms were very spacious.

Staff was very helpful, allowed us to request for an extended checkout due to availability.

We didn't try out the facilities since Port-Macqurie has so much to do that our 3 days 2 nights were not enough.

The staff did not bother to sell time-share plan to us when we told them that we are not interested.

The underground garage has plenty of space.

Would definitely stay again when I re-visit Port Macquarie. I would strongly recommend people to consider this place.

Room Tip: Weekdays to get better rates and book early to get better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyfulYoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
1.4 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#8 of 42 in Port Macquarie
906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,794 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
589 reviews
1 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Flynns Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Flynns Beach

Address: 14-20 Flynn St | Flynns Beach, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Wyndham Vacation Resort Flynns Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: £74 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Flynns Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Resort Flynns Beach is located only a short 200m walk to the beautiful Flynns Beach, and 4kms from the Town Centre for all local attractions. There are 3 Restaurants within walking distance. Our resort boast a resort style heated pool and spa, gym, sauna, recreation facilities and plenty of room to relax. ** Ramada Resort Flynns Beach will be undergoing refurbishment from July 2017 to December 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Resort Flynns Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resort Flynns Beach Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing