We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing. Good furnishings, but service could be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little disappointing. Good furnishings, but service could be improved.”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Booked here on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and I have to say we were disappointed.

Rooms are modern, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was well equipped. Looking at the studios as we checked out they looked fine too.

But whereas other reviewers praised the service of this hotel, we found it very lacking. it's worthwhile to note that we just finished a 2 week trip where we stayed at several different hotels from a range of budget to luxury. This is the first place I've ever stayed at short of a backpackers that didn't have any info about the hotel in the room. And because we arrived late on a Sunday afternoon there was literally noone around to ask anything of. It took us ages to try and figure out how to connect to the internet and finally at 11:30pm, having decided to try if connection was only available at the lobby, we were given the details to connect to the restaurant's wireless by a waitress who came past.
Considering they put as one of their key features free internet, I found this rather annoying and a little strange.

Checking out service wasn't really much better. And we left feeling bothered and annoyed at the end of a holiday that had been really great and relaxing.

Bottom line, I wouldn't recommend this place to my friends but wouldn't advise advise against it also. Would suggest to the management of this hotel to just look at the little things, like an information booklet in the rooms, outlining the hotel features and how to connect to internet and things like that. We met 2 other couples in the lift who had the same opinions. It's a shame cause the rooms are certainly nice enough. I'll be staying elsewhere next time I'm in the area. And would suggest that a little more information and better service would go a long way.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback! I apologise that you were not able to find our guest directory in your apartment. It is located in the drawer of the TV cabinet and explains how to connect to the internet. We also have an on site manager at all times and this telephone number was listed in your welcome letter and key wallet. Unfortunately the manager did not receive a call from you and would have been more than happy to come and assist you. Despite the internet issue, I am glad you enjoyed the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    202
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
125
334
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Heart of East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Our family of four stayed at Macquarie waters both in May and in August 2010. Both times we booked a two-bedroom apartment for 2-3 nights.

The hotel is relatively new. Fixtures and fittings are modern and well-designed, rooms and bedding were clean and very comfortable, water pressure is good.

We stayed in different two-bedroom units both times we visited Macquarie Waters, and both apartments were extremely spacious. As in, over-the-top spacious, you could actually imagine living there!

The hotel's in a great location, just a few minutes' walk from the centre of Port Mac.

The only negative is that there really isn't a water view (at least, there wasn't in either of the rooms we've stayed in).

Also, every member of staff we ever encountered was extremely friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here for a second!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrayflowinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
What a wonderful review! We are thrilled that your family stayed with us twice and that you were happy on both occasions. I am unsure whether you booked a water view room each time -we try to be vigilant when selling water view rooms to guests that we explain that the view is from the balcony only and that we are not directly located on the river or the ocean - but are just a short stroll away from both! I hope you continue to enjoy your travel in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at Macqurie Waters. We booked a hotel room. All rooms have balconies. The hotel has a modern look and it is new . Our room is clean with reasonably size modern bathroom. The hotel is walking distance to the beach and the main shops. Good location and good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant offers a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESM0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
We appreciate your review and that you took the time to take photos as well! Glad to see that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. Please visit when you are next in Port Macquarie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Once again, we travelled to Port for a quick weekend getaway.

Once again, the staff at this hotel amaze me!!

The staff at Macquarie Waters MAKE this place. They are all truly welcoming. They greet your family by name, if your a regular they give you the same apartment that you love, and they cannot be more helpful if they tried.

Our 2 bedroom apartment was still in beautiful condition, spotless, and a pleasure to stay in. The pool was suprisingly warm!! To the great loose leaf tea, bath salts, and little welcome back gift, this is a hotel that accommodates its guests.

We travel regularly throughtout the year, and this place hands on is the most friendliest and knows how to treat their guests, than any of the 5 star city hotels we have stayed at. I guess this is why we cannot keep away! (not too mention a great restaurant downstairs!!)

Thankyou Allison and Sarah and the team, great work, as guests we totally appreciate it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
I cannot say anything else but THANK YOU! We strive to ensure our guests enjoy their stay so much that they want to return. Thank you for coming back! We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
534 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Macquarie Waters, Port Macquarie.
Took ages to decide on where to stop. We decided on here and glad we did, wish could have stopped longer! We got a large room with water view (big kitchen, large LCD TV, large living area and nice sofa), nice bathroom, everything clean and tidy, friendly staff, good location, nice view. Rooftop deck was nice, though the weather wasn’t really good enough for us to use it, but would have been great otherwise!
Free WiFi but only in the reception and The Corner, but was free unlike most other hotels, so can’t really complain.
One of our favourite stops in our five week trip. Definitely return here!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
It so nice to have overseas visitors stop in Port Macquarie - we live in a beautiful place and love to share it with you. Thank you for the kind words and sorry that the weather was a bit ordinary. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in OZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walcha, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Hubby and I stayed here for my birthday, we got a great deal on a last minute accomodation website. Macquarie Waters did not dissapoint. We had a room on the road but it wasnt really noisy at all and the view was still beautiful. There isn't really anything to complain about. Safe parking underground and all the staff were just lovely and made us feel very welcome. I would reccomend this to EVERYONE.......so if your planning to stay in Port Macquarie then consider Macquarie Waters!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Thank you! Your review was fantastic - so good it almost sounds like I wrote it myself! I hope that you enjoyed your birthday with us and can visit again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We took advice from other tripadvisor reviews to stay here and we were not let down. the rooms were spacious, clean and had everything needed for a great stay. No charge for room service from the Corner restaurant - good food and coffee. All the staff were great and willing to help with anything needed. Particular mention for julie, seen at reception and busy in the restaurant. Julie was always very pleasant, always smiling and helping to make our stay special.
The only criticism of the room was the fan noise from the bathroom. It didn't seem to turn off. Not a major problem really but, a little annoying in the middle of the night when everything sounds louder.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tasknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
Our team loved your review. Thank you for mentioning Julie - she is an outstanding staff member who genuinely loves looking after guests. I will investigate the fan not turning off during the night - I can see how it would be annoying. We would love to have you back again at Macquarie Waters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.3 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments

Property: Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Address: 11 Clarence St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macquarie Waters is a multi-award winning 4.5 star boutique apartment hotel conveniently located in the heart of Port Macquarie & just a short stroll to the waterfront, beaches and shopping. Choose from stylish hotel rooms or 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments - spa and ocean view rooms are available. Perfect for corporate and leisure travellers, all rooms feature large TVs with 80+ Foxtel channels and FREE Wi-Fi. Experience our friendly, professional service and FREE secure car parking. Relax in the heated outdoor pool & spa or hot tub on the roof deck with water views. During the warmer months we also screen movies by the pool! Eat at our popular restaurant, The Corner open daily from 7am for casual dining (closed Sunday from 3pm) or enjoy FREE room service delivery. 2015 Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide & 2014 Gourmet Traveller 1 Glass Award. Proud winners of the 2014 NSW Tourism Awards - Gold for Deluxe Accommodation and 2014 Australian Tourism Awards - Bronze for Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Waters Hotel Apartments
Macquarie Waters Motel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing