We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated modern elegance, well maintained and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Understated modern elegance, well maintained and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Our one bedroom apartment connected with an en suite hotel room, adjoining large balcony gave oblique eastern views of seawall and beyond. Kitchen reasonably stocked, large fridge, very clean. Bathroom shower only, good size, good water pressure. Amenities provided but the soap tiny - almost small book matchbox size. Perhaps MW could allocate a larger bath size soap for families or stays longer than one night. Small point, but MW not cheap; mingy amenities give guests the wrong impression. Front office service excellent, my numerous telephone queries cheerfully answered. Roof top observation deck, with hammocks and spa a great breeze catching spot. Pool maintenance immaculate. The Corner restaurant three flights below busy but noise not intrusive. Off-hand customer service there for a take away coffee dissuaded my return; or perhaps locals fare better. Restaurant ratings are not only about the food.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodyGirl02818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Thank you for the details of your stay - very descriptive! Appreciate the feedback regarding the soap - we changed soaps about 18 months ago because we had too much wastage with larger soaps. Now we provide 2 small soaps - if this is not enough please ask reception for more at any time. I am sorry to hear that the service you received from the restaurant was below par - I totally agree restaurants are about good food, good service and a good atmosphere. This is something we strive to achieve at The Corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    201
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
123
327
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

A modern hotel with large, comfortable and clean rooms ideally situated. Secure car park beneath. One of the few places that you can book for only one night. Reception clses early but who needs it?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Short and sweet and to the point - perfect feedback for other travelers. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Arriving at Macquarie Waters Hotel and Apartments was a very pleasant surprise. The apartment was extremely spacious, clean, modern and new. We had fantastic views of the sea from the balcony and also if you head up to the roof and hot tub.
The restaurant downstairs serves delicious breakfasts and the indian takeaway next door is pretty tasty too!
It is easy to walk to the beach and we were fascinated by the enormous pelicans!
Would definitely reccommend
It also has free internet in the apartments

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
So nice to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Macquarie Waters and Port Macquarie. The pelicans are a new one for me - most people are impressed with the dolphins and whales (during the season!). Safe travels and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Booked here on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and I have to say we were disappointed.

Rooms are modern, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was well equipped. Looking at the studios as we checked out they looked fine too.

But whereas other reviewers praised the service of this hotel, we found it very lacking. it's worthwhile to note that we just finished a 2 week trip where we stayed at several different hotels from a range of budget to luxury. This is the first place I've ever stayed at short of a backpackers that didn't have any info about the hotel in the room. And because we arrived late on a Sunday afternoon there was literally noone around to ask anything of. It took us ages to try and figure out how to connect to the internet and finally at 11:30pm, having decided to try if connection was only available at the lobby, we were given the details to connect to the restaurant's wireless by a waitress who came past.
Considering they put as one of their key features free internet, I found this rather annoying and a little strange.

Checking out service wasn't really much better. And we left feeling bothered and annoyed at the end of a holiday that had been really great and relaxing.

Bottom line, I wouldn't recommend this place to my friends but wouldn't advise advise against it also. Would suggest to the management of this hotel to just look at the little things, like an information booklet in the rooms, outlining the hotel features and how to connect to internet and things like that. We met 2 other couples in the lift who had the same opinions. It's a shame cause the rooms are certainly nice enough. I'll be staying elsewhere next time I'm in the area. And would suggest that a little more information and better service would go a long way.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback! I apologise that you were not able to find our guest directory in your apartment. It is located in the drawer of the TV cabinet and explains how to connect to the internet. We also have an on site manager at all times and this telephone number was listed in your welcome letter and key wallet. Unfortunately the manager did not receive a call from you and would have been more than happy to come and assist you. Despite the internet issue, I am glad you enjoyed the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Heart of East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Our family of four stayed at Macquarie waters both in May and in August 2010. Both times we booked a two-bedroom apartment for 2-3 nights.

The hotel is relatively new. Fixtures and fittings are modern and well-designed, rooms and bedding were clean and very comfortable, water pressure is good.

We stayed in different two-bedroom units both times we visited Macquarie Waters, and both apartments were extremely spacious. As in, over-the-top spacious, you could actually imagine living there!

The hotel's in a great location, just a few minutes' walk from the centre of Port Mac.

The only negative is that there really isn't a water view (at least, there wasn't in either of the rooms we've stayed in).

Also, every member of staff we ever encountered was extremely friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here for a second!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrayflowinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
What a wonderful review! We are thrilled that your family stayed with us twice and that you were happy on both occasions. I am unsure whether you booked a water view room each time -we try to be vigilant when selling water view rooms to guests that we explain that the view is from the balcony only and that we are not directly located on the river or the ocean - but are just a short stroll away from both! I hope you continue to enjoy your travel in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at Macqurie Waters. We booked a hotel room. All rooms have balconies. The hotel has a modern look and it is new . Our room is clean with reasonably size modern bathroom. The hotel is walking distance to the beach and the main shops. Good location and good value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant offers a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESM0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
We appreciate your review and that you took the time to take photos as well! Glad to see that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. Please visit when you are next in Port Macquarie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Once again, we travelled to Port for a quick weekend getaway.

Once again, the staff at this hotel amaze me!!

The staff at Macquarie Waters MAKE this place. They are all truly welcoming. They greet your family by name, if your a regular they give you the same apartment that you love, and they cannot be more helpful if they tried.

Our 2 bedroom apartment was still in beautiful condition, spotless, and a pleasure to stay in. The pool was suprisingly warm!! To the great loose leaf tea, bath salts, and little welcome back gift, this is a hotel that accommodates its guests.

We travel regularly throughtout the year, and this place hands on is the most friendliest and knows how to treat their guests, than any of the 5 star city hotels we have stayed at. I guess this is why we cannot keep away! (not too mention a great restaurant downstairs!!)

Thankyou Allison and Sarah and the team, great work, as guests we totally appreciate it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison018, General Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
I cannot say anything else but THANK YOU! We strive to ensure our guests enjoy their stay so much that they want to return. Thank you for coming back! We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.4 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments

Property: Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Address: 11 Clarence St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macquarie Waters is a multi-award winning 4.5 star boutique apartment hotel conveniently located in the heart of Port Macquarie & just a short stroll to the waterfront, beaches and shopping. Choose from stylish hotel rooms or 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments - spa and ocean view rooms are available. Perfect for corporate and leisure travellers, all rooms feature large TVs with 80+ Foxtel channels and FREE Wi-Fi. Experience our friendly, professional service and FREE secure car parking. Relax in the heated outdoor pool & spa or hot tub on the roof deck with water views. During the warmer months we also screen movies by the pool! Eat at our popular restaurant, The Corner open daily from 7am for casual dining (closed Sunday from 3pm) or enjoy FREE room service delivery. 2015 Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide & 2014 Gourmet Traveller 1 Glass Award. Proud winners of the 2014 NSW Tourism Awards - Gold for Deluxe Accommodation and 2014 Australian Tourism Awards - Bronze for Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Waters Hotel Apartments
Macquarie Waters Motel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing