We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Age Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Certificate of Excellence
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet, great restaurant”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at the motel. The room was very clean and spacious. Great shower. We went to the restaurant for dinner as we wanted to have a few drinks and not have to worry about catching a taxi back. There was a great selection of dishes. Our meals were delicious and the waiter, Daniel, did a really great job.
There are a lot of motels to choose from around the area, but I would have no hesitation in booking The Golden Age again, and recommending it to my friends.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room away from the main road.......very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, dinner and the service in the restaurant. We look forward to your next stay!

Kind Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    78
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
47
64
13
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Due to house renovations and a relocation to Queanbeyan for work, I've had a prolonged stay at the Golden Age Motel. During this time the staff have been absolutely fabulous. They're friendly and very flexible in accommodating the various things that have arisen in that time. The on site restaurant is fabulous boasting an array of food and wine to suit all palates.The rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable queen sized bed. Dont go past the Golden Age next time you're in Queanbeyan.It's the place to be seen in Queanbeyan.

Room Tip: Room 40 and those on that side stay very cool in the hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! It has been great having you stay with us and we hope to see you around Queanbeyan once you move in to your new place! Thanks again for recommending our motel and we are pleased that you have enjoyed our Food & Service during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for a couple of nights , while sight seeing Canberra . We found the motel to be in a great location , was extremely clean and well appointed with large T.V and comfortable bed .The motel is a short easy walk into the centre of town and if your looking for a quick snack there is Dominos pizza , KFC and macca's across the road .The motel provides a nice continental breakfast or a cooked full breakfast for a modest charge . We won't hesitate to stay again and we have no hesitation in recommending the Golden Age to any traveller .

Room Tip: The room we stayed in(no:44) faced the highway but thanks to double doors on front we were could bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Lawrence,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the new double doors have an effect on the noise from the road! Thank you so much for your feedback on this and hope to see you again if in Queanbeyan.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My young son and I stayed there for one night whilst sightseeing in Canberra. The hotel was in a great location, Hungry Jack's, Domino's,Macca's and KFC all across the road. My son loved the choices. The RSL was also just a short stroll over the bridge on the left.

The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable. The rooms had a larger sized flat screen tv, table and chairs, desk, queen sized bed and also a single. The bathroom was large and accomodating. All appliances and electrical fitments worked. The unit we stayed in was on the ground floor facing the street but I could not hear any disturbing traffic noise. The rooms were clean and well kept.

We only had dealings with the one young lady at reception who was very obliging,and friendly. I asked when reception closes and was told to contact any time as she lived on site. A very refreshing attitude. There was also a DVD player in the room and the lady allowed us to chose a couple of movies from their selection for my son to watch. It also had Foxtel but I couldnt work out how to use it.This place had a nice homely feel about it.

I would highly recommend this place as a place to stay, the tariff was reasonable, the staff friendly and accomodating, the room spacious and clean. It ticked all of the boxes for me. Even my son liked it because he wanted to leave the patio door open all night so he can smell the food across the road.

Room Tip: Try where possible to get a ground floor unit. We stayed in a unit on the ground floor, facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that the facilities & service we provide were to your liking! Only a bonus that your son likes the smell of Maccas :)

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my sister in late November 2013. Had a ground floor room with 1 queen and 1 single bed. Room was very clean and comfortable, bathroom looked recently renovated and was very clean. Good size TV, beds comfortable, had small table and chairs and small lounge so plenty of room to spread out. Even though motel is on a main road it was not noisy at all. The motel serves complimentary continental breakfasts on Saturdays and Sundays which is a bonus, as we were there on a Sunday. Good selection of cereals, bread, fruit etc. Staff were nice and helpful. Short walk to shops, restaurants and the Queanbeyan Leagues Club, where we had a meal which was very good. Overall a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback! We are glad you like the rooms and facilities we have to offer and that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast we provide on weekends.

Hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night on trip from NSW Central Coast to Snowy Mountains. It is a great break in the journey. Right on the main road detour via Queanbeyan, short stroll to shops restaurants and Queanbeyan Leagues Club, over the bridge. Rooms are spacious and very clean. They have all you need. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were lucky to get an online special for $100 for 2 people. How could we go wrong. There is a restaurant for brekky but not sure when it is open, or standard of food. We always walk over the bridge to town centre to eat. Meals are great in the club. Seniors meals are $12 and are huge.
Tea coffee and toaster are in rooms for breakfast. Only small problem, was, there was no fly screen on window in main room, so could not leave it open, due to chance of mossies and flies. They sell beer soft drinks snacks etc at reception, and prices are very reasonable, so really no need to leave. Beds were comfy and clean.
Nice big TV. Rooms were not noisy even when they front the main road.
Good place to stay for a few days to see Canberra and surrounds. Plenty to do.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you lovely feed back! We are glad you found the rooms to be to you liking and the motel facilities. Thank you also for informing us about the missing flyscreen. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great spot in the centre of town, the rooms where clean and tidy. The staff are very helpful and caring. They even had dish washing liquid under the sink for you to clean your dishes (I stayed in a lot of motels and this was very unique). They are also pet friendly which is a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutiel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write such lovely feedback! Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queanbeyan hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport International
0.6 mi away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
#3 of 13 in Queanbeyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Queanbeyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Manor Motor Inn
Grand Manor Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Queanbeyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olympia Motel
Olympia Motel
#5 of 13 in Queanbeyan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Age Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Motor Inn

Property: Golden Age Motor Inn
Address: 56 - 58 Macquoid St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Age Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel is a modern soundproofed full brick 2 storey building. We are 100% Australian owned and operated. We have been providing hospitality here for over 13 years to date. Our hospitality is second to none and we invite you to stay and experience country comfort 10 minutes from the heart of Canberra. All rooms are spacious,our beds are extremely comfortable pillow top models with lots of comfort layers. You can enjoy our big screen televisions with free to air and many Foxtel channels for entertainment. We have free wired internet available in all rooms. Breakfast is available 7 days to your room or in our sunny breakfast room. Dinner is available Mon to Thursday evenings in our restaurant or as room service. There are stacks of eateries a short walk into the main street of Queanbeyan available 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Age Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Motor Hotel Queanbeyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing