We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Disability Room”
Review of Golf Links Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golf Links Motel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Tamworth
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Disability Room”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We were given Room 9 as my husband has had a stroke and we were pleasantly surprised how large the room and bathroom were. Very Comfortable beds, a table and chairs and an adequate airconditioner for 42oC (puts any a/c to the test). We would certainly stay again on a road trip. Easy checkin and very pleasant owners.

Room Tip: Anyone with a disability would be grateful to have Room 9, excellent setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    45
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
40
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

What can you say when your belongings are packed up without your knowledge and your told, halfway through a round of golf, that you have been kicked out. It was still daylight when we were told if we didn't be quiet we would be told to leave. There was 12 of us talking on the verandah outside our rooms and yes of and on it may have gotten a little loud, as 12 people would. I spoke to others there and they didn't even hear us nor were they in anyway put out by us. I saw the owner early the next day and said good morning as you do and he replied in kind. I should have smartened up a month or so earlier when I asked if we could have single beds instead of doubles. His reply was if you don't like what you have then you can go somewhere else. Yes if your a family or a couple or alone passing through fine but don't be a group of friends. Heaven forbid don't talk or be friendly. We were not that loud and in the end so what it wasn't even dark. This bloke wasn't even polite about. Very arrogant. Will not ever stay there again even if i was on my own and it was free. Best Western on the h'way. great place and cheaper.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golf Links Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thankyou for your review but you must realise that you were asked to leave because you and your party were drunk and waking other guests up. We gave you plenty of warnings but you continued to make lots of noise and commotion. We asked you to leave the motel and you called the police. The police came and asked you to leave because you were in the wrong. At no time did we go through your belongings or put your belongings outside on the balcony. If you go to other motels please be a bit more caring obout other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I was part of Missgolfer's group who have also submitted a review. All I can do is reiterate what has already been said.
From the moment we walked through the door I could sense there was going to be problems. The owner was rude and he wasn't interested in engage in small talk or making us feel welcome in anyway.
The way he dealt with too much noise allegedly coming from out group showed no people skills what so ever. The man doesn't know how to communicate and negotiate. With the poor skills this man displayed he should not be in the buisness of dealing with people.
As a result of the situation our group found new accommodation for our next two nights and the one night we spent at the Golf Links Motel wasn't paid for. This guy lost out on having six rooms booked out for three nights. Not very smart in deed.
The owners wife advised on the day we left that her husband doesn't like group booking. Well if you have a motel called the Golf Links, which is opposite a golf course you would surely expect a lot of social groups to stay.
Based on the attitude of management I would never recommend this motel to anyone and would suggest people go elsewhere and there are plenty of other accommodation options in Tamworth.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golf Links Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thankyou for your review but you must realise that you were asked to leave because you and your party were drunk and waking other guests up. We gave you plenty of warnings but you continued to make lots of noise and commotion. We asked you to leave the motel and you called the police. The police came and asked you to leave because you were in the wrong. At no time did we go through your belongings or put your belongings outside on the balcony. If you go to other motels please be a bit more caring obout other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Absolutely poor customer service!! Will NEVER stay there again!! Were there for an annual work golf trip & were so shocked at the disgusting way we were treat by the owner and his wife. The whole motel was booked out by golfers attending the same event & we were told we were "too noisy." saw the owner the next morning he didn't say a word & had the hide to call 2 hours later on the mobile & told us he had dumped our belongings outside the motel. To my disgust, he & his wife had gone through our personal belongings & packed our own bags and left them outside which included wallets, laptops and valuable jewelery. After being lied to repeatedly by the wife about who touched my belongings she proceeded to tell me it was called "servicing the room." I can tell you now, this is the first place I have stayed in that "servicing" the room meant going through my things & packing my entire bag for me!! Not on Golf Links Motel. You are disgusting and I can assure you I will make sure everyone i know knows about this and never use your Motel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Owner at Golf Links Motel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thankyou for your review but you must realise that you were asked to leave because you and your party were drunk and waking other guests up. We gave you plenty of warnings but you continued to make lots of noise and commotion. We asked you to leave the motel and you called the police. The police came and asked you to leave because you were in the wrong. At no time did we go through your belongings or put your belongings outside on the balcony. If you go to other motels please be a bit more caring obout other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

I travel to Tamworth every month for work when I do my country trip. It took me 3 visits to stumble on Golf Links Motel. And I have never looked back! Have been back approx 12 times now. And I would never consider going anywhere else.
Peter the owner is a great bloke. So helpful. He's quick on his feet that when I walk in there are two cans of Jim Beam on the counter ready and waiting. It's also good to hear his latest story of how his car restoration is going. What a hobby!

The rooms are tip top clean and the TV is a great size with austar connected.
The breakfast is the best of any motel I stay at in NSW. Value for money is second to none.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickMcGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

For Tamworth accommodation look no further than the Golflinks Motel. An unbelievably clean motel. The rooms are big and spacious, the beds are sooooo comfy and you get the choice of different types of pillows (which I personally love).
Check in was totally painless. I was met with a smile from Peter the owner and given everything I needed to ensure a comfortable stay. He happily answered any questions I had, and made me feel at home. I had the choice of many eateries in Tamworth that would charge back to my room which I thought was excellent and I could even have chinese delivered to my room, which I did and it was awesome!!!
Breakfast was delish and delivered to my room on time and hot!!!
Overall wonderful experience would highly recommend to everyone.
So if you are after a hassle free, clean and friendly motel Tamworth, Golflinks motel is the answer.

Karissa
Newcastle

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

It's quite a nice place to stay. We were met by a friendly fellow who quickly checked us in and gave us a free bottle of milk for tea. The rooms are clean and fresh and there is ample parking on-site. We didn't find it noisy as the motel is not on the main truck routes through Tamworth. There is a road junction adjacent to the hotel but the roads just seem to be carrying regular commuter traffic.

The location is good and although it's a 10 minute drive to the centre of town there are shops and petrol stations nearby. The best part (for golfers anyway) is that the golf course is on the other side of the street. You can walk to the clubhouse in 5 minutes and they have a very nice and reasonable priced restuarant as suggested to us by our motel host. I would stay here again next time I visit Tamworth.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Sanctuary Inn
Best Western Sanctuary Inn
#14 of 32 in Tamworth
249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Tamworth
Econo Lodge Tamworth
#10 of 32 in Tamworth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Tamworth
Mercure Tamworth
#12 of 32 in Tamworth
46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Tamworth
Ibis Styles Tamworth
#22 of 32 in Tamworth
383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Abraham Lincoln Motel
Abraham Lincoln Motel
#5 of 32 in Tamworth
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Links Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Links Motel

Property: Golf Links Motel
Address: 260 Bridge St, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golf Links Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for superior rooms (high 3.5 Star standard) at reasonable prices in a convenient location close to clubs, restaurants and the city then look no further than the Golf Links Motel. Whatever the reason for your stay you will enjoy the clean and friendly atmosphere at the family owned and operated Golf Links Motel. We have a range of different room types to suit most requirements. These include our Deluxe Queen and Twin rooms as well as our spacious Two Bedroom Suites catering for private twin & triple share as well as families. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our property has affordable accommodation to suit your every need. Enjoy a beverage on arrival to quench your thirst after a long drive and relax on our balcony or beside the pool. Enjoy a BBQ with family, friends and colleagues. Through our close association with Tamworth Golf Club, quality and affordable dining is available at the View Restaurant with motel guests receiving complementary membership benefits. The Golf Links Motel is one of the better located motels in Tamworth on the corner of the Oxley Highway (Bridge Street) and Mahoney Avenue, just 2 km from the Tamworth City CBD. From CBD, follow signs to Gunnedah. We are a short 250m stroll to the fabulous Tamworth Golf Club and only a short distance to the West Tamworth Shopping Mall, West Tamworth Leagues Club, Restaurants, Hotels and sporting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf Links Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing