We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stop over but our room was very run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sanctuary Inn
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Tamworth
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent stop over but our room was very run down”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked this based on reviews here thinking it would be a value for money stopover but unfortunately after entering room 61 we found it very run down. It seems part of the motel has been renovated but the rest of it could definitely do with an update. It was clean at least. The walls had cracks in them in the kitchen area and near the TV in the lounge and the carpet was very stained. It was very noisy due to the trucks but I did expect that - some cotton wool in the ears helped and we both slept well, bed was quite comfy (on the firmer side which my husband likes). The TVs were a bit small and not set up right (husband adjusted the screen resolution to fit the screen) and reception was quite bad on most channels. Kettle was extremely old and dated but it did work. I suppose for what you pay though it's to be expected. On a positive note, there's a nice view over the countryside from the skylight in the bedroom (the room was set on two levels which was kind of neat). I just think the room could do with an update in decor, furniture, lightning and appliances.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 61 or any of the rooms near the main road. The earlier numbers (9 and so on) h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriMor, Manager at Best Western Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, yes we are in the process of renovating all our guest rooms.
All our unrenovated guest rooms are heavily discounted, the furniture is older however, as stated by yourself, all our guests rooms are meticulously clean.

Since installation of flat screen T.V.'s we have never had a compliant with regard to resolution, next time you stay, feel free to call reception and one of our maintenance crew would have been more than happy to help.

There are a couple of cracks in various rooms this is the due to a 8 year drought and then much appreciated rain which has caused the foundations to move slightly hence the cracks, this is a continuous repair process.

All our guest rooms have A H Beard five star beds, white pressed sheets, white oversized fluffy towels, mini bars and various amenities to make a stay with us, most comfortable.

Once again, thank you again for your feedback which is most valuable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    83
    47
    21
    14
See reviews for
36
80
22
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed in Rooms 9 & 17, Newly renovated with wonderful bedding, could have taken the bed home. Pool & Spa area was relaxing & out of the way which was fantastic. Did not eat in so can not judge but they have been winning awards. Shower head flew off on first use and they came and fixed it instantly. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingarakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Have stayed in a few of the hotels in Tamworth, this is the one I will always go back too now that i have found it. Right from the start when making the booking the service was just perfect, not over the top ..just perfect. the rooms were very comfortable and fresh, didnt have that "cover up the bad smell" deodoriser you sometimes find in hotels, it felt airy, clean and fresh. The decor was very tasteful, i loved it. The restaurant food is also great! Being in the heart of country you HAVE to have the beef, cant get any fresher! All of the staff were naturally friendly, nothing wa a drama and everyone so accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My expectation when arriving at the Sanctuary Inn was “basic motel” although the price tag should have alerted me to something better. Our room was very well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings, tea and coffee, a full range of bathroom cosmetics, free WiFi (for 3 logged-on hours). Staff were all very efficient and we were quickly checked-in and in our room.

The restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was excellent with prompt and efficient service and an excellent menu of both dinner and breakfast items. All food was freshly prepared and tasty. The restaurant does seem to get busy for dinner so I'd recommend a reservation.

For an overnight stay in the area, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Ive stayed here manny manny times with work.
Ive never had an ounce of trouble with any aspect of my stay.
Even when my work neglected to book me in and i had to get them out of bed at 3am they never complained. Rooms were quiet and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Best Western Sanctuary Inn on our trip from Brisbane to Sydney. We selected the Sanctuary Inn as we had a long day of driving and knew that we wouldn't get in until late, and we were seeking somewhere comfortable and quiet to stay to recuperate. We arrived at 11:30PM, after being contacted by the Inn to confirm our ETA, and were checked in without any hassles. However, once in our bed we were unable to get any sleep as we were bitten by little bugs in the bed - we both had obvious bite marks in the morning. Additionally, the room we were given was adjacent to the Highway through Tamworth and we could hear trucks using compression breaking throughout the night. There didn't appear to be any insulation to reduce the noise entering the room. In the morning, we went to have a shower to try and relieve the itching - only to find that no towels had been provided. When my husband went to retrieve some towels from reception he was told to wait in our room for housekeeping to arrive, which took quite some time.
When we informed the management of our uncomfortable night they offered no apology. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the highway and preferably, recently fumigated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We found this motel online with no prior knowledge and had a wonderful stay. The room had obviously been refurbished and has been done very well, similar to any 5 star room in Singapore, Sydney or LA. If you have the opportunity to dine at the resturant, the wine list highlights the better wines by region (Aus and NZ) and the signature dish Duck is extremely well presented and great on the taste buds.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizwaynerobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth
1.3 mi away
Mercure Tamworth
Mercure Tamworth
#12 of 32 in Tamworth
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Tamworth
Quest Tamworth
#2 of 32 in Tamworth
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abraham Lincoln Motel
Abraham Lincoln Motel
#5 of 32 in Tamworth
291 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Tamworth
Ibis Styles Tamworth
#22 of 32 in Tamworth
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Edward Parry Motel
Edward Parry Motel
#1 of 32 in Tamworth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sanctuary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sanctuary Inn

Property: Best Western Sanctuary Inn
Address: 293 Marius Street | New England Highway, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sanctuary Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tamworth
#12 Business Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sanctuary Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Sanctuary Inn Tamworth offering 4 star award winning accommodation and an award winning restaurant Riviera Bar & Grill. The motel is located just a few moments walk from the city centre, Woolworths & Bicentennial Park. The motel and restaurant were the winner of the 2016 Tamworth Chamber of Commerce Quality Business Awards for outstanding customer service in hospitality for Tamworth. All our guest rooms are well-appointed boasting HD LCD large TV’s with 40 free channels of Foxtel, air-conditioning, free high speed wireless broadband internet throughout the motel,  King Koil mattresses, crisp white sheets, bath robes & oversized fluffy white towels. Revive, unwind and relax, while indulging in our salt water pool, spa and BBQ area. Our multiple award winning restaurant has something for everyone featuring Italian, Mediteranean and French food open 7 days. Our motel is the perfect place to hold your next conference or business meeting. Featuring multiple convention and meeting spaces with flexible floor plans for your next event to suit your requirements. Our motel has 3 dedicated Pet friendly rooms, so enquire today about taking your best friend on your next trip to Tamworth! The Sanctuary Inn is within a 10 minute drive to the Tamworth Regional Entertainment Centre, Australian Equine Centre, hockey, football and basketball stadiums, the Tamworth Base Hospital and the Tamworth Racecourse. Children under 12 stay FREE and don’t forget to claim your Qantas Frequent Flyer points at check out (conditions apply). For professional customer service and a central location in Tamworth, make a reservation at the Best Western Sanctuary Inn today! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Sanctuary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamworth
Tamworth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing