We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Normandie is ideally located close to North Beach and a short walk to the city centre. The double room was clean and adequately equipped, the bed comfortable. Parking was easy. Our short stay was hassle free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lyn622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing our motel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Wollongong and that we were close to the places that you wanted to go to. Always Welcome Kind regards Beydon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location and service !!! Walking distance to the Beach and Cafes, Restaurants and Take Away spots. Quiet room and very good service. People at reception always kind and ready to help. Taxi rank is across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CRISTINA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you too for mentioning the area. Wollongong has a lot to offer with different activities and things to see, as well as our beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back . Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Is looking a bit jaded. Lucky I didn't take a cat, cos I couldn't have swung it anyway in the tiny, tiny room. Pretty noisy from adjacent rooms and corridor, seems like the walls were made of paper, Agree with comment about hot water - I was about to call reception (which wasn't open anyway) about no hot water when it finally came through. About 6 channels on the TV worked, rest displayed blank screens. Alarm clock in room but no radio. No microwave but there was a jug and tea/coffee/milk. Glad I was only staying one night - thought the room overpriced even at the discount price I paid (wotif.com) - I would have been mightily annoyed if I paid rack rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are a small boutique motel. You chose the small double bedroom, which we advertise as small. There are bigger rooms, all have different configurations. We do not allow cooking in the rooms for safety. Should you have needed a Microwave we would have been happy to have heated food up for you. when the office is open, but as you are aware we are not 24 hours. The TV is free to air only, not Foxtell, that is why you did not have a wider range of channels. The Alarm clock is a radio as well as alarm clock. We sincerely regret the disturbance, on the weekends people come back late and can be noisy as much as we try to control it. In this case it appears we did not meet your expectations, and for that we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay . Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a terrible experience in a noisy, dirty and foul smelling room.
Even after advising management of the room's condition, their defence was "it's our most popular room" and "this is the room you booked"
I booked a room based on a web site description which certainly didn't reflect what was provided.
No clean towels provided on second night, diabolical parking arrangements and a management attitude that won't promote change

Room Tip: DONT go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for reviewing Normandie . Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, as you were aware ,we could not upgrade your room as we were booked out. I understand you perceived the room to be different. It is advertised as Front facing under family room 1 queen bed. I don''t know any other way to describe it. Our location can mean extra street activity and noise from coming and going at the front of the motel on weekends, as much as we try to contain it. Our house keepers keep the rooms clean to the highest standard. I don understand that you only told us the room was dirty or that there was a fowl smell the day you left. The towels are only changed if you leave on the floor as requested. sorry the free parking was not acceptable to you. Kind Regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked to stay here over a long weekend. When we arrived we were shocked by the tiny size of the "family" room and the terrible smell in the room. Had to run the shower for 5 minutes just to get it warm. We were lucky enough to secure a room at the Adina apartments and were able to cancel at the Normandie. The Adina ended up being $25 cheaper overall and was a luxury apartment. The kind folks at the Normandie were polite enough to refund the remainder of our stay but we still had to forfeit the fee for the first night. Would not recommend staying here unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our Motel. We appreciate you telling us you had a problem with the room size. We have not had issues in the past regarding this,as we show the rooms as they are,as per photos on our website,displaying different Room types and pricing is comparable with other 3 star motels. We advertise our Family Room as a standard room, perhaps you thought you were booking an apartment. On leaving you stated that you had not used any of the facilities.We said that if we able to sell the room we would refund the first nights Tariff. It would have been good if you handed the key in when you had decided instead of coming back at 6.30 pm,as there had been others looking for a Family Room from the time you told us to the time you handed the key in.It may have been suitable for them.You had used the facilities and at such a late hour we could not sell it. .We use an Qzone Sterilizer to sterilize the rooms. I don't know if that smell was the problem. Unfortunately. if you use the facilities of course you would forfeit the first night tariff. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful location. The motel was close to Wollongong North beach and Wollongong Harbour, cafes and restaurants overlooking the beach. The queen size room was a good size for 2 people, quiet, clean and close to all amenities. I loved the shower it was very soothing, extra towels would be helpful, as we had a bath towel and face washer, no hand towel. Unfortunately, the bed was far too hard. (No pillow top). It would also be helpful and beneficial to them, if they updated the decor. I would stay again, only if they provide beds with pillow top for comfort.

Room Tip: Queens Size Room ground floor, corner suite sunny in the morning very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mozart5063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for your review, Glad that it was close to everything for you, We are changing the furnishing and decoration of a room on a timely basis where we can. We have considered the bed toppers that you were wanting, something we may add in the future. It is a personal thing some people like a firm bed. You would most likely find what you are looking for in a 4 star or 5 star property. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Whilst the room was a small double, it was certainly suitable for me. It was clean and tidy. My only complaint was that the motel information book stated that there was a clock radio and an iron but there was neither. However, my main complaint would be that I couldn't watch the tv as the reception was so bad - it kept dropping in and out both picture and sound - and despite a complaint to management and a check done by them of the tv, they either couldn't or didn't resolve the issue.
Convenient to the beach and a nice 20 minute walk into the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. I have checked the room you stayed in, found that the Iron and Ironing board are in the built in cupboard where they are kept. If you had needed we would have gladly shown you where it was. It appears the radio clock has been taken. Thank you for letting us know it will need to be replaced.Sorry about that. With relation to the TV it would have taken a little time to resolve, You were busy with your computer, and told me not to worry about the TV so I didn't. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
1,691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Park Motel
Beach Park Motel
#8 of 15 in Wollongong
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmore All Suite Hotel
Belmore All Suite Hotel
#1 of 11 in Wollongong
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing