We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE”
Review of Downtown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Downtown Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here on the weekend.
it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in!
we were itching all night and the tv didn't work.
I wouldn't stay here again.
Service wasn't to bad, room was a good size but I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ehh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
8
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here one night, suited our needs, very close proximity to WIN Stadium, 5 min walk. City centre close by, along with cafe’s, restaurants and pubs.
Hotel is dated but room was clean, bed linen fresh and towels large and fluffy. Beds were comfy. Secure off street parking behind electronice gate.
Hair dryer was broken, it worked but the hose from the dryer to the unit was missing, obviously had deteriorated over the years.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erzulie3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I only stayed here for 4 nights, the motel is a bit dated. it was fairly clean but no Wifi. the staff are very very friendly. the location is perfect with bars and almost every type of cuisine only metres away. if you are only passing through then i would recommend it. the down side is that the walls must be made of paper as you can hear everything that goes on.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at this motel two years ago - they have replaced the TVs with new ones (probably because of the change to digital) the rooms have not been upgraded as far as we can see and the balcony leading to room is rusty and had pieces of timber nailed to rail to prevent it from breaking away. The hair dryers look as though Noah used them on the arc to dry the animals, We decided to stay as it was only one night.. Silly decision - not a Pleasant stay at all even though the rate was reasonable for a few extra dollars could have had a comfortable night. If staying there beware of the stairs as the lighting is extremely poor. I really think spend the extra & stay somewhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiewrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The carpet was stained, the bed linen pillow cases appeared to not have been changed i.e. stained and smelly despite the fact they had pressed creases in them

Room Tip: Please check rooms before handing over credit card
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.2 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
234 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Motel

Property: Downtown Motel
Address: 76 Crown St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Downtown Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing