We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Wollongong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Berry
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Wollongong”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I were attending a business function in Wollongong, and decided to stay for the night and have our first night away from our small children. The function was at the WIN Entertainment centre, which is literally one minute's walk away from the hotel. The hotel is also only a couple of minutes' walk to Crown Street Mall. We chose a "Sweets and Scrubs" package, which included buffet breakfast, free parking and a late 12pm checkout (as well as some rocky road and bath accessories), and a balcony room. The whole experience was great.

My husband commented that the hotel room was 'like every other hotel room you've stayed in for business". This was actually a compliment, as the room was very modern, clean and comfortable, without being chintzy. It was a little bland but unless you're wanting a romantic weekend away, the room was big, the bed was super comfortable with crisp linen, and it had everything in it that you'd want. We were on the 11th floor so had a lovely balcony looking over the city. The buffet breakfast was, again, the standard hotel buffet with hot breakfast, patisserie options, fruit, yoghurt etc. But, again, unless you're expecting a luxury hotel experience, it was very very good. Lovely light and airy breakfast room with a view, with comfortable chairs and tables, and all the food was of a high standard, including the tea and coffee. There were also free newspapers available at reception all day.

The thing that really made our stay more than a normal hotel experience was the staff. From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out, every staff member we encountered gave us big smiles, and genuinely warm greetings. This included all the reception staff, the staff in the breakfast room, and even the cleaning lady in the room opposite hours. When we arrived, we were running late for our function, but check in was completely smooth. The receptionist speeded things up, was really helpful with all the information we needed about the room, and offered to hold on to our spa package until we got back after the function. My husband was able to go and park while I was checking in, so we were on our way to the function within 3 minutes of me entering reception. Checking out the next day was a similarly easy and pleasant experience, with the receptionist very happy to chat to us about the weddings that were going on in the hotel that day.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Chifley if you're going for a few days in Wollongong - particularly for business. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on a higher floor as the views are excellent and I think lower down you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cockerspanielfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Cockerspanielfan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It was a pleasure to read your detailed and insightful review, and our team very much appreciates the recommendation of our facilities and renowned Chifley Wollongong service.

We also are delighted you enjoyed your package inclusions which are extremely popular with our guests.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you and have you stay with us again. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 4201 2111.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    530
    216
    80
    50
See reviews for
235
549
46
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We got a car park right next to hotel across the road which was great free parking. When we checked in we were upgraded from a standard queen room to a executive king balcony room. Bed is super comfy. Short walk to Aldi for supplies and right across from the beach.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbanoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Bubbanoosh,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing so positively your experience and are delighted you enjoyed your time here at Chifley Hotel Wollongong as well as our location.

I will pass onto our team your comments who will appreciate this wonderful recommendation of our facilities and renowned service.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had two, four night stays at The Chifley over a 2 month period for work. Each time there were small things that let down its reputation. A couple of gripes, the in-house dining menu is on the television, but there is nothing to tell you that, the lifts are dreadfully slow (one morning I waited nearly 20 minutes to go to breakfast, unacceptable when trying to prepare for work!). The bathrooms in both suites I had were huge, but surprisingly there was no room to put anything, just lots of space. There aren't enough hangers in the wardrobe (especially for a business traveler) and the towels are tiny and not to the standard of the hotel. On the plus side, all of the staff were great, the breakfasts were very good, the toiletries were excellent and the bed was very comfortable. Finally it is in a great part of town just a short walk from the beach and loads of restaurants.

Room Tip: Take extra hangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear DJT01,

Thank you for your review on your recent four night period of stay at the Chifley Wollongong.

We appreciate you sharing your experience and are delighted we were able to provide you with a high level of service. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast in C Grill, it's certainly an area which is critical to the success of our food and beverage offering.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

While in a great location, this hotel was definitely not worth the $200 price tag attached to the room. On arrival, we were informed that parking was 'full' and when we asked where we could park , the suggestion was that 'McDonald's might have some available spots!' We had to park four blocks away. There was also a wedding reception in the function room and the music thudded up through the floors of the hotel. Too bad if you were staying there to sleep. When we rang reception to complain we were told 'it's a wedding!'. There are lots of hotels to choose from if you want to stay in Wollongong,so don't add this one to the list!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matthewandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear matthewandcathy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor.

We do value your constructive feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to our most discerning guests like yourselves. On this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you and have you stay with us again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 4201 2111 if I can be of any assistance.

Warm regards

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Staff polite and super friendly - always greeted with a smile - from making booking to arrival and checkout - nothing was a problem. Room clean and comfortable. Good value for money. Walking distance to beach and restaurants and shops - good location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberleyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Kimberley au,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing so positively your experience and are delighted you enjoyed the Chifley experience.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent service in all areas room was tidy and comfortable. The restaurant service was excellent and the food was sensational. The staff were at all times friendly and always courteous and helpful. Location is within easy walking distance of all needs. Can do nothing but highly recommend the Chifley. thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Bob B,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing so positively your experience and are delighted you enjoyed your time here at the Chifley Hotel Wollongong.

Rest assured I will pass onto our team your comments who will appreciate this wonderful recommendation of our facilities, food and renowned service.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thank you to everyone for organising a great farewell afternoon tea for a member of our support staff. The organisation was smooth and quick to see the needs of the group. The team recognised just what was needed in the way the venue was set up; very comfortable and promoted the ambience that everyone enjoyed. Food and refreshments were superb and generous; beyond our expectations. The staff that were happy to meet any request and were also patient as were slowly ended the event are to be congratulated for the professional and gracious way they looked after us. Dianne Bryant, organiser of the event for TIGS.

Room Tip: Not relevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, Executive Chef at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Dianne Bryant,

It was a pleasure to read your detailed and insightful review on your private Hi Tea at the Hotel.
Our team very much appreciates the recommendation of our facilities and renowned Hi Tea food and service.

Should I be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 4201 2111.

Warm regards,

Peter Washbourne
Executive Chef
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Property: Sage Hotel Wollongong
Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing