We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Melbourne,
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“This hotel could be so much better”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed 15 nights here recently with our grandchildren. We stayed here last year around the same time. The main reasons for staying at the Chifley were the pool (not many places have pools in W'gong) and the location! The hotel is just across the road from the cycle way and the beaches and a short walk into the CBD. We mostly found the staff very friendly although there was a distinct lack of staff! One afternoon our kids had milkshakes and sandwiches outside near the pool, after lunch we went to the beach for some bodyboarding, when we arrived back at the pool approximately 2 hours later, the dirty dishes were still on the table! My husband told a staff member who replied "well it is Christmas!" then proceeded to begrudgingly clean up the mess! Yes, it was Christmas and the hotel was full, so, put on more staff!
There is a "pool rules" sign near the pool which clearly states NO ALCOHOL or BREAKABLES in pool area!! Obviously a blind eye is turned to this "rule" when a large, boisterous group of people order beers, cocktails and food and have it all delivered right into the enclosed pool area by a staff member!! This is just not acceptable, our children were in this area and swimming in the pool!!! Your staff need to be instructed to stand up to these people, like I said, not good enough!!
We were in a Junior Suite which was OK but we were on the 10th floor, one day I waited 20 minutes for the lift!!! Another day the lift malfunctioned with us and our kids in it, it was very frightening especially for the children!! The lifts seemed to be playing up the whole time we were there, very frustrating!!
It seemed to me that housekeeping was very short staffed over this period, some days our room was not serviced until 3pm or later! The girls did a good job but the bed linen left a bit to be
desired, torn sheets are not acceptable!! I did not mention this because they seemed to be working extremely hard under difficult circumstances!!! The overall cleanliness of the room was fair but the balcony (same last year also) was very dirty and obviously not cleaned between checkins!
Having said all this, we would stay here again because we hope it will get better and the location and pool are perfect for us!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickenmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear mickenmelbourne,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall. I was particularly delighted to hear that our team were helpful and friendly as we strive to provide all our guest with great service.

On this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls during your stay, I will ensure these are raised with our heads of department to further improve our service offerings to our guests.

Should you travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    601
    263
    98
    70
See reviews for
275
622
60
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 2 days, our first day I went to bath my son and the tub had sand and hair in it from previous guests so I had to call to get that cleaned- which happened in a timely manner. Carpets are filthy (not good when travelling with a toddler) and never vacuumed, sheets don't get changed, towels don't get replaced and neither does the toilet paper. I agree with previous guests about the shocking lifts that take 10 mins to arrive and then immediately close nearly knocking you down as you enter. We had to watch so many people get knocked by the doors. Service and reception staff are fantastic and one of the best buffets breakfasts I've had.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zingara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Zingara82

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I was particularly delighted to hear that our Front Desk team were helpful and friendly as we strive to provide all our guest with great service.

On this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies for the level of cleaning provided, trust I will address this personally with our Executive Housekeeper.

Should you travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a single night getaway.

The location was excellent, as it is about 100 meters to the sand and even less to a shared bike/run path that goes along the beach and up to the lighthouse.

A 5 minute walk gets you to the main shopping mall of Wollongong with Myer/David Jones etc as well as some cafés and restaurants.

Our room had views of the golf course and looked to have been renovated quite recently.

The pool looked inviting and the gym room had a couple of treadmills, free weights, stationary bike etc, all that you really need.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but found places just across the road under Win Stadium which were very good.

Based on earlier reviews I knew I would need to pay for parking. $15 for the night for secure parking under the hotel, which I thought was reasonable.

The only thing that does need some consideration is the lifts. The hotel was quiet when we stayed, however the wait for the 2 lifts was a few minutes. Not sure how the hotel can resolve this problem without putting in more lifts at a huge expense.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear AnthonyB,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you found our location most convenient. It was our pleasure to make your stay so enjoyable and trust I will share you comments with our teams.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We were only in the Gong for one night and this was just what we needed. Somewhere comfortable and clean, good location and reasonably good value. Didn't use the gym but checked it out and it was great. Easy to find a park outside so we didn't bother paying more to park onsite. Good experience overall.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear AandK111209,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a nice stay with us.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning to Wollongong and I will be delighted to assist you with your booking.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had our engagement party in the waters edge room over the weekend! Therese the events coordinator was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much and she was always checking in on us during the planning phase! The executive chef, helped us design a perfect menu for all guests and on the day he and all the other chefs, provided all our guests with great food and service. Friends and family are still commenting about the food ( especially the pulled pork rolls and mini burgers) and also how friendly all the staff were. On the day, Dali and Sally, were at hand, re arranging the room, thanks to the weather. They put extra tables inside and then when the sun come back out, put some more outside! They kept checking on us all day, if there was anything else we needed! We then stayed the night at the hotel and in the morning all the staff at breakfast and checkout followed up on the day before and wishing us all the best. Thanks again to all the staff at Chifley for making out party so special, not only did we love it, but all our guests did too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emtreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Emtreg,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Chifley Wollongong’s Conferencing and Events.

I was extremely delighted to read of the success of your Engagement luncheon and the positive comments from yourselves and invited guests. I have taken the liberty to share them with the hotels Food and Beverage team in order for them to know that their consistent efforts in creating memorable moments have not gone unnoticed.

We do thank you for choosing Chifley Wollongong for your engagement party and if I personally can be of any further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.


Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Too expensive for what you get, the hotel claimed we would have 'views of the mountains' and we did - when leaning out on the balcony. Strange rooms which must have been rearranged, no power points at the desk but a cluster on another wall. Outrageous cost for internet connection in the room!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear sajehouse,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not providing you with a memorable experience. Rest assured we regularly review all feedback provided and take the appropriate actions to resolve any issues. More importantly, I assure you this does not reflect our usual standard of guest’s experience, as we endeavour to always exceed our guest expectations.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location good, view of beach fine...but breakfast service for our wedding group was atrocious! Waited for several minutes for each queue for juice, then coffee, then hot meal oh finished, no plates Not 4 * at all...
Room, corridor and conference room acoustic terrible... Hotel needs to be furnished with acoustic in mind. Very poor value for money and no we did not find the free parking opposite. Agree with other comment lifts rarely working and waiting.. I would not recommend to others or return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beat512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Beat512013

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your review from your recent wedding weekend.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not providing you with a memorable experience here at the Chifley Wollongong.

Rest assured we regularly review all feedback provided and take the appropriate actions to resolve any issues. More importantly, I assure you this does not reflect our usual standard of guest’s experience, as we endeavour to always exceed our guest expectations.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Property: Sage Hotel Wollongong
Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing