We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Husband and wife getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sage Hotel Wollongong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Husband and wife getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights , had a great time with my wife . Nice room on 11th floor - with balcony view of woolongong , and ocean . Very clean room spacious room . Great location one minute walk to restaurants .

Room Tip: Ask for high floor , facing ocean and woolongong ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear stanley031,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Chifley Wollongong.

It's always pleasing to receive positive feedback and I am delighted to hear that you had a great weekend.

Once again, thank for your feedback and should you return to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    495
    203
    78
    47
See reviews for
225
524
43
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The bed was supremely comfortable in fact best we have had on a holiday with multiple accommodation points. Room was well sized with opening window. Bathroom spacious and shower had excellent water pressure. We loved getting a reasonably priced fresh fruit bowl delivered so kids could snack on whole fruits. The location was reasonably good but it is walking distance only to city beach which front desk advised was not patrolled every day. Otherwise we drove 15 minutes to north beach. Parking at $15 a day is quite steep in my view for a regional centre. Pool is good length at 20 metres but shallow. Pool towels were in good supply. Overall very comfortable stay and we would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Jane P,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay.

Should you travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed 15 nights here recently with our grandchildren. We stayed here last year around the same time. The main reasons for staying at the Chifley were the pool (not many places have pools in W'gong) and the location! The hotel is just across the road from the cycle way and the beaches and a short walk into the CBD. We mostly found the staff very friendly although there was a distinct lack of staff! One afternoon our kids had milkshakes and sandwiches outside near the pool, after lunch we went to the beach for some bodyboarding, when we arrived back at the pool approximately 2 hours later, the dirty dishes were still on the table! My husband told a staff member who replied "well it is Christmas!" then proceeded to begrudgingly clean up the mess! Yes, it was Christmas and the hotel was full, so, put on more staff!
There is a "pool rules" sign near the pool which clearly states NO ALCOHOL or BREAKABLES in pool area!! Obviously a blind eye is turned to this "rule" when a large, boisterous group of people order beers, cocktails and food and have it all delivered right into the enclosed pool area by a staff member!! This is just not acceptable, our children were in this area and swimming in the pool!!! Your staff need to be instructed to stand up to these people, like I said, not good enough!!
We were in a Junior Suite which was OK but we were on the 10th floor, one day I waited 20 minutes for the lift!!! Another day the lift malfunctioned with us and our kids in it, it was very frightening especially for the children!! The lifts seemed to be playing up the whole time we were there, very frustrating!!
It seemed to me that housekeeping was very short staffed over this period, some days our room was not serviced until 3pm or later! The girls did a good job but the bed linen left a bit to be
desired, torn sheets are not acceptable!! I did not mention this because they seemed to be working extremely hard under difficult circumstances!!! The overall cleanliness of the room was fair but the balcony (same last year also) was very dirty and obviously not cleaned between checkins!
Having said all this, we would stay here again because we hope it will get better and the location and pool are perfect for us!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickenmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear mickenmelbourne,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall. I was particularly delighted to hear that our team were helpful and friendly as we strive to provide all our guest with great service.

On this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls during your stay, I will ensure these are raised with our heads of department to further improve our service offerings to our guests.

Should you travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 2 days, our first day I went to bath my son and the tub had sand and hair in it from previous guests so I had to call to get that cleaned- which happened in a timely manner. Carpets are filthy (not good when travelling with a toddler) and never vacuumed, sheets don't get changed, towels don't get replaced and neither does the toilet paper. I agree with previous guests about the shocking lifts that take 10 mins to arrive and then immediately close nearly knocking you down as you enter. We had to watch so many people get knocked by the doors. Service and reception staff are fantastic and one of the best buffets breakfasts I've had.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zingara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Zingara82

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It was pleasure to welcome you to the Chifley Wollongong and great to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I was particularly delighted to hear that our Front Desk team were helpful and friendly as we strive to provide all our guest with great service.

On this occasion, please accept my sincere apologies for the level of cleaning provided, trust I will address this personally with our Executive Housekeeper.

Should you travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a single night getaway.

The location was excellent, as it is about 100 meters to the sand and even less to a shared bike/run path that goes along the beach and up to the lighthouse.

A 5 minute walk gets you to the main shopping mall of Wollongong with Myer/David Jones etc as well as some cafés and restaurants.

Our room had views of the golf course and looked to have been renovated quite recently.

The pool looked inviting and the gym room had a couple of treadmills, free weights, stationary bike etc, all that you really need.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but found places just across the road under Win Stadium which were very good.

Based on earlier reviews I knew I would need to pay for parking. $15 for the night for secure parking under the hotel, which I thought was reasonable.

The only thing that does need some consideration is the lifts. The hotel was quiet when we stayed, however the wait for the 2 lifts was a few minutes. Not sure how the hotel can resolve this problem without putting in more lifts at a huge expense.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear AnthonyB,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you found our location most convenient. It was our pleasure to make your stay so enjoyable and trust I will share you comments with our teams.

Should your travels bring you back to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We were only in the Gong for one night and this was just what we needed. Somewhere comfortable and clean, good location and reasonably good value. Didn't use the gym but checked it out and it was great. Easy to find a park outside so we didn't bother paying more to park onsite. Good experience overall.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear AandK111209,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had a nice stay with us.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning to Wollongong and I will be delighted to assist you with your booking.

Warm regards,

Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had our engagement party in the waters edge room over the weekend! Therese the events coordinator was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much and she was always checking in on us during the planning phase! The executive chef, helped us design a perfect menu for all guests and on the day he and all the other chefs, provided all our guests with great food and service. Friends and family are still commenting about the food ( especially the pulled pork rolls and mini burgers) and also how friendly all the staff were. On the day, Dali and Sally, were at hand, re arranging the room, thanks to the weather. They put extra tables inside and then when the sun come back out, put some more outside! They kept checking on us all day, if there was anything else we needed! We then stayed the night at the hotel and in the morning all the staff at breakfast and checkout followed up on the day before and wishing us all the best. Thanks again to all the staff at Chifley for making out party so special, not only did we love it, but all our guests did too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emtreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOLMGR, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Emtreg,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Chifley Wollongong’s Conferencing and Events.

I was extremely delighted to read of the success of your Engagement luncheon and the positive comments from yourselves and invited guests. I have taken the liberty to share them with the hotels Food and Beverage team in order for them to know that their consistent efforts in creating memorable moments have not gone unnoticed.

We do thank you for choosing Chifley Wollongong for your engagement party and if I personally can be of any further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.


Adrian Teh
General Manager
Chifley Wollongong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Property: Sage Hotel Wollongong
Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing