We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Gong" value apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Robina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great "Gong" value apartment”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

One of the best 2 BR apartments we have stayed in and terrific value for 2 adults and 2 kids. There was plenty of room and it was clean and modern. The kitchen and bathroom were first rate. The complex is up-to-date and has a good pool which was out of action due to the lack of a pool cleaner. We visited the complex spa on at least four occasions and it was not used by other guests. The enjoyable Towradgi Hotel is literally over the back fence. Would definitely stay again! Minor gripes were the eco-friendly shower with its miserly flow and lack of colour in the corridors.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms great for families of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for your recent post from your stay with us. It’s wonderful to hear that our 2 bedroom apartments are the best you have stayed in. We do pride ourselves on maintaining our spacious apartments, which as you found out are great for families.

As you rightly mention, Towradgi Beach Hotel is located just 150m walk from the hotel and the live entertainment and great pub meals is certainly a drawcard for all our guests.

A point of note is that the hotel hallways are in the process of being updated with a tinge of colour (not white paint) and will be back to pristine condition very shortly.

We look forward to seeing you again at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands should a need arise for you.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    100
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
98
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First impressions were great, receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Full kitchen facilities and apartment was very well lit. The only drawback with the room is that the beds were quite hard, so sleep quality wasn't the best (but I guess this is just individual preference). Shower stall might be a bit small for some, but I'm relatively small in comparison so it wasn't an issue for me.

From outside the pool did look a little dirty. It was quite a chilly day so I didn't take a dip in it. It does look like a fairly new establishment. If parking underground, large vehicles might find it a little difficult at the entrance as it is quite a tight space (or you might hit the pole in the middle). Plenty of parking outside otherwise.

No shops or restaurants around, but I went down to the reception and the kind lady at the reception gave me some delivery menus.

Staying in Wollongong can be a challenge in terms of location vs price (nice place with water views and close to shops = too expensive). For the location of the place, it's definitely good value. Upside to this place is that it's quieter at night than the ones located in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jee_Yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Jee_Yg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review from your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and you were able to experience the usual friendly service of my staff. I’m sorry to hear your comment regarding our mattresses; however in saying that, all our mattresses are only 3 years old from when the hotel first opened in 2010. I do however like to hear all guest feedback as it helps us to maintain and improve where possible.

With the hotel being located in the quiet neighbourhood suburb of Towradgi, which is only 4kms outside of Wollongong city, we certainly can provide a great location at the reasonable price you mention. Towradgi Beach Hotel is the main venue for meals nearby, only a short 150m walk from our hotel and offers a range of pub meals. In addition, as you rightly mention we do have a selection of menus at reception for delivery to your room.
We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

So close to Wollongong city, yet in a nice, quiet suburban spot. Rooms a very modern and clean and tidy and the refreshing continental breakfast is a nice change from the burdensome hot breakfasts foisted upon guests at some establishments.

All of the rooms that I have stayed in at Pioneer Sands have been to a very high standard and the undercover secure car park is fantastic.

A really good value hotel!

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Marjorie,

Thank you for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor. Imp pleased to hear your comments about our breakfast hear at the hotel, we've spent the last year or 2 since opening, refining and adding new additions as we go.

I also love that fact you have stayed with us multiple times and we look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

1. Nice, new, clean rooms
2. Basement parking available
3. Quiet room
4. Convenient if you are in a car
5. Room 102 had a leaking problem from the shower to the toilet
6. Ultra small shower cabinet. Only downside
7. Hotel is 3 years old

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjyoung2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear mjyoung2501,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your recent stay with us. It’s great to hear that you found our rooms to be new and clean. I will be sure to pass these comments onto out Housekeeping team who work hard to maintain that standard.

One point of note – our brand is actually part of Choice Hotels Australasia, with our specific branding under this umbrella being the Quality Suites icon (4 to 4.5 star products). Mantra Hotels is actually a competitor of ours and doesn't represent us at all.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly.
Room was clean.
Comfortable bed.
Modern layout.
Buffet breakfast delicious.
They only serve breakfast and lunch, not dinner. No room service for meals.
Getting in and out of the under ground garage is difficult ! Tight space, lots of manovering required.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccstewart26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear ccstewart26,

Thank you for posting your recent review from your stay with us. Since opening the hotel we have increased our catering offerings and now serve breakfast and lunch as you rightly mention. Additionally, at this stage we don’t serve dinner or have room service, however as our demand grows this will definitely become under consideration and could be an option to introduce in the future.

As an alternative for evening meals, our neighbour - Towradgi Beach Hotel is only a 150m walk from our hotel and serves a range of great meals.

We hope to see you at the hotel again when your next in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We would highly recommend the one bedroom apartment we stayed in. It was large, light, clean and very well equipped. The staff were extremely helpful. Our stay was most enjoyable and very comfortable.

Room Tip: This property is located approximately 4 Kms from the city centre, so having your own transport is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Oma62,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay with us and I’m glad you enjoyed your time in the Illawarra.

I do hope to see you here at the hotel again next time you’re in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Pioneer Sands has become our home away from home when we visit Wollongong. We have stayed here several times, this being our 5th stay, & the service of the staff, especially Warren at the front desk & Emma in the Cafe, is always friendly & efficient. We have stayed in both 1 & 2 bedroom apartments which are well appointed and always very clean. The apartments are a good comfortable size. Happy Hour on Friday & Saturday nights in the bar is always enjoyable. Although just north of Wollongong CBD it's easy to get into town if needed or the Fairy Meadow shopping centre just around the corner has everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_PoTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear jh2350,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that you call our hotel your home away from home and my staff can provide a level of service that contributes to your enjoyable stay. This is my no.1 ethos and it’s pleasing to hear we can consistently deliver on that.

The Q-Bar happy hour has become a regular feature due to popularity and we have strived to improve this area and make it as comfortable an experience for all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you next time you’re in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
2.5 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Pioneer Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Pioneer Sands

Property: Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Address: 19 Carters Lane | Towradgi, Wollongong, New South Wales 2518, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Pioneer Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wollongong's boutique accommodation & conference and events. The Quality Suites Pioneer Sands - is ideally located on the Sydney side of Wollongong at only 55 minutes drive from Sydney Airport. We offer One and Two Bedroom Apartments with large open plan space flowing onto balconies with escarpment or Wollongong skyline views. All apartments feature modern finishes, Austar cable on LCD TV's, internet, air conditioning and fully self contained kitchen facilities. Other facilities include a cafe, outdoor pool, gym spa and onsite business services. This could be your next stop for your business or leisure trip to Wollongong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites Pioneer Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing