We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Apartment”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was the only room in a hotel available when I booked I am so glad it was as I wouldn't have stayed on the edge of Wollongong as I have always stayed in the centre of Wollongong. I won't be staying anywhere else. I loved everything about this hotel apartment. All fresh and inviting it was spotlessly clean with modern furnishings. I didn't use the pool or have breakfast so I am unable to comment on these things. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.
The shower was a little tricky remember the door opens out not in and you will be fine.
I will definitely be going back and have already referred to friends.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor and was perfect in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Wendy K,

Thank you for taking the time to offer you post on Tripadvisor we certainly appreciate your positive comments.

We really appreciate your feedback and my team thank you for your kind words.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Quality Suites Pioneer Sands again in the future for another pleasant visit.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Bauer

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    100
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
98
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Level Contributor
257 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had a 1 night stay following coastal drive from Melbourne prior to moving on to Blue Mountains. As previous reviewer had said very spacious apartments. Excellent facilities with all kitchen facilities. Found air conditioning only in lounge a little odd but soon had right room temperatures throughout apartment.
Breakfast was very good and again better than expected.
There was some basic maintenance issues which we notified to reception but never cause us an issue. It was a good area and in hindsight we would have stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear RandGP

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with Quality Suites Pioneer Sands. Our specious One or Two Bedroom Apartment ideal for Family/Friends getaways.

It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary improve upon service levels for you valued guests.
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands offers Continental Breakfast during the week and on the weekend we offer Hot Buffet Breakfast.

Hope we can welcome you again here in Wollongong soon.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Bauer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The one bedroom suite we stayed in was surprisingly spacious. It's modern with very good shower. It was clean on first sight but some of the dishes and glasses were little bit dirty. We stayed for 5 nights and paid more that in Sydney. It could be because it was over Christmas. It was rather strange to ask every time for shower gel and shampoo because it was not given to us when the housekeeping was done.
The staff was pleasant enough.
The beach is quite far we thought but there may be short cut.
There is laundry room in basement but it's on first come first serves bases.
ere is car park free of charge which was very useful. Towradgi town and Wollongong is just a short drive away.
We had a pleasant stay and good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Jane V

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.

It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary improve upon service levels for you valued guests.
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands is 4 km north of the main CBD. We are 15 minute walking distance to the Towradgi Beach.

We offer all our guest free underground parking and laundry facility.
Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Bauer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I booked for one night a one bedroomed suite with a fold out sofa bed. The apartment was very spacious as were the beds. Everything was clean and tidy. The apartment was up to date and easy to find things. Shower was brilliant as were the soft fluffy towels. There was secure parking underground at no cost. Close to town, and train stations. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Zoe268,

I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.

We really appreciate your feedback and my team thank you for your kind words.
Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Bauer

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The one bedroom suite we stayed in was spacious, modern and very clean. Location is convenient if you have a car. Parking is free and you can choose secure basement parking (it can be a little tight if you have a large vehicle) or you can park outdoors within the hotel premises. There is also a laundry room in the basement where guests can wash and dry their clothes free of charge, so that was a big plus for us. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and found the place of good value. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shouen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Shouen,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We offer to all our guest free underground parking and also free laundry facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Bauer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

One of the best 2 BR apartments we have stayed in and terrific value for 2 adults and 2 kids. There was plenty of room and it was clean and modern. The kitchen and bathroom were first rate. The complex is up-to-date and has a good pool which was out of action due to the lack of a pool cleaner. We visited the complex spa on at least four occasions and it was not used by other guests. The enjoyable Towradgi Hotel is literally over the back fence. Would definitely stay again! Minor gripes were the eco-friendly shower with its miserly flow and lack of colour in the corridors.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms great for families of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for your recent post from your stay with us. It’s wonderful to hear that our 2 bedroom apartments are the best you have stayed in. We do pride ourselves on maintaining our spacious apartments, which as you found out are great for families.

As you rightly mention, Towradgi Beach Hotel is located just 150m walk from the hotel and the live entertainment and great pub meals is certainly a drawcard for all our guests.

A point of note is that the hotel hallways are in the process of being updated with a tinge of colour (not white paint) and will be back to pristine condition very shortly.

We look forward to seeing you again at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands should a need arise for you.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First impressions were great, receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Full kitchen facilities and apartment was very well lit. The only drawback with the room is that the beds were quite hard, so sleep quality wasn't the best (but I guess this is just individual preference). Shower stall might be a bit small for some, but I'm relatively small in comparison so it wasn't an issue for me.

From outside the pool did look a little dirty. It was quite a chilly day so I didn't take a dip in it. It does look like a fairly new establishment. If parking underground, large vehicles might find it a little difficult at the entrance as it is quite a tight space (or you might hit the pole in the middle). Plenty of parking outside otherwise.

No shops or restaurants around, but I went down to the reception and the kind lady at the reception gave me some delivery menus.

Staying in Wollongong can be a challenge in terms of location vs price (nice place with water views and close to shops = too expensive). For the location of the place, it's definitely good value. Upside to this place is that it's quieter at night than the ones located in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jee_Yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Jee_Yg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review from your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and you were able to experience the usual friendly service of my staff. I’m sorry to hear your comment regarding our mattresses; however in saying that, all our mattresses are only 3 years old from when the hotel first opened in 2010. I do however like to hear all guest feedback as it helps us to maintain and improve where possible.

With the hotel being located in the quiet neighbourhood suburb of Towradgi, which is only 4kms outside of Wollongong city, we certainly can provide a great location at the reasonable price you mention. Towradgi Beach Hotel is the main venue for meals nearby, only a short 150m walk from our hotel and offers a range of pub meals. In addition, as you rightly mention we do have a selection of menus at reception for delivery to your room.
We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Wollongong.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
2.5 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Pioneer Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Pioneer Sands

Property: Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Address: 19 Carters Lane | Towradgi, Wollongong, New South Wales 2518, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Pioneer Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wollongong's boutique accommodation & conference and events. The Quality Suites Pioneer Sands - is ideally located on the Sydney side of Wollongong at only 55 minutes drive from Sydney Airport. We offer One and Two Bedroom Apartments with large open plan space flowing onto balconies with escarpment or Wollongong skyline views. All apartments feature modern finishes, Austar cable on LCD TV's, internet, air conditioning and fully self contained kitchen facilities. Other facilities include a cafe, outdoor pool, gym spa and onsite business services. This could be your next stop for your business or leisure trip to Wollongong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites Pioneer Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing