We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms, good facility, less than friendly staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, good facility, less than friendly staffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The title pretty much summarize it. The staffs don't like to answer a lot of questions and seemed to not want to be bothered on the night we were there. Kitchen is huge and comes with a lot of utensils. The location is quite convenient too. If you plan to do some light cooking while staying there (say breakfast), you might be delighted to find a huge and nice Coles (supermarket) nearby.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sbudiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear sbudiman,

We truly appreciate you are taking the time to leave a review for Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.
All our 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom apartments have a fully equipped kitchen. It is convenient for travelers/business people and families to cook their own light meals.
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands is 4 km north of the Wollongong’s CBD. The hotel is located in a quiet area but has close by supermarkets, restaurant and public transport.
We appreciate all feedback so we can evaluate our performance and focus on areas for improvement and staff training.
Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel and looking forward to welcome you again next time.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Bauer
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    97
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
70
95
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is ok , but much can be be done to improve.
1st is upon arriving and giving the cards for the room we could not access the lift due to a problem with the Card's, this was fixed very quick.

2nd, The A/C would not work on heat ? but the staff brought up a oil heater that did well .

3rd, The bathroom toilet roll holder was loose and the roll would fall off the holder ?

4th, No A/C in the bedroom or opening windows in the bedroom made the place very stuffy

5th,You have to pay for Internet Access that only run's average speed's of 1 Mbps @ $10 for 2 days ? . Is free in even 3rd world hotels at a faster speed , and you can only connect 1 device !

6th, After house keeping has been the room has a very STRONG odour (chemical) and you need to open up and air ?

7th, The lifts had mats that could just be shaken or vacuumed as there was paper waste or something ?

8th, THE WORST was the SPA (HOT TUB) it has a cover on it , once opening this there is a terrible smell of mould which you can see growing on the cover (black spots) The water was putrid , you could see a slick off ? floating on the surface. There was a build up of body fat etc stuck to the side walls of the spa that I could wipe off with my finger ? (very appealing) NOT.
The filter covers were broken and sitting on the floor ?
also the air fittings for the bubble adjustment were broken ?

9th,The Swimming pool was also filthy , bird feathers, dirt in the bottom , dirty line around the whole pool ?

10th,The listing for this Apartment, hotel, resort, states has restaurant but is incorrect it's only for breakfast. this is only for breakfast with small hours and the price changes if is a weekday or weekend ! $18.00 for Continental and $28.00 for English Breakfast ! OMG.

The bar they have would be great if you are deaf or blind as that is the best you will get !

The Manager of this property should go back to working at KFC or MCD as I'm sure he would rise from there.

The Girls on reception are lovely

Room Tip: Stay Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Tony B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the comments and feedback from you stay at the Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.
We appreciate all feedback so we can evaluate our performance and focus on areas for improvement.
In regards to the internet access we are currently reviewing our supplier to improve internet speed and cost of the internet. Currently you can connect 2 devices per log in.
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands has a small Café operating from 6:30 am to 3:00 pm from Monday to Friday, 7:00 am to 2:00 pm on Saturday and 7:00 am to 12:00 pm on Sunday. We offer Breakfast and light lunches.
The Towradgi Beach Hotel is only 150 m walking distance from the Hotel. They offer all day dining and you can charge back to the hotel.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and for your constructive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future and to restoring your faith in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Bauer
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having to go to Wollongong for a wedding we looked around for suitable accommodation. Pioneer Sands was the only 4 star accommodation that had a bedroom suite available. The day before we arrived we had a call from the hotel confirming we were still going to arrive, which was a nice touch. We arrived at noon and the receptionist was very nice ensuring we could access our room even though it was earlier than normal check in time.
The suite was roomy. It only has airconditioining in the lounge room so a bit of planning is
needed on hot days to ensure that the bedroom temperature is comfortable.
The kitchenette provides the normal selection of cutlery, crockery and cooking utensils. Unfortunately the selection of coffee and tea was at the lower end of the quality spectrum for these products. The bathroom was well appointed and supplied with a good selection of products. The only minor blemish was the poor caulking in the shower bay that made it look a bit tired.
The bed was comfortable and the bedroom window is openable.
Breakfast the next morning provided a good selection of product and on the whole was reasonable for the price.
Parking is adequate although entry is a bit tight due to the poor positioning of the card holder.
Overall it was nice to find something that was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckywandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Luckywandering,

Thank you for taking the time to review Quality Suites Pioneer Sands regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and our breakfast options.

All our apartments are very spacious and great for wedding parties too.
The one bedroom and two apartments are fully equipped with kitchen, dining area, lounge area and air con/heating facility.

Thank you for letting me know your views on our coffee and tea selection in the rooms. It’s always great to hear guest feedback on our hotel in room facilities, as it allows us to continue to improve our standard.

Quality Suites Pioneer Sands offers to all our guest free parking facilities. We have outside car parking or underground secure car parking available.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. Hope to see you again when you when you come down to the Illawarra Region.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca Bauer
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night. left a gold ring on the table, went down for a swim came back up after the cleaners were finished cleaning, the ring wasn't there. Didn't notice till I got home, tried to call them but the receptionist said they'll give me a call, never ended up happening.-_- wouldn't recommend leaving valuables around at all!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zenaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualitySuites1, Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Zenaaaaaaaa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.

I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

The Quality Suites Pioneer Sands has recently changed owners and also under new management.

I will personally look into our Cleaning and Lost & Found Procedures and make sure incidents like yours will not happen again.

Please note that I strive to provide a high quality service and standard.

We certainly do value your review and would like to welcome you back next time you are in Wollongong. Please don’t hesitate to contact myself on 02 4252 1111.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Bauer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were treating my elderly mother to a scenic drive along the Sea Cliff Bridge and through the lovely countryside down to Berry. There was little upmarket accommodation in the Illawarra region offering two bedroom suites. Pioneer Sands looked fine and scored fairly good reviews so we booked, asking for a quiet suite at the rear, away from the road and suitable for an elderly person who slept lightly.

I was anxious for everything to work out well as my mother readily gives vent to any disappointment. Alas, we stumbled at the outset. Our digitised entry keycard would not give access to the carpark, and it took my husband two reports of its continuing failure to the people at Reception before one of the three staff brought her master key, on our key’s third failure letting us through, saying she would replace our card. Fortunately, our original keycard worked in the lift and gave us access to our suite.

The suite was huge with such vast spaces that the furniture, comfortable though it was, looked sparse in the great expanse of open floor. We relaxed immediately onto the balcony off the living room, enjoying the cool breeze and the view - a row of casuarina trees and the pool. A glass of chilled white wine restored equilibrium and we settled in happily.

The master bathroom ensuite to the main bedroom was quite small and offered no horizontal shelving to accommodate any of our kit. The second bathroom was much larger, but had no shelving space either, and was missing one light globe so was ill lit. A separate room with toilet and basin was a thoughtful touch. It was a small matter, but only one spare toilet roll was available for all three facilities and the roll in the main bathroom was almost empty, though prettily folded in welcome.

Both bedrooms were large and comfortable, with balcony doors opening for fresh air but we were alarmed to find they opened right onto the main road at the front of the hotel: alas, too late to request a change.

The TV in the living room was not receiving any but Sky channels, all snowing and difficult to see, so we moved to the main bedroom whose TV was the only one showing Channel 10, the only news channel for which we had reception. By now mother’s harrumph factor was clearly audible.

Heading out for dinner, I stopped by Reception to ask for the replacement access card to work the garage door and reported the faulty lighting in my mother’s bathroom. Sorry, but no one was available to replace the globe. And here’s the replacement keycard and we hope it works because we can’t work out why the other one doesn’t. Fortunately, on our return we discovered it did work.

Although somewhat mollified by a pleasant dinner, mother again was disappointed to find that there were no complimentary biscuits to go with her evening coffee. As she was quick to observe, even the meanest motel offers you a sweet biscuit.

Bedtime, and the rooms were still hot from their afternoon dose of full sunlight. There was no air conditioning in either room other than the slight cooling impact of the one unit located at the other end of the apartment, which faced across the wide living room onto the opposite wall and dining area. We all retired for the night with the balcony doors open slightly for fresh air, but were forced to close them through the night to shut out the noise of traffic.

Two more unpleasant surprises for the morning: the air conditioner unit had drenched the carpet beneath it; and the main bathroom shower stall was so small with its inward opening door that a very deep intake of breath was required for the occupant to be able to close the door, and to get out again.

Although the suite of rooms was immaculate and mostly comfortable, for $324.00 the night, Pioneer Sands failed to deliver us an indulgent experience commensurate with the expense.

Room Tip: Ask for and insist on space at the rear of the hotel where bedrooms are away from the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A few minutes drive out of the hear of Wollongong this hotel is in a modern complex and caters well for larger groups of 4-5. The apartment was large and very clean and comfortable. The service from reception is exvellent. The buffet breakfast was fresh and had a good variety.

Room Tip: There was a bit of traffice noise in the morning so request a room on the other side of the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We loved our stay here! such a treat. Perfect quiet location but very close to the CBD. Great parking facility underground.
Such luxury for the price.
For our honeymoon elsewhere we paid double (NSW) and the room was not half of this.
Such a little apartment:
new kitchen
new bathroom
comfortable bed
air con
tv in room
tv in lounge room
balcony
built in robes with full mirrors
great staff!
very VERY clean

Would definitely return and recommend to anyone!!
Thankyou & good job.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossom_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
2.5 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Pioneer Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Pioneer Sands

Property: Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Address: 19 Carters Lane | Towradgi, Wollongong, New South Wales 2518, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Pioneer Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wollongong's boutique accommodation & conference and events. The Quality Suites Pioneer Sands - is ideally located on the Sydney side of Wollongong at only 55 minutes drive from Sydney Airport. We offer One and Two Bedroom Apartments with large open plan space flowing onto balconies with escarpment or Wollongong skyline views. All apartments feature modern finishes, Austar cable on LCD TV's, internet, air conditioning and fully self contained kitchen facilities. Other facilities include a cafe, outdoor pool, gym spa and onsite business services. This could be your next stop for your business or leisure trip to Wollongong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Pioneer Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing