We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed one night and was very impressed. The location is fantastic with the beach being just across the road. The room was big comfortable, clean and had an awesome view .
The buffet breakfast was fresh and had a lot of variety, and the lollies and fruit in the lobby was a nice touch. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the corner seem bigger and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Irena D,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

It's always pleasing to hear that our guest had an enjoyable experience. It is a delight to know that you were able to enjoy the entire hotel from the room, to breakfast and location.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wollongong.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had views of the ocean which were lovely. The room was comfortable and roomy. Great location. Short walk into town and right across from the Beach and a spacious park. Our only downside was having the buffet dinner and not being made aware of the price before we ate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Kirsten A

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It's always pleasing to hear that our guest had an enjoyable experience.

We must agree with you we are in a wonderful location and very central to all the pleasures Wollongong has to offer.

Should you wish to return to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and have you stay with us again.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were lucky to get a great deal for one night, so I did not expect amazing full on ocean view. The room and bathroom were a good size and clean. I liked the big bathroom mirror above the sink and another full size mirror on the wall , which is very rare for a hotel. The worst was the bed, I have never slept in such a soft bed and I travel quite a bit. Overall the Hotel is dated and definitely needs a make over. The Lobby Bar was more than a children's play ground than a Bar. Even after 7pm children were running around and screaming, I have nothing against kids, I actually work with children, but I have not encountered kids running around in a Bar. It is in a lovely location, right across the beach and the buffet dinner in the Restaurant was good. Had we paid full price I would have been extremely disappointed, but because of the special price I took it in strife. However, we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beat5rixSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Owner at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Beat5rixSydney,

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay at the Novotel Northbeach Wollongong.

I am pleased to read you were able to get a great deal on your accommodation and the location and restaurant were to your liking.

I am disappointed to learn that your stay was marked by children screaming and running in the Lobby Bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. I am confident that this was an isolated incident neverthelesss, I have communicated your feedback with our heads of department to prevent a re-occurance.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed just one night. Enormous reception and bar area on the ground floor. Bedrooms a good size and comfortable. Bathroom a little dated but clean
Good choice of food for breakfast
Hotel very well appointed right across the road from the beach and a short stroll into town. A number of cafe's nearby means lots of choice for coffee / lunch if you want to eat out
Only downside was had problems with the internet but staff very helpful in getting the issue resolved

Room Tip: Ocean view recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Jan A

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience.

It is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. I am delighted to learn that you were able to enjoy the entire hotel.

Should you return to Wollongong, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We travelled to Wollongong as a family for my birthday weekend. Our room was really disappointing and at the back of the hotel, the receptionist tried to upsell the ocean view rooms but the price was already so expensive I declined, they did comp my parking through as it was my birthday!
We weren't advised that we needed to prebook for dinner and when we rocked up at 6pm they were fully booked, very disappointing as we then had to find outside options with 2 toddlers.
The only goods things were the location to the beach and on check out the kind office staff provided toys to my twins which I would normally expect on arrival as part of their normal service. They also seem to ignore the fact they we were Accor Advantage members and offer no points towards future stays. We won't be returning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tenith,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for sharing your experience.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not providing you and your family with an enjoyable stay. I have shared your comments with our management team and all staff will be made aware of the importance of always informing our guests dinner reservations are a must.

Our hotel accepts Accor Advantage plus and all the benefits associated with it, however we are not a participating Le Club hotel which prevents you from claiming points for your stay. All participating and no participating hotels are available on the LeClub Hotels website.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank fayesim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Attended a birthday party
Decided to stay fairly standard service nothing spectacular about the place however nothing really wrong customer service was friendly not a bad location across from the beach

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLAKEBIGDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Blakebigdog

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We appreciate both positive and constructive comments as this helps us to review the products and service that we offer.

On behalf of all staff we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Address: 2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range: £124 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing