We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    767
    362
    92
    54
See reviews for
526
743
74
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Not accepting accord hotel card, no safe in room, old hotel , old furniture, no glases in bathroom for tothbrush, tv reception quality is bad. Only the situation is good. If you have to go, ask an ocean view but will not go back there

Room Tip: Ocean view but nothing else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malika77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Malika77,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. It was disappointing to read your comments and apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay regarding these concerns. However, your support is important to us and we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Please contact me directly to discuss your concerns during your stay with us further on 02 4224 3111.

We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Novotel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. When I booked the hotel I mentioned that we were celebrating our 20th Anniversary and when we arrived their was a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates in our room, which was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but quite dated and could do with being refurbished, and especially the bathroom as it was very tired looking. I would stay at the Novotel Wollongong again if there was a good special on, but it is a little overpriced for what you receive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripgirl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your special visit with us. It is great to read that our staff help make your special occasion just that little more special with our person touch.
We hope you come back and visit the hotel again for your next special occasion

Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Perhaps its my familiarity with Novotel across the world and Australia and those experiences had set my expectations. That was not too ambitious as I know what a 4 start hotel should be, unfortunately this is at best a 2 star hotel. Main failure is its rooms, toilet and fittings. Needs a serious refurb - a complete rip out; aircond, TV, the lot. Staff are friendly though. One more serious put off, you can smell urine across the bathroom and the bedroom- dunno how we got through the night. I will not be coming back and will check trip advisor before getting into any future novotel - the brand has lost its glimmer from my perspective.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 639abbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear 639abbie,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. My sincere apologies for not providing you with an enjoyable experience.

I have taken note of your comments in relation to the room and I will personally address this with Higher Management.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and helping us improve our service, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warm regards

Emma
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is terrible to see a hotel luring visitors under a name that is not correct - this is not a Novotel hotel & is not officially recognised within Le Club Accor as one of their hotels.
The hotel is dated & needs a total refurbishment to meet today's requirements to qualify as a 4 star hotel.
It is over-priced with horribly dated bathrooms & shabbily furnished rooms.
I have not been this disgusted in a hotel for many , many years.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone - it has really spoilt our vacation

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelWWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear MichaelWWest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Northbeach Wollongong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Unfortunately not all Accor Hotels participate in the LeClub program, the list of non participating hotels is available on the terms and conditions. We hope to be joining the program soon.

Please rest assured your feedback will be provided to higher Management for review.

If you wish to discuss your concerns if further detail, please call me on 4224 3111.

Warm Regards

Emma
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in Wollongong when seeing a play that we had missed in the STC Sydney season, and decided to have a weekend getaway. I booked a suite to make it a bit 'special.' We were delighted to discover that the suite had a newly implemented butler service and champagne and strawberries were delivered pronto as a complimentary service.. The suite itself was very spacious with marvelous views of the water and a beautifully appointed bathroom. Breakfast, served in the main dining room was very pleasant. The staff were extremely enthusiastic and helpful. A bonus is a magnificent 'after five' boutique in the lobby with some really exotic designs. The shop has flourished for over two decades with the same owner, and I am not surprised. I bought a gorgeous dress and it was altered straight away so that I could wear it to dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jennifer s,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Northbeach.

It is pleasing to read you were able to enjoy Novotel Northbeach at its best with the added personal touch of our Butler service.

I am sure your kind words will serve as great encouragement to all staff to continue to provide a high level service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Northbeach when you are next visiting the beautiful Wollongong.

Kind Regards

Emma
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of my favourite indulgences from the busy life at Bondi. View from the balcony over the beach is Fab! Staff treat me like family. Nothing too much trouble for them.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Roseanne H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We highly appreciate our loyal guests, the team at Novotel Northbeach Wollongong thrive on seeing familiar faces return time and time again.

I am also delighted to read you enjoy the rooms and the amazing view in which they have to offer.

The entire team at Novotel Northbeach Wollongong is looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards

Emma
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.0 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Property: Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Address: 2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing