We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
sydney
1
Reviewed 8 January 2011

great place to stay in north wollongong. friendly staff, comfortable rooms. the only problem we had was the restraunt "windjammers" was rubbish. useless service and overpriced. apart from that a great place too stay...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, it is always pleasing to hear.
I will pass your feedback onto our Restaurant Manager. We are very proud of our restaurant, winning several awards over the past years. It is disappointing to hear that the service did not reach expectation though I believe this to be a one off rather than a standard. Here at the Novotel we value all guest feedback & see it as a vital tool to the continuous improvement of our product and service. Please rest assured these issues will be dealt with.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2011

This was a winner for us - had never been to Wollongong and picked it on the basis of location (literally across the road from a great patrolled surf beach) and the fact we could have a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Room and the view were great, and they acknowledged my birthday with complimentary wine and chocolates, which was a nice touch. Reception staff were kept busy, but were friendly and efficient. I got a much better rate (ie $50 cheaper) booking direct with the hotel than through a couple of discount websites I scanned. It was still expensive, but it was high season and I expect better deals would be available off peak. All up, we were very satisfied. It's not a schmick glossy boutique hotel - it's a 4 star beachside chain hotel that delivered a good sized clean room and fantastic view, with the bonus of above average service. I'd absolutely return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback,

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Being the only Beach Front property in Wollongong, Summer Holidays are by far the busiest time for us. For that same reason winter is often quieter. We do still have great deals pop up throughout the year so it is always best to keep an eye out to see what we are offering, or if you are willing to supply my with your email address, I would be happy to add you to our listing where we email you about all of your specials.

Thank you again for your feedback. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
1
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I thought the hotel was overpriced for what it offered. We booked a "special" via the internet that offered 1/2 price on the base rate but at $230/night for 2 adults + child with no breakfast or parking iincluded it did not represent value. Its unclear what it would have cost without the "special" deal?? The gym equipment was old and equipment needing power (eg jogging equipment) did not work. The staff were flexiblle and on leaving reduced the parking charges and we appreciated this, however who has heard of a hotel not calculating th e extra parking charge when booking, when essentiallly there are no other viable parking options in Summer at that location. We found this a bit deceptive and mean spirited. The view and location were however great but in future we will go with the smaller or newer hotels that offer more for less cost. Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for your response.

Being the only beach front property in Wollongong we do find the summer holidays one of the busiest periods of the year. This being our peak season, prices can be upwards of $300 per room however often we do have specials on such as the one you booked on.
The parking costs were introduced when parking meters were installed around Wollongong. I am sure you can imagine what would happen if we were the only place that offered free parking. The Novotel was one of last properties in Wollongong to add a charge to the car park as we did want to leave it until it was absolutely necessary.
Another option we offer are some of our packages that do include the cost of parking as well as other great inclusions such as seafood platters and massages. We even give you the option of creating your own package choosing from all the extras we have to offer.
For more information please feel free to contact us or visit our website.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Spent a couple of nights here as a break away between xmas & new year. This is the 2nd time that we've stayed here - 1st time with young children, this time as a couple. The location is perfect. Views are great (can watch the paragliders land in the park next door, beach is just across the road, short walk to the jetty). Hotel is clean and adequate. Worst thing is that the balconies are not private, ie there is no wall between rooms so if you step out onto your balcony make sure you're decent!!! Hotel staff are friendly. Service in the lobby bar needs reviewing. We came back to the hotel around 9 one evening and decided to have coffee and cake before going back to our room. We had 2 choices of cakes and waited over half an hour for our order to be delivered to us - only to be told that one of the cakes we'd ordered had already been sold, so we had a choice of one cake! Staff were apologetic. We were bemused during our half hour + wait watching the wait staff cruise the lobby bar and outdoor courtyard trying to find who belonged to what order????? I know it's tacky, but I think that they need to hand out numbers when you order so that the waiters can find you easily. I believe that this would have halved the wait. Overall though, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I appreciate the feedback regarding the service in the Lobby Bar. I will speak with our Bars Manager to see if we can work a better system.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milperra
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Mudgee
1
Reviewed 7 January 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
11
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Room service ordered never arrived despite lots of phone calls and broken promises!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
1,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Address: 2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range: £102 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing