We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Quest Wollongong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Wollongong
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Poor reception on Austar, Internet went through a secondary server which provided little protection. The Kitchen was new, but the dining and coffee tables were painted, which damaged my leather diary (it stuck to it). After complaining about the reception of the TV, basically got, stiff cheese from the reception. Close to CBD, parking $8 p/night which I wasn't told about until check out. Basic accommodation ok for the one night stay traveller...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Very central, spacious rooms. There is no way this hotel could be rated any less than 4/5. The location is more than ideal. Easy parking. Rooms are well equipped and large. Reception is minimal, but what do you expect from an apartment facility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

good value for money when compared to other properties, but really noisy at night from street traffic. THey should have invested in double glazing as then it would be first choice. As it is, not first choice. Free broadband, parking $8 per night, but secure. Very central. GOod for short 2 night stay, but not for leisure when you want the views and peace and quiet. No balcony. THin film of dust on all furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesholidaysido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Upgraded on arrival which is always good. Located perfectly for CBS and shopping. Short stroll for restaurants, stadium and beach as well...very central.
Room was lovely, everything youre after in 4 star. Clean and well appointed, only downside would be the lack of wifi, there is plug in broadband but beware of the cost.
Parking secure and reasonable at 5 dollars a night.
Gym is good enough for a medium workout but far from fitness first. That said, certainly more equipment than the usual token gestures. No pool or spa though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Had to stay overnight in Wollongong for work recently and so followed the recommendation of a colleague who stays regularly at the Quest. I was impressed with the ease of checking in (and out!) and the quality and amenities (and the size!) of the room.

A minor gripe (and this probably my own fault), but a toothbrush kit would be great. Also, and this was maybe just my room, but the bedding was summer-weight and I had to double up as it got a bit chilly.

All in all, a top choice for business and holiday users!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed at Quest Wollongong over New Years and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the spacious one bedroom suite. The amenities were good, kitchen was well stocked (although parking filled up quickly - we got the last spot!) and the location was perfect - 2 mins to the mall, 5 mins to the beach. Our only complaint is that our room was boiling as the sun went down every afternoon and despite having the air conditioning on during our whole stay it was difficult to cool the room (the air conditioning wasn't functioning properly during our stay and wasn't fixed dyring our stay). Friendly staff and easy checkout. I would stay here again but wouldn't have a room facing the street.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street, ensure your air conditioning is functioning properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandragfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've stayed at the Quest in Wollongong twice this week, and it's been a ver pleasant experience. Rooms are well fitted out and comfortable and the Questnis well located near the centre of town. The staff here are exceptional. I haven't been so impressed with the level of service for a long time, local knowledge and friendliness and professionalism, from booking through to check in and check out, I can't speak highly enough for all the team members I met. I'm staying again, and it's nice to know I'll be welcomed by friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: I was over the street on both visits, no issues with traffic noise, but higher up might offer a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wollongong

Address: 59 - 61 Kembla St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range: £104 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Wollongong is conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong CBD, 100 metres to restaurants, cafes, cultural attractions, shopping precinct, Wollongong's harbour and beaches are a short stroll away. The property features a combination of newly refurbished one and two bedroom serviced apartments. Our spacious self contained apartments offer separate living space to the bedroom, providing an ideal alternative to a traditional hotel room. Apartments feature fully equipped kitchen, spacious living/ dining area, bathroom, private laundry facilities and separate work desk. Our two bedroom apartments offer space and privacy, featuring two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a separate spacious living and dining area. We also offer on-site secure car parking (at $10.00 per space, per night - one car per apartment), internet access, and meeting/conference facilities for up to 20 delegates. A home away from home in Wollongong ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing