We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home...”
Review of Quest Wollongong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Wollongong
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have stayed here twice long term with my 2yr old and I am booked in for two more long term stays. The location is excellent, close to the CBD, Win Stadium & Beach. I stay in a 1 bedroom apartment with the balcony and treat the apartment as my home making full use of washing machine & kitchen. I did have an issue with housekeeping during my last stay. Towels were not being changed, bin liners not replaced and I had an occassion to email the manager my complaint as housekeeping had failed 5 times. Overall we are satisifed with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveller582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear World_Traveller582,

From the guys at Quest Wollongong, We hope You, Jason and Luci have a great Christmas and look forward to seeing you in 2013. You should enjoy Wollongong in December.
We will make sure your next stay is improved and make you want to stay longer.

Cameron Oke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

It's very difficult to book a room for 5 adults in Wollongong and Quest was one of the 2-3 locations that could get 5 into one apartment.
Size wise the apartment was good - we had a 2 bedroom which had a kind bed and 2 singles. A decent roll out bed was also set up for us for our fifth.
The furniture seemed cheap, which is fine for a chain motel, except considering it's cheap - there shouldn't really be an excuse for it to seem so dated, tired and dirty.
Thus why it seems overpriced - 2 bedroom apartment for one night $330!!

Cleanliness was less than average. There was gunk in the dishwasher and the fridge smelt funny. The bathrooms were the worst which wasn't helped by the fact that they seemed a bit dated. I went to brush my teeth and had a huge cockroach crawl out from my under my towel. Yuck!! There were 2 other dead cockroaches near the couch in the living area.

Bedding would have been adequate for summer but not enough blankets were in the room for 5 people during a cold winter night - reception closed so no opportunity to get more. Bed and pillows were also hard and uncomfortable.
Bathroom fan was noisy and we could hear noise from the street all night.

I hate sounding like I'm whinging but the only decent thing I can think of for this hotel was it's central location. Otherwise - it seems like Quest are taking advantage of the lack of accomodation choices in Wollongong and charging premium prices for sub standard rooms.

The apartment was adequate for a group for the one night but I would be very unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsNoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Poor reception on Austar, Internet went through a secondary server which provided little protection. The Kitchen was new, but the dining and coffee tables were painted, which damaged my leather diary (it stuck to it). After complaining about the reception of the TV, basically got, stiff cheese from the reception. Close to CBD, parking $8 p/night which I wasn't told about until check out. Basic accommodation ok for the one night stay traveller...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Very central, spacious rooms. There is no way this hotel could be rated any less than 4/5. The location is more than ideal. Easy parking. Rooms are well equipped and large. Reception is minimal, but what do you expect from an apartment facility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

good value for money when compared to other properties, but really noisy at night from street traffic. THey should have invested in double glazing as then it would be first choice. As it is, not first choice. Free broadband, parking $8 per night, but secure. Very central. GOod for short 2 night stay, but not for leisure when you want the views and peace and quiet. No balcony. THin film of dust on all furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesholidaysido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Upgraded on arrival which is always good. Located perfectly for CBS and shopping. Short stroll for restaurants, stadium and beach as well...very central.
Room was lovely, everything youre after in 4 star. Clean and well appointed, only downside would be the lack of wifi, there is plug in broadband but beware of the cost.
Parking secure and reasonable at 5 dollars a night.
Gym is good enough for a medium workout but far from fitness first. That said, certainly more equipment than the usual token gestures. No pool or spa though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Had to stay overnight in Wollongong for work recently and so followed the recommendation of a colleague who stays regularly at the Quest. I was impressed with the ease of checking in (and out!) and the quality and amenities (and the size!) of the room.

A minor gripe (and this probably my own fault), but a toothbrush kit would be great. Also, and this was maybe just my room, but the bedding was summer-weight and I had to double up as it got a bit chilly.

All in all, a top choice for business and holiday users!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wollongong

Address: 59 - 61 Kembla St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range: £106 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Wollongong is conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong CBD, 100 metres to restaurants, cafes, cultural attractions, shopping precinct, Wollongong's harbour and beaches are a short stroll away. The property features a combination of newly refurbished one and two bedroom serviced apartments. Our spacious self contained apartments offer separate living space to the bedroom, providing an ideal alternative to a traditional hotel room. Apartments feature fully equipped kitchen, spacious living/ dining area, bathroom, private laundry facilities and separate work desk. Our two bedroom apartments offer space and privacy, featuring two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a separate spacious living and dining area. We also offer on-site secure car parking (at $10.00 per space, per night - one car per apartment), internet access, and meeting/conference facilities for up to 20 delegates. A home away from home in Wollongong ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing