We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good hotel for business travel”
Review of Quest Wollongong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Wollongong
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location good hotel for business travel”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Clean quiet hotel for business travel. One of the few quality places to stay in the Gong. I would happily recommend hotel to other business travellers. The hotel is within walking distance to the CBD - probably about a 10-15min walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gw_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hi There,

Very really appreciate your feedback and its great you enjoyed your time here at Quest Wollongong.
We look forward to having you stay with us again when your next in town on business.

Regards
Cameron Oke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    83
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
68
40
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

found lot of cockroach and complain nothing was done not happy with 4.5 can do better.housekeeping staff this morning ask me if they could clean our room i said yes but not at the moment as we were trying to get ready...got back found nothing was done

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin_Peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback.
The apartment you stayed in was situated on the only level that has an outdoor courtyard, this of course does lead to the occasional cockroach making its way into the apartment. I can assure you however, that our rooms undergo monthly pest control treatments. Our housekeeping team attend to any isolated incidents immediately which they did the day you reported it to reception.
In regards to your room not being serviced, housekeeping have reported that you did not require a service that morning.
We encourage our guests to report any issues to reception during your stay, so we can rectify this before you leave.
We would like to welcome you back to Quest Wollongong during your next stay in The Gong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have stayed at a number of accommodations in Wollongong. There are only a few that offer real quality and we have now added Quest to that list. Firstly, the price: we would not stay at the usual advertised tariff: we selected Quest from Wotif as the "Mystery Hotel". The cost was $50 cheaper ($129 night). I actually thought the Mystery was another place that we know so got a surprise when we found out it was Quest. Not disappointed though in the end!

Parking is $8 extra at the rear under cover. There is no restaurant but as it is located right next to Wollongong Mall and heaps of other eateries. We highly recommend The Illawara Brewery behind WIN Statdium (formerly called Five islands Brewery). See our separate review.

So location is great: right next to shopping and the beach a short stroll. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment: full kitchen, separate bedroom with queen bed, dining table, small lounge, flat screen TV etc. Huge bathroom with bath and full laundry facilities. Well decorated and cleanly presented. Quiet air conditioning very effective. They have a no entertainment policy in rooms which doesn't worry us!!!!!

Reception was very friendly: we had a few requests (like arrangements for a early departure, bottle of wine etc), and all met without a problem. No problem with noise but we stayed on a Sunday night. Lift was always available.

Our 4th floor room faced the street with rather bright lights that another reviewer mentioned but really not a bother. I believe other apartments have a water view but cannot confirm.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed two nights the Saturday night was noisy with people leaving pubs and clubs situated around the property. The noise continued into the early hours of the morning. We did not get much sleep at all.

The apartment was very clean and the reception staff where very helpful

The bedroom we had was very light even though we had block out blinds. the light was coming from a building across which had a big neon sign that lite up the whole area.

I think an extra $8.00 per day for parking in the basement is a bit over the top. You can park on the street for free if you can find a parking bay. They seem to be always full.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relax21412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.

A big thank you for staying with Quest Wollongong, and we take all feedback serious and im happy to be able to provide you with a response and to apoligise for your stay.
The noise as you mentioned can at times be quiet loud, depending on events that Wollongong are hosting at that time it can get noisy.
We are working with other business owners and local authority to have the noise level reduced to a sustainable level for all to enjoy and something that we look to have under control very soon.

The carparking is actually the most affordable within the CBD properties and are the only accommodation provider that guarantees a car space. You can get free of parking on the street however you do run the chance of a break and enter, which is something that would defiantly tarnish your stay.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again and i would personally like to discuss your tariff on your next visit to Wollongong.

Cameron Oke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very friendly ,helpful staff,off street parking available, close to all amenities, fantastic spacious units,all combined to make a visit to Wollongong very memorable. Will remember this place for future stays.

Room Tip: Level 7 has excellent views to the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Roy B,

We are so greatful for the kind feedback and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Quest Wollongong, we look forward to your next stay and we will make sure you get the 7Th Floor.

Cameron Oke

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here for 5 nts while attending W'gong
Uni. The room was spacious & comfortable.
Staff were helpful. Handy location - close to the supermarket & shopping mall.
The best feature for me was having kitchen & laundry
facilities. The price was also great. The downside of my stay was that I had a room
overlooking the street and the noise through the night (hoons in cars & on foot, delivery trucks, street sweepers) meant I got little sleep. Not very helpful when having to
sit through 8hrs of intense lectures each day! I have 3 x 5 day stays in W'gong each
year but the noise factor will only see me stay at Quest again as a last resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Jeglagciti,

Thank you very much for your feedback, im glad tht we were able to have a fewfacilities that come in handy over your stay. I understand how important sleep is when studying and just with your day to day life.
We have two bedroom apartments away from the street that I would be deligthed in ugrading you to on your next stay. If you would like to take this option. Pleas just let me know.
We always strive to make sure you enjoy your stay and I hope we get the opportunity to get it right.

Cameron Oke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have stayed here twice long term with my 2yr old and I am booked in for two more long term stays. The location is excellent, close to the CBD, Win Stadium & Beach. I stay in a 1 bedroom apartment with the balcony and treat the apartment as my home making full use of washing machine & kitchen. I did have an issue with housekeeping during my last stay. Towels were not being changed, bin liners not replaced and I had an occassion to email the manager my complaint as housekeeping had failed 5 times. Overall we are satisifed with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveller582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QGong, General Manager at Quest Wollongong, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear World_Traveller582,

From the guys at Quest Wollongong, We hope You, Jason and Luci have a great Christmas and look forward to seeing you in 2013. You should enjoy Wollongong in December.
We will make sure your next stay is improved and make you want to stay longer.

Cameron Oke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wollongong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wollongong

Property: Quest Wollongong
Address: 59 - 61 Kembla St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Wollongong is conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong CBD, 100 metres to restaurants, cafes, cultural attractions, shopping precinct, Wollongong's harbour and beaches are a short stroll away. The property features a combination of newly refurbished one and two bedroom serviced apartments. Our spacious self contained apartments offer separate living space to the bedroom, providing an ideal alternative to a traditional hotel room. Apartments feature fully equipped kitchen, spacious living/ dining area, bathroom, private laundry facilities and separate work desk. Our two bedroom apartments offer space and privacy, featuring two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a separate spacious living and dining area. We also offer on-site secure car parking (at $10.00 per space, per night - one car per apartment), internet access, and meeting/conference facilities for up to 20 delegates. A home away from home in Wollongong ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing