We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean View Rooms have wonderful views - very comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ocean View Rooms have wonderful views - very comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed in an Ocean View Room and loved the view - overlooking the golf course and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are great - plenty of room and nicely decorated. Rooms have a sep. bedroom and also a Sofa Bed so can sleep 4 comfortably. Staff were great - especially the blonde haired gentleman who was in charge of our floor - he went out of his way to help us . We could walk to Win Entertainment Centre for a concert or the St George Dragons Win Stadium to watch the rugby league. City Sands is also in walking distance to restaurants and Crown Central Shopping Centre. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    93
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
96
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed one night and totally enjoyed our stay. The staff is friendly, rooms neat & clean, did not have a room facing the golf course this time but have stayed before and the view is magnificent.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiewrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our 1night stay in a 1b/r apartment on the 3rd floor room 303 with commanding views over the golf course to the ocean beyond. Everything in the room met with our requirements. While some have complained about the noise from early golfers & the bar we could not even though there were golfers out on the course. We dined in the restaurant & the meals were very good. Staff most courteous & attentive from check in to restaurant to check out. There is keyless security for the accommodation but no secured car park.Therefore my only complaint would be the car park which at times was hard to find a space due to the golfers & we can appreciate the fact that there are more golfers than guests but maybe some dedicated car spaces for accommodation guests would be handy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I booked here for 2 nights last minute on my way back to Sydney based on trip advisor. Our room turned out to be a bedroom suite with a huge balcony that overlooked the golf course and ocean. The hotel is part of the golf club. The room was large with small kitchen, bedroom and large bathroom. The restaurant and bar are part of the golf club and the food was reasonably priced and very good. One of the evenings there was a Trivia Night. We were welcomed by the host and he took pity on the fact that as Candians we were at a disadvantage with the Aussie questions. Everyone was very friendly and we really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel seemed to be more in an industrial and residential area and not very much around. I had thought that the hotel had a pool and was disapointed not to find one. It is really a group of rooms attached to a golf club. I enjoyed the slot machines at the hotel. In Canada they are only in Casinos.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

The hotel itself was decent, no more than I expected as it was relatively cheap compared to the others. However staff were disappointing, not helpful and had attitude problems.
Wouldn't stay there again, but if your just after a bed it will do.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmasittanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

Spent the weekend playing golf with the family. We were very pleased wth the service and the quality of the room. We travel quite a bit and were more than happy with ocean view rooms overlooking the course...

  • Liked — The great course
  • Disliked — a little difficult to find
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarrumakindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

Staying three nights, we were initially pleased with the presentation of the hotel and our room. Into our stay we encountered issues. The housekeeping and room service at the hotel were a complete disappointment. The service and attitude of staff was dismal.

We requested additional towels which never came. We even put our request in writing to housekeeping, whom ignored the request. Housekeeping missed a number of things in the room. Room service ran out of white bread. White bread! Without explanation they sent brown bread just before closing the kitchen.

Upon checkout, we purchased two bottles of water for the trip, from the mini-bar and noticed one seal was broken. The bottle had clearly been opened and refilled. The label was in such bad shape, it would have been quite obvious to housekeeping.

When we raised our issues with reception, the response from the security guy working the desk was that the manager wouldn't be happy if they contacted them at this time of night. It was 830PM.

The rooms were quite new, although the noise from the bar below became quite loud, in particular on Saturday night. Early morning tee off times on the golf course were also a concern, with players yelling and joking.

City Sands hotel is part of the Best Western group. Booking any type of accommodation via Best Western higlights what disarray the company is in. The reservations number is based overseas and they have no idea of the local market, nor do they care. The staff don't even understand their own accomodation offers. There is no Australian reservations number and we ended up having to go through their head office for the booking, which kept trying to direct us back to their reservations number.

There are a number of other hotels in the Wollongong area, as well as along the coast to Sydney. Would not recommend a stay at the City Sands Hotel.

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N0MADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club

Property: BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
Address: cnr of Banks & Corrimal St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club Hotel Wollongong
Best Western Wollongong
Wollongong Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing