We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City sands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western City Sands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
North bay
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“City sands”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Had a great stay at Bestwesern City Sands end of February 2012. Very clean large rooms with great view of the golf course and the staff was very friendly. The only odd thing we found that most of the good parking spots are reserved for employees.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reba321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    103
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
105
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Booked via wotif and was surprised by the place. Studio room with ocean view and the price was very resonable. Only take 5 mins driving to the central .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Highly recommended place to stay. Awesome views of both beach and golf course. Rooms generously sized and clean. Staff very helpful and courteous. Food beautiful and reasonably priced. The pictures say it all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shady_guy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very pleasant and comfortable. Gorgeous view from our room of the golf course and water. (room 301) Nice to sit on the balcony having a coffee and watching the avid golfers play golf.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveNYAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

If you like being woken up by really loud motor mowers outside your hotel room at 6.50 am then stay here. Hotel is in a good location overlooking the beach but there was no appreciation or acknowledgment that being woken up this early was a real inconvenience.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Corporate_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGolf, Manager at Best Western City Sands, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you kindly for your feedback and we appreciate that you were inconvenienced by our golf course operations. I am sure you will agree that your room overlooking the golf course was one of the most spectacular aspects of our stay.

Our hotel is part of our Golf Club and we have a commitment to our members and guests to ensure our links course is manicured and ready for play at 6am each morning.

To eliminate and reduce any interruption for our hotel guests that enjoy a sleep-in we ensure that the areas closest to the hotel are prepared at the latest possible time without impacting the players or rules of competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed for the fourth time just before new year’s eve 2011, while visiting relatives. Have tried Rydges, but City Sands seems to have a great balance between independence and professionalism, not to mention space, exceptional outlook from the rooms overlooking the water and uncomplicated parking.

The City Sands website calls it 'luxury' but I wouldn't go that far, However, it is definitely a more upmarket style. All the rooms have at least one separate bedroom and nice loungeroom/dining/kitchenette, spacious bathroom. The décor is inoffensive and contemporary, the beds and pillows are comfortable and the sheets are soft. Shame the towels seem to be getting a little thin. The shower is a telephone style, it has great pressure, but would like a wider showerhead. And they have a shelf for soap & shampoos (you don’t have to put the bottles on the floor!). The kitchen is basic with bare essentials. There is a TV in the bedroom and the loungeroom, and a stereo, but no DVD player. A guest laundry is available but we have never used it. A balcony runs the length of the unit, and there are floor-to-ceiling windows and sliding glass doors in both rooms, with fly screens. The curtains block the light reasonably well – it’s pitch black at night, but they can’t block the morning sun in the east-facing rooms. On our last morning the room warmed up very early because of the direct sun.

As others have mentioned, the golf club is on the floors below and we find it serves very nice food, has a huge balcony to enjoy summer evenings and drink prices are reasonable. You can charge back to your room.

Because it’s a club, the desk is not manned all night. If you plan on arriving late you should make check-in arrangements before-hand. If you return late, there is a night entrance for you. We don’t expect 5-star front-desk service, but have never been let down. Also, because it’s a smaller hotel, there are no big queues. Coming & going is easy and uncomplicated. As mentioned by others, there is a credit card surcharge, but not for debit cards.

Probably the best part is the quiet. Because of the way the rooms are laid out we find it very quiet. Bedrooms are away from the hallway and share a wall with next door’s loungeroom. Have never heard any noise from the club below nor the golfers.

We have always found the cheapest rates on the Best Western website.

Room Tip: If you can afford an oceanview you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Good place to stay in Wollongong. Easy walk to city restaurants, shops and beach. Golf club is in the same building and a great place to eat. wonderful views over the golf course to the beach. We sat on the veranda and watched a couple of whales breaching.

Room Tip: Go for the golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karena55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Sands

Property: Best Western City Sands
Address: | Corner Of Bank And Corrimal Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western City Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western City Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club Hotel Wollongong
Best Western Wollongong
Wollongong Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing