We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. Plenty of parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western City Sands
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spacious, comfortable rooms with views. Room service was prompt and the food is excellent, restaurant quality. Bathroom spacious and clean. Overall just a very comfy place to stay. We will be back. Suggest booking ahead as we were lucky to secure the last room on arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Best Western City Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was pleased to find on arrival that I had a one bedroom apartment with a generous separate lounge and kitchen area above the golf club. The kitchenette meant I could have breakfast in the apartment after a visit to the nearby Woolies to buy supplies. It was a great view over the golf course and out to the ocean from the balcony. The golf club on the floor below offers a good and affordable menu and drinks. I thought it was great value with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great service and the bed was very comfortable, enjoyed breakfast and leisurely morning before shopping which was close by. Rooms were spacious and clean - lovely bathroom - Close to WIN stadium where we were going to. Will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We really enjoyed our week in the apartment, it was easy to go over to Aldi or Woolworths for provisions i.e. cereals, milk, bread which at least was enough to get started in the morning, the fridge was small and kept defrostng over the floor, cooking was not an option other than the microwave, but there was a toaster and kettle. We went to the clubhouse one evening but thought that was a bit average so only tried it once Much better idea is to buy a steak and cook it on one of the BBQ's which are dotted along the beach. The view from the balcony was stunning over the golf course and across the ocean and needless to say a brilliant blue sky. The location was excellent walking to the Mall or getting the shuttle, definately planning to visit again next winter. Shower was great aways plenty of hot water.

I must say reception was great, especially Barbara who I dealt with mostly couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: Do try and get an apartment with ocean view you will not be disappointed, it is so nice not have to...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tintoretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was well appointed with a good sized balcony overlooking the gold course and the beach and we enjoyed the view very much. Beds were comfortable, even the sofa bed which, for a sofa bed wasn't bad! We found the restaurant at the clubhouse very convenient and had both dinner and breakfast there. Dinner was good but breakfast was ordinary. Staff were helpful too Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a beach view room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very generous sized room with king size bed. The shower would suit an adult up to 6 foot 7. Small fridge but spent most time around town and region. Easy walk to the beach and to the mall. In house restaurant (didn't use but handy) so very happy and money well spent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked 2x 1 bed apartments for 1 night. We requested one room to have twin beds(via booking agent). This would have been easy as they use king split beds. But when we arrived and confirmed this was the case, we were told that there is a sofa bed, made up in each room and to use that. Well this could be an option for one night but hardly comfortable and satisfactory if you were staying longer. Apartments have bedroom, living and bathroom with balconies off bed and living. Although I doubt the balconies are ever used as the screen door were difficult to open and needed maintenance. All is presented very clean. Bathroom and kitchenette look newish but furniture is dated and couch/sofa bed is too low. The air con is in living so had to run it at night so bedroom would cool down. This motel is attached to Wollongong Golf Club which has very nice restaurant at which we had nice breakfast overlooking golf course. It is less than 5 min walk to beach, Win Stadium and Entertainment Centre. Also some very good restaurants close by. The staff including restaurant are very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Sands

Address: | Corner Of Bank And Corrimal Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range: £88 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western City Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western City Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club Hotel Wollongong
Best Western Wollongong
Wollongong Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing