We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Katoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff has always been polite. The room is basic but adequate. Quite a reasonable price we noticed for the area. Great if you have children. There's a bit of space. Be prepared for the kids to take over your bed to have a comfortable spot to watch tv though :)

It is a great place to walk around with the children. The playground is nothing special and has no shade though there's the indoor pool and a quick walk to the beach. A short drive to other beaches that had life guards.

With the pool though there are times that they do NOT advertise that guests are not allowed to use the pool. We were asked to get out and vacate several times so that the swim schools could use it. Once there were only a few students and the swim teacher was ok for us to use a small section but all the other times we had to completely vacate the area. They should advertise this!

We have stayed here on quite a few occasions. One weekend was terrible for noise. (all the other times have been fine) There were drunk people stumbling around the place, screaming, very loud music and this went on till early hours of the morning. They had security drive around until it ended though they did not stop it even though they advertise they control things like this and would evict people. Though this has only happened once so maybe unlucky weekend we picked!

Overall for the price for a beach holiday it was a good price :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
68
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Staff were so unfriendly, it was a bother for them to even acknowledge you, the room was overpriced for what you got, the couch was so uncomfortable, it was also noisy as it was opposite a pub. Our advice is give it a big miss. Paid more for this accomadation than what we paid for at Dural, now that is one place you must go and stay at it was so cosy and welcoming the staff were very pleasant

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Maffra
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a unit. the unit was perfect size for a family of four.The staff where ultra helpful with any quires .The location on the beach was good.The kids loved the indoor heated pool and mini golf. Just over the road is Oscar's bar and grill which is also kid friendly. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyldfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 days with all of my family in various cabins (all up there were about 40 of us). We had arrived for my little brothers wedding.

It's an ideal place to stay if there are a lot of you! Cabins are clean and basic, but we were quite happy here and the accommodation is nice and cheap.

Ideally located on the beach and short drive to Wollongong shops.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our families were all spread out over the resort but we were near the road it didn't matter tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed for a weekend in a one bedroom unit. The accommodation is basic, could do with a revamp but it was clean and comfortable, good kitchen facility. Good location, close to beach and short drive to shops. Indoor pool, mini golf are great for families though again looks like they have not been maintained.
Highlights - pool, beach, bistro across the road
Lows - staff are far from friendly, needs some tlc around the place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband. myself and our 2 children stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend, the resort was packed and a little bit noisy but overall a great place to stay. They had lots of activities availble ie. a large 25m heated indoor pool, 2 spa's, and indoor tennis court,a games room as well as 2 outside tennis courts, mini golf, bikes to hire and a small play area for the smaller kids (Tennis, mini golf and bike hire you have to pay a small fee). The bike track leads to a great park with lots of play equiptment and netted swimming/pool area on Towradgi beach which is a short 10 min bike ride away. I booked at short notice and they only had a motel style room left. It could have been a bit cleaner, the kitchen floor was really sticky and dirty (I actually got down and cleaned it with wet wipes), the room did have a musty odour but nothing unbearable. I would definatly stay here again but I would book earlier and get a decent room!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo2680Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We visited here in Winter and expected more for the money we paid. We stayed in a one bed unit which was very dated and had an odour. The facilities are good for children and we would have been satisfied if the price was lower.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleOneSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollongong
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Towradgi Beach
Comfort Inn Towradgi Beach
#6 of 11 in Wollongong
51 reviews
10.3 mi away
Windang Beach Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort

Property: Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort
Address: 201 Pioneer Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2519, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing