We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, central location”
Review of Marketview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marketview
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, central location”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Central location close to free Wollongong shuttle bus and restaurant strip. Stayed here on a weeknight outside university semester (hotel recently acquired by University of Wollongong). Efficient and cheerful staff. The room was small but well appointed with desk, linen cupboard, updated bathroom, carpet. One plus was that the window could be opened, and the room had a pleasant view of St Michael's, the old sandstone church and its green square. Also well located to restaurants although few were open on a Monday night. The major downside at my time of stay was that the wifi was not yet operational, and builders were still passing through with furniture etc in the hallways.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gyspy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    102
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
89
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here for an extended business trip. The restaurant food quality was outstanding and reasonably priced. Staff were at all time helpful, however some occasionally a little lacking in experience.
It is very well located in the centre of the city and only 30m from the shopping centre.
Undercover parking is available at additional cost.

Room Tip: A room away from the road will ensure a quiet night and avoid the hot afternoon sun in the window as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PidynTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Close to CBD in Wollongong .the room was clean and affordable .I will book a room at this motel when staying in Wollongong again .My Mum booked the room for me as a gift which was not a problem when it came to checking in .The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

If it had not been so expensive ($175 for one night including parking) I would probably rate this hotel a little higher. Our room, while clean and with comfortable beds was spartan. There were no drawers for clothes; the only chair was a hard plastic desk chair; the bathroom was large (we were in a disabled room) but was very much no frills. No shower cap. The pillowcases were crumpled (though I am sure they were clean). Another example of surprisingly high prices for a very average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_traveller2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We has toasted sandwiches that took ages and we had to call and ask and were told they were ready, but i think someone forgot to call us and let us know they were ready as when we got them they had been there for time they looked like they'd been sitting there for a while and were a bit soggy, but it wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was attending a wedding at midday and arrived at the hotel around 11.15am. I asked if it was possible to check in so I could leave my bag and head off to the wedding. The front desk representative did not even check if my room was available - I was told a flat "No" and then that check in time was after 2pm. A better customer service experience would have been for him to at least check if my room was available before flatly refusing my request

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I found the staff to be extremely helpful and pleasant. We had a really nice meal in the restaurant and the location of the hotel was well placed for shops, amenities and walking distance of the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.5 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketview

Property: Marketview
Address: Corner Market & Church Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marketview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong. Guests will experience the friendly service at Marketview (previous IBIS Wollongong) while making the most of this central location and enjoying all that Wollongong CBD has to offer. Marketview is walking distance to the beach, great cafes and restaurants, cinemas, the main shopping precinct, WIN Entertainment Centre and cultural events. Accommodation provided is in double rooms and all of the hotel rooms have private ensuites, air conditioners, flat screen TV, internet access, and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marketview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketview Hotel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing