We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Marketview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marketview
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This hotel belongs to Wollongong University and used to be part of the IBIS chain of hotels. A friend and I stayed in a familiy room with two beds a couple of days.

The room was small, but modern and very clean.

Staff was friendly and the reception and common area look very fresh and friendly.
Seen the price and location I can only recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackwinterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    102
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
89
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We ended up in Wollongong on an unplanned visit and found this hotel by chance. What a great find! It's nothing fancy, but it's clean, comfortable, close (walking distance) to everything and very reasonably priced. We checked in late and were welcomed by friendly staff. We had a queen and single bed and although the room was small, it was not cramped. The hotel caters for students during term time (owned and operated by Wollongong Uni) - but open to the public during vacations.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oztripper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Marketview is located within easy walking distance of Wollongong train station, as well as of restaurants, cafes and the popular Crown St Mall and Wollongong Central shopping mall. It's also within easy walking distance of City Beach and, just a few minutes walk further up, North Beach. The location was perfect for us, being without a car - we didn't once have to catch a taxi to get around.

Another great plus of this hotel is its staff. Whoever we encountered at the front desk during our 2-night stay, they were all very friendly, attentive and happy to share their tips on places to go.

The room was small but sufficient for two people. It was clean and well-equipped, with fridge, A/C, TV, closet and desk.

All in all, I had a good experience at this hotel and would easily recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Wollongong.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyStar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Central location close to free Wollongong shuttle bus and restaurant strip. Stayed here on a weeknight outside university semester (hotel recently acquired by University of Wollongong). Efficient and cheerful staff. The room was small but well appointed with desk, linen cupboard, updated bathroom, carpet. One plus was that the window could be opened, and the room had a pleasant view of St Michael's, the old sandstone church and its green square. Also well located to restaurants although few were open on a Monday night. The major downside at my time of stay was that the wifi was not yet operational, and builders were still passing through with furniture etc in the hallways.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gyspy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here for an extended business trip. The restaurant food quality was outstanding and reasonably priced. Staff were at all time helpful, however some occasionally a little lacking in experience.
It is very well located in the centre of the city and only 30m from the shopping centre.
Undercover parking is available at additional cost.

Room Tip: A room away from the road will ensure a quiet night and avoid the hot afternoon sun in the window as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PidynTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Close to CBD in Wollongong .the room was clean and affordable .I will book a room at this motel when staying in Wollongong again .My Mum booked the room for me as a gift which was not a problem when it came to checking in .The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

If it had not been so expensive ($175 for one night including parking) I would probably rate this hotel a little higher. Our room, while clean and with comfortable beds was spartan. There were no drawers for clothes; the only chair was a hard plastic desk chair; the bathroom was large (we were in a disabled room) but was very much no frills. No shower cap. The pillowcases were crumpled (though I am sure they were clean). Another example of surprisingly high prices for a very average hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_traveller2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.5 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketview

Property: Marketview
Address: Corner Market & Church Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marketview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong. Guests will experience the friendly service at Marketview (previous IBIS Wollongong) while making the most of this central location and enjoying all that Wollongong CBD has to offer. Marketview is walking distance to the beach, great cafes and restaurants, cinemas, the main shopping precinct, WIN Entertainment Centre and cultural events. Accommodation provided is in double rooms and all of the hotel rooms have private ensuites, air conditioners, flat screen TV, internet access, and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marketview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketview Hotel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing