We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of buck for the bang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lot of buck for the bang”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stay here a few months back. The rooms are quite expensive for what you get. The building is close to a lot of entertainement venues (too close). The rooms are quite noisy. On the flip side the rooms were clean and serviced daily. The apartments have all the facilities that are required. May think of staying again, but believe there is more bang for your buck around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpretzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I feel a little guilty with this review in view of the glowing comments of other reviewers but I always try to be honest.
My wife and I spent three days here and found the place generally acceptable---it's very well located near Wollongong CBD and all facilities.
THe staff were pleasant in welcoming us and the premises including secure parking were well maintained.
Our Issues were with our suite which was not cleaned properly not being vacuumed at all during our stay and on the third day the unit was not serviced at all-- nothing -----so we had to ring reception for this to be attended to.
I suppose the thing that also swayed me from giving a higher rating was that the TV reception was very very poor with only a few channels and of those several almost unviewable. The young lass on reception said it was a problem in the whole complex but would be fixed--- nothing happened during our three nights stay.
In summary we may have struck them at a bad time and the reviews given by others may be a better reflection of their overall and ongoing performance.If possible I would have given them three and a half out of five rather than the three shown here

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

In town for a conference, chose the WSA rather than stay at the conference venue. It turned out to be a great decision.

Top marks for the warm welcome and helpful service. In short, the WSA are well located, spacious, light and clean and only a short walk to the water.

All in all - great value.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the north are light and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

i loved this place more than christmas. fun fact :chuck norris can make 2 min noodles in 1 minute, chuck norris stands outside and dares his grass to grow

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brendan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My Kiwi friend and I knew nothing about Wollongong before visiting - and fell in love with it! And this was a very good location for exploring this intriguing place - very handy for the plentiful shops and for the lovely beach, the 2 lighthouses and glorious views. (Talking of views be sure to go up to Flagstaff Hill!) The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Our apartment was spacious, comfortable and well equipped with a well appointed bathroom and plentiful supplies of hot water.
Unfortunately when we did our washing on our last night we found that the tumble dryer persistently overheated and cut out even though we did as instructed, left the door of the cupboard it was in open, didn't overload it and cleaned out the filter which seemed to have been overlooked. We reported it the following morning before leaving and trust it was dealt with before the next tenants arrived.We stayed over a weekend and there was some street noise on the Friday and Saturday nights - sounded like drunken revelry - late into the night. These are the only 2 things which stop this place getting an excellent rating but they would not stop us making a return visit - it is certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We spent 10 days at the Wollongong Serviced Apartments while looking for an apartment in Wollongong. They get my highest recommendation. The two-bedroom had plenty of space for our family of four. The rooms are new-looking and spacious as well as well-equipped. Everything was clean and worked perfectly. The staff was amazing from check-in to check out. They helped us with a number of tasks that were well beyond the call of duty, and they performed graciously every time.

The location is good, just a few blocks from everything (especially the beach and Crown Street Mall). There is minimal traffic noise in the morning, since Kiera is a much less travelled street than Corrimal.

While we were staying here friends came to town to visit. They were horrified with their accomodation, and quite jealous of ours. So beware of other options. When we were leaving the desk told me they have regular customers who request specific rooms. That seems to be a prety solid recommendation, too.

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Disliked — 3 blocks to the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My wife and I booked these apartments on the recommendation of a work associate, as we were attending a family birthday party in Wollongong.
The staff at the Wollongong Serviced Apartments were friendly and helpful on arrival, during our stay and our departure.
We were told these apartments are seven years old, but on entering our room it looked almost new. The apartment was bigger than we expected, as we had only booked a one bedroom apartment and had been given a two.
We were impressed with the underground secure car park and the facilities in general. It was a quiet apartment, but we were located at the back of the property.
There is no restaurant on site, but there was a fully equipped kitchen in our apartment. There a plenty of restaurants and cafes within walking distance, some have charge back arrangements and the front desk can arrange for breakfast to be delivered to your room. We paid $180.00 a night, but consider it well worth it.
I would say these are the best apartments we have stayed at in New South Wales and would have no hesitation recommending.

  • Liked — It was a great place to relax
  • Disliked — The fridge could have been turned on before our arrival.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HarvCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.5 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongong Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongong Serviced Apartments

Property: Wollongong Serviced Apartments
Address: 54 Kembla St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wollongong Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wollongong Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing