We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not impressed ... AT ALL.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Motel Bundaberg
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Some of the sites are saying Riveria is a 4 Star hotel, some say 3.
Our stay bearly holding a 2 star.
When we rang up to book the room, we decided on the twin room @ $150 per night as it had the beds we where looking for. (2 queen and 2 single) we were going to get the $135 room but decided to pay extra so we could all enjoy a good sleep in separate beds comfortably. That was probably the best thing about the room. And that it was close to the CBD.
The place was old but had been updated with new carpet and painted walls. The bathroom how ever was old and miserable. It was hot but the shower not was old and it did not push the pressure of the water out properly there was not much space to move and little bench space near sink. And the mirror was in the most awkward place (you had to lean over sink and twist to the right) There was 1 hook to hang a towel.( we had 5 people). There was a hairdryer.
1 queen bed and 1 single bed where in a separate room in which the blind would not shut properly and the security lights from the building next door shone straight in the window, and the hot water system right outside the window echoed through the room all night.
The other queen bed and single bed where in the main part which shared with the rest of the facilities. A table, A bench with kettle (mugs, tea,coffee &sugar) and cupboard which had iron & board & some spare blankets, there was a flat screen TV sitting on a broken TV unit and a microwave that was sitting on top of a bar fridge that buzzed on and off "LOUDLY" continuosly (it sounded like DARTH VARDER sitting in the corner breathing all night, like the gas was going.) and the tiny freezer bit at the top was frosted up bad. There was no toaster, we had to ask for one. And had a lot of trouble trying to connect to the wi-fi service. There was no cover for the car which other rooms had ( yet we paid for the dearest room).
When i handed in key to leave, i spoke to the cleaner as manager was not there. Just i was about to leave she came our and told me the actual OWNER had just turned up if i would like to speak to him. I told him about the problems and he tried to shrug it all off saying that the place is up to the 3 star standard, the hot water systems are new, (government rebated systems) and the fridge was brand new. He said $150 was cheap and looked over and said "oh you would normally pay $15 for extra child." no mate she is 2 years old and she slept with me in queen bed. (as it states free if using bedding supplied) Thats why we got the $150 room not the $135 (we had myself , my grandmother and my 3 children.)
I have stayed in a few motels now, and have never paid $150 for a room. I have paid $130 for a family rooms which the queen bed was in its OWN ROOM, the single beds/ bunks in an other room and it had a full kitchen. with a lounge (stove and all). The sign near the door stating that if you defecate or expectorate on the linen ect you would be charged extra, it should have been in the reception not plastered near the door. It made it feel even more less comfortable.
It was not an enjoyable/ comfortable place to stay at all, we drove a very long way and wanted somewhere quite and comfortable to stay and paid the extra to get the better room and i think we got the worse room in the Motel. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: keep looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We wanted a hotel close to the centre of town as we were seeing a show. This hotel is walking distance from the CBD and very close to restaurants and shops. The manager was very helpful and obviously very proud of his establishment. Being able to park right outside our room was a bonus. The room was very clean, the bed extremely comfortable and there was heaps of hot water and great water pressure. We were very happy with our choice for an overnight stay and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked the Riviera on a recommendation,needing a twin bed room,quiet and close to CBD.
$150 a night seemed a bit expensive,however it was advertised as large 2 bedroom family room.
On the plus side it was large,relatively quiet,had a DVD player and was a short walk to CBD.
However on the negative side!
It's an older style motel,so overpriced,the internal doors would not shut properly and the smoke detector was sitting on the bench by the TV,
The welcome was friendly and helpful,however the sign by the door saying if we defecate or expectorate on the linen or towels,excess charges will apply,was not needed.
We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Located on the main strip of Bundy, close to all the town centre amenities. We paid 150 for a two bedroom suite which was not exactly brand new but none if these places are. However, it was functional, clean, very comfy beds and great shower with hot hot water and good water pressure, which is not always the case. Friendly owner who was very helpful, it's not dirt cheap but priced at market rate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The lady at the reception was very helpful and efficient. I had asked her so many questions about the places we were going to visit and she did her very best to answer all of it. She also helped me get an adaptor to charge my dslr's battery. She fixed the phone line right after I requested for it. The room was big although the way the bathroom doors were placed makes us quite uneasy to move around and the mirror was placed on an awkward wall on the side. Car can be parked right at your doorstep which was good. It's a walking distance to the central CBD and fast food chains. In general, it was worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieRulesCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

So clean and management very friendly. Had a nice relaxed approach and helped out with requests. Pool is at the back of the motel unlike most that are on the front and not private. Would definitely choose to stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I have stayed at The Riviera Motel many times. It's in a great location, close to the centre of town, bottle shops, restaurants, park and convenience store. It is an older-style motel but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The management has always treated us very, very well. There's a pool and restaurant on the premises. There are DVDs in the office that guests can borrow. The only negatives I've found with this motel are: 1) being on a main road, it can be quite noisy and, 2) The motel seems to be very popular with groups (eg sporting groups, hens/bucks night groups), so it can be quite noisy when these guests arrive back late at night. It is a good motel at a reasonable price and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0nna_Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundaberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Bundaberg City Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Oscar Motel Bundaberg
Oscar Motel Bundaberg
#16 of 17 in Bundaberg
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bundaberg Spanish Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Charm City Motel
Charm City Motel
#2 of 17 in Bundaberg
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sugar Country Motor Inn
Sugar Country Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Bundaberg
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnett Riverside Motel
Burnett Riverside Motel
#10 of 17 in Bundaberg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Motel Bundaberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Motel Bundaberg

Address: 238-240 Bourbong St, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range: £65 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riviera Motel Bundaberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Motel is centrally located being a short walk to Bundaberg's CBD, railway station, Friendlies', Bundaberg Base and Mater Hospitals. Les Chefs services the motel for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is cooked onsite and available 7 days a week. There are several other restaurants and takeaway food outlets within a block of the motel. The various rooms include standard queen, twin, executive king rooms, executive suites, family rooms and a self-contained villa. Rooms can accommodate from 1 to 7 guests at a reasonable cost. All rooms are non-smoking and contain a TV, microwave, fridge, hairdryers, an iron and ironing board. Some rooms include a sink, toasters, crockery and cutlery. A saltwater pool, barbeque area and laundry are available for guests' use. Riviera Motel management want their guests to feel at home and have a comfortable stay in Bundaberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Riviera Motel Bundaberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing