We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burnett Riverside Motel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the way home from our holidays. It looked to be the most modern motel in Bundaberg, but website photos can be deceiving.

Yes you do get a view of the river if you crick your neck around the awful view of the tin roof above the dining area. The room smelt of mould and that usual motel deodorant masking it.

The rooms were dated, the bed uncomfortable, a lamp shade did not have a shade installed and you can see into the bathroom from the bedroom, not much good if you are sharing a room with someone other than your spouse.

Definitely not worth $150 a night. We spent $10 more and got a 5 star room at Peppers Resort on the Gold Coast, 27 floors up the previous night.

We were also fortunate to share the night with a bunch of teenagers on tour who decided that running down the hall of the floor we were on and slamming doors most of the evening and early morning would have been enjoyed by other adult guests.

Worst night sleep I have ever had and will not return to this motel ever again.

Stay away.

Room Tip: There are far better motels located on the approaches from Childers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed here for one night while in Bundaberg. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

I had the riverside queen spa room on the first floor. The queen bed had an old, worn down low density foam mattress. It was horrible.

I feel that the room was over priced. At $175 for one night in a very small room with outdated furnishings.

The view was good. I was on level 1, I'm sure the view would be amazing from the higher levels.

The room was incredibly clean. The staff member upon check in and out was very polite and helpful. No dramas.

Next time in Bundaberg, I will try another hotel/motel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missholliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed for two nights in a two-level double room facing the side of the hotel. This gave me a partial view of the river, which is very scenic. The hotel is between a fairly busy road and the river, so rooms directly overlooking the river would be the best by far. The road was quite busy with heavy traffic early in the morning. The hotel is quite new, and I would describe it as an upmarket motel. Limited service eg restricted Reception hours. Rooms are very clean and functional - mine had a kitchenette with hob and microwave, but no washing machine. The bathroom (upper level) was small, with a shower over a corner spa bath, but was very clean. Towels smallish and rough. The shampoo etc were in bulk bottles attached to the wall. The only place I could find to plug in the iron was in the bathroom - getting the ironing board in there was a bit of a squash!

However, the memory foam mattress was comfortable and I slept very well in spite of the usual polyester fill pillows.

Breakfast was at the hotel's cafe where service was friendly but very slow. Allow an extra 30 minutes if your schedule is tight, as all hot breakfasts are cooked to order.

Not cheap at $195 a night, but probably a significantly higher standard than a cheaper run-of-the-mill motel.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river. Beautiful view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very basic hotel room. The bathroom is inadequate. The price is expensive. Best part of this hotel was the view of the river!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parakerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The location is great and it was very clean. The beds and pillows were very ordinary considering we had paid $195.00 for one night. It was like sleeping on concrete and would definitely recommend bringing your own pillow.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Very clean and excellent location. However very loud reverse cycle units made the whole room shake. A bit pricey for what it is. Would stay again if there was no where else

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Room was clean...view of the river was beautiful and the birds were a plenty to watch. Kitchenette cleaned every day. Beds comfy and clean, the couch not so much. A 5 minute walk to several restaurants which is why we chose this hotel. Prices were on the higher side, but still not too much. Enclosed parking was a +. We would stay again if back in town. Cheers!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundaberg hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Bundaberg City Motor Inn
1.9 mi away
Country Comfort Bundaberg
Country Comfort Bundaberg
#15 of 17 in Bundaberg
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bundaberg Spanish Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Mirasol Motor Inn
Villa Mirasol Motor Inn
#4 of 17 in Bundaberg
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Motel Bundaberg
Riviera Motel Bundaberg
#10 of 17 in Bundaberg
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Country Motor Inn
Sugar Country Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Bundaberg
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnett Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnett Riverside Motel

Address: 7 Quay St, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Burnett Riverside)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range: £72 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnett Riverside Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Burnett Riverside Motel. Located in the heart of the Central Business District, The Burnett Riverside Motel is just minutes walk from the major shopping and commercial districts and on the banks of the tranquil Burnett River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burnett Riverside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnett Riverside Hotel Bundaberg
Quality Inn Bundaberg
Quality Hotel Bundaberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing