We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Arrogant Staff..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandras on Takalvan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexandras on Takalvan
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Arrogant Staff..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked and paid online, got there to be told we needed a credit card for a $200 deposit which I found unusual for what the place was, we then asked for our money back to be told it would take upto a week to recieve it back in our account.. And having 2 small children and travelling all day we did not want to drive around to look for another place to stay.Have stayed in 5 star resorts and never had to pay a deposit as well as paying for accommodation. Staff were arrogant and unfriendly. Will not go back..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tmara85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    18
    4
    13
See reviews for
23
31
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed with service, room and location. Booked online and the difference between being there and the advertised description was stark. The room was depressingly dark, on arrival was told there is no hot breakfast served on Saturday morning, no extra pillows or blanket, not sure how old the furniture, fittings and carpet are. Oh and take aero guard because the room was full of Mosquitos. They even tried to charge for late check out despite advertising that n/c later check out is available if arranged prior. Agree with other reviewers, location is terrible and don't waste your time trying to have a 'reasonable' discussion with whoever is it sitting behind reception.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob Kat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bundaberg hotels

london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay here. We were very warmly welcomed by Jan and another gentleman upon our arrival and were most helpful in recommending places to visit and to dine. We did everything they recommended and were not disappointed at all.
We stayed In a spa suite and it was great to come back and unwind in the huge bath. The bed was king size, very comfortable and the linen was clean and crisp. It wasn't luxury but you get what you pay for, and all in all it was perfect for our stay. I would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending to anyone else.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bigstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Like many towns and cities with long main streets, Bundaberg's Takalvan Street presents problems for the traveller. If you're able to Google Streetview then we'd suggest you do so. Alexandras is a fair way out of the CBD and so walking anywhere is not really an option.

The major drawback is that it is a fairly old motel complex and needs a refurbishment. We had a room with a spa - which was very good after a long day's travel - but this seemed to be the only recent work. One of the bedside lights didn't work and the feeling was of a place nearing the end of its life. Particularly annoying was the fact that graffiti on the back of the door (yes, we do know who Guy Sebastian us) seems to have been retained only because it was done by a minor celebrity - but what's the point?

Bed was okay. Air con was ok. Bathroom had an odd smell of stale water.

The restaurant is closed Sundays and so we couldn't comment on the food as we left early the next morning.

We're sure that there are better places in the area and closer to the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Rooms where dirty carpet was the worst I've seen air con was noisy and no tea and only two coffee and two dirty cups and had old milk in the fridge that was out of date. The complex was also dirty with palm tree leaves plied up out the back and the lawns had not been mowed. There was terrible smell coming up through the bathroom. When I had mad a complaint the manager she said it has been like it cense she had started there and was waiting for head office to fix the problem. The bathroom was also very dirty with no shampoo in the dispenser and when I told the cleaners they said they where under pressure to clean the rooms as quick as possible and some times miss stuff. the next day the cleaners left dirty towels in the room and still no shampoo. The manager did not know of local area as they where new to town and showed no care to help. I will not be staying there again with my family as we are had previses stayed there and the new managers where no help at all and did not care about our complaints. The new managers showed customer service at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tribe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We could not fault this motel .... Our room was spotless .... Bed was comfy and had lovely crisp white white bed linen, additional pillows and blanket provided in wardrobe. Loved the shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispensers in the shower and hand wash, shaving cream and body lotion dispensers near the basin. An extensive breakfast and dinner menu is available and evening meals can be delivered to your room .. I recommend the satay chicken skewers on jasmine rice .... Yummy! Every member do staff was friendly and obliging from front reception to the cleaning girls ... To some I guess the fixtures and fittings may be a little out dated - however we loved the 'retro' feel ... One of the friendliest places we have stayed ...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valsie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Childers, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had a spa unit which was very comfortable and clean and was in a great location for sight seeing .The front desk staff were very helpful with our needs. The bed was so big it was great .
The breakfast was great my husband had rissoles chips eggs and has not stopped talking about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundaberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Acacia Motor Inn
Acacia Motor Inn
#6 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charm City Motel
Charm City Motel
#3 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bundaberg Spanish Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Park Motor Inn
Alexandra Park Motor Inn
#9 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Villa Motor Inn
Coral Villa Motor Inn
#4 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Gardens Motor Inn
Tropical Gardens Motor Inn
#10 of 17 in Bundaberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandras on Takalvan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandras on Takalvan

Property: Alexandras on Takalvan
Address: 11 Takalvan St, Bundaberg, Queensland 4670, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bundaberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bundaberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexandras on Takalvan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandras on Takalvan is under new management. We offer affordable accommodation and friendly service. We are conveniently located just outside of the CBD, on the main street. The property is 300 metres walk to the Bundaberg Base and Mater Hospitals and local sporting grounds. It is the ideal place for business and leisure travellers or families and groups. The property has a range of accommodation including Standard Rooms, Spa Rooms and Family Rooms. The property offers an onsite restaurant, room service, FREE WI-FI in all rooms and a range of Foxtel channels. There is ample undercover car parking and additional parking for large vehicles and trailers. Please note, the restaurant is currently open for dinner Monday to Thursday with room service also available on these days. Room service breakfast is available 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alexandras on Takalvan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bundaberg
Bundaberg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing