We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely architecture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bundaberg CBD

Bundaberg CBD
Ranked #9 of 40 things to do in Bundaberg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Culburra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We did a day trip to Bundaberg from Hervey Bay. I had been once before a few years ago, but it was a first time for my partner. The architecture, particularly the lovely old pubs with their iron lace balconies and the public buildings (the post office is spectacular) are well worth a leisurely walk around the CBD. Parking is a bit hectic; we witnessed a near punch-up between a parking officer and a driver who ran out of a pub after seeing his car (illegally parked) being booked. A bit of street theatre!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    72
    25
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coogee WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great care taken with the Gardens, green and shady.. Great little shops for gifts, clothing and a sense of the town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lejaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good place for Backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Alright, so I speak from the perspective of a Backpacker.... Bundaberg is the place to be if you'd like to work in the farming industry. However, be-careful... Why? Because you must go during the right season and contact the Backpackers in advance as many people would like to take advantage of the opportunity to earn money whilst here. The bad experience we had were at 'Federal Backpackers' and we had a huge bedbug problem. However, on the positive side we met great people there and enjoyed working closely with the local farmers. From a tourists perspective you can visit the Aviation museum, the Bundbaerg Rum & soft drinks factory too! Bundaberg has a tropical climate so be sure to enjoy the public swimming pool (that's outside). Also, there are many in independent restaurants such as Asian, Japanese and Italianand also a choice of supermarkets, hair dressers, clothe shops, newsagents and even a cinema. You can commute easy as there is an airport, train station and a bus station (great place to stay for the night as there are buses to Brisbane and Cairns). If you'd like to ask any other questions regarding Bundaberg. Please don't hesitate to message me as I lived there for 5 months and would be happy to use my experience to help if I can.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Typical Queensland city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A small Cairns but not nearly as nice, very ordinary shops mostly cheap, a couple of bigger shopping centres that are OK.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickyG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The town centre is clean, busy and has everything you'd ever need, shopping centres, cafés, banks, auto accessories etc etc. plenty of parking available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bundaberg CBD also viewed

Bundaberg, Queensland
 
Bundaberg, Queensland
 

Been to Bundaberg CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing