We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What More Would You Want From A Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolangatta Sands Backpackers
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What More Would You Want From A Backpackers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The Hostel is cheap and cheerful in an excellent location with friendly and very helpful staff. The rooms need a bit of sprucing up but it is a backpackers hostel and "you gets what you pay for". The guests are not noisy but unfortunately some of the roof-based equipment is quite obtrusive when you want a quiet early night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
10
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hostel was great, had no problems at all. Rooms were fine, had lockers with power points inside which was great for charging valuables securely. Airport pickup was also a plus! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecC489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed in this hostel in Sept 2012 during a university break with friends. Although we only stayed here overnight, I thought the concept was really cool. The rooms opened out onto the balcony where people could easily chill and was a good way to meet people. The bar downstairs appeared more like a local watering hole, so it didn't appear like a normal backpackers bar.

I could sympathize with other reviewers regarding staff. But I guess this is the norm for hostels in Australia, which tend to be staffed by backpackers themselves which don't have too much interest in delivering outstanding service. But nonetheless I can't complain with the service we received.

The bathrooms were clean and great, in regards to privacy etc. I would return if ever passing through Coolangatta again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic, australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

3 middle aged Aussie women enjoyed staying at the Sands,cheap with air con in all rooms with clean fresh linen clean kitchen clean showers and toilets. Friendly staff.Two complaints there was dust on the floor in our room and there wasnt a battery in the smoke alarm.I the pub down stairs top $10 meals .Very close to the excellent beach and supermarket coffee shops and shopping in general.Will stay again for sure

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Unlike previous comments, we found staff & fellow stayers friendly. You get what you pay for...a bed, a shower , toilet and shared kitchen..!!!
On the down side for us, was a fire alarm without a battery.. Was going to be fixed but wasnt. A bit rowdy, but it was the Cooly weekend. Unfortunately, there was a horrible smell in the toilets, but it was in the street behind the hostel too, so we think a major problem in the area.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koallahid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Started with rude staff, young lady on the desk doesnt speak, just rolls her eyes when I had to see her about room keys that didnt work, cleaners left our door open etc. I would have been quite happy to have an uneventful stay and not have to bother her but what can you do when locked out of your own room. Unfortunately the only place in town that had room available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coolangatta hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

This hostel is 2 minutes from the beach and right on the shopping and food strip!

The rooms are directly above a bar but it is surprisingly quiet upstairs. We were in on a Saturday and had no problems with noise.

The room itself was small and clasterphobic but we were out on the town most of the time anyway.

We got the service we asked for and the receptionists were pretty polite about our questions.

We got a double private room and the bed was just two bunkbeds pushed together. The top bunk was divided by security bars so it was kind of pushing it with the 'double' room title. Also, one of the upper bunkbeds had an unflattering yellow stain. The linens we were provided were freshly cleaned and folded for our use however.

My travel companion saw a cockroach during a midnight bathroom trip. Though it was a small baby, presumably its family is nearby.

Overall, it was acceptable for the use we gave it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresh_Heir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.6 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
#6 of 12 in Tweed Heads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Komune Resort
Komune Resort
#20 of 26 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Coolangatta
The Sebel Coolangatta
#6 of 26 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coolangatta / Kirra Beach YHA
0.3 mi away
Coolangatta Ocean View Motel
Coolangatta Ocean View Motel
#12 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolangatta Sands Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolangatta Sands Backpackers

Property: Coolangatta Sands Backpackers
Address: Cnr Griffith & McLean St, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia (Formerly Coolangatta Sands Hostel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coolangatta Sands Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the closest hostel on the Gold Coast to the beach. Our new hostel boasts beautiful new facilities, a backpacker's night club, lounge bar, top quality restaurant and sports bar. It is a perfect hostel for anyone keen to chill out, surf, take on the beautiful beaches of Coolangatta, Wine & Dine in some of the leading restaurants on the Gold Coast or just enjoy the great view of Kirra Point whilst relaxing on the day beds upstairs on the hostel balcony. Don't wait!! Book now!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coolangatta Sands Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolangatta Sands Backpackers Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing