We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific view, Great apartments & Excellent managers”
Review of Rainbow Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coolangatta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at Rainbow Place Apartments on a few occasions over the past 6 or 7 years. Initially I stayed at another apartment complex - I now wouldn't stay anywhere but Rainbow Place Apartments.
The apartments are within easy walking distance of the town centre, shops, Surf and RSL clubs, restaurants, public transport, shopping mall, supermarkets and across the road from the beach!
We now own a business on the Gold Coast and have accommodated International/Overseas business clients at Rainbow Place Apartments. One told us that despite staying in thousands of apartments while travelling all over the world as a requirement of his job, overall (considering close proximity to the city centre, view and the apartments etc.), he rates Rainbow Place Apartments as one of the best he has ever stayed at..! It doesn't get much better than that!!!
The managers Vicky & Marg are very hospitable and very experienced. The rooms are large, clean and well fitted out for a short or long stay. They get a huge amount of return custom and if there is any downside, it is that it is sometimes difficult to get in due to its popularity!

Room Tip: Even the ground floor has ocean views! They have two standards of apartments - some are 'recen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MijE14U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Hi Folks, thank you for such a rave review. Rainbow Bay is a very special destination with many of our guests coming back year after year to stay with us at Rainbow Place Apartments. Over the years we have renovated all of our holiday apartments boasting some the best in Rainbow Bay Coolangatta. We hope to see you back with us again soon. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have stayed here many times over the past 6 year period. Beautifully positioned right across the road from Rainbow Bay, which is a great beach for smaller children, walking distance to shops but also very private. We love this place as it is not overly commercialised but still convienent to everything. The last time we stayed in March 2010 they were renovating apartments which some did need updating. Also if you have small children you can get gates from the office to block them from the verandah. The only negative while we were there was there were no flyscreens so it was a bit scary with kids to have the windows open. (may have changed since we were there in 2010)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllyT130672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Hi AllyT, Thank you for your positive review. Yes Rainbow Bay is becoming more and more popular for holiday makers for it's locality to restaurants, cafes, shopping centres, cinemas etc. You simply park the car and walk everywhere. It is a quiet location that offers a lot for people of all ages, whether you're 90 or a baby in arms, with it's pristine and safe beach with no rips or sweeps and is patrolled 365 days a year and a park in front of the building. With reference to fly screens, no high rise buildings have them because of OH&S regulations and the fact that they are not safe, as they will not support a persons weight. We are in the process of installing window locks so that window can be open but locked in place with a small opening for added safety. Hope to see you again sometime. All the best Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Rainbow Beach is perfectly positioned for beach and shops and has all things that make for a great holiday by the sea. I stayed in late spring last year but, before I left, booked a further 3 weeks for mid-winter this year. As the beach is north-facing, I could not imagine a better place to catch the winter sun to escape the southern winter chills. Suitable for all holidaying families, couples or friends. The managers were the most efficient and helpful in my years of experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landerlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Hi Lorna, Thank you for spending the time to write a review for your favourite place (Rainbow Place Apartments) in Rainbow Bay. We agree that this is a great spot for escaping the winter chills. It is difficult to find a holiday destination that would rival Rainbow Bay with it's pristine beach and locality to the clubs, restaurants, shopping centres, cinemas etc. We have a lot of repeat guests like yourself that have been coming for many years and just keep coming back. It has a lot to do with the fact that all our apartments have been renovated with comfortable furnishings and modern inclusions. We work with the owners to ensure their apartment is kept up to date. We look forward to seeing you later in the year. All the best Mark & Vick Gregory Resident Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed with our extended family, the heated pool in winter was a hit with the kids along with the adventure playground just outside on the beach front, great for skate boards. The apartments clean, the managers were great and our holiday was relaxing and enjoyed by all. Coolangatta and Rainbow Bay has all we needed, No theme parks for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hi Joanna, thankyou for your great review of Rainbow Place apartments and that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Bring more of your family and friends next time. Thanks again. Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I absolutely love this place. I stay here with the family for two weeks each summer and hope to do so forever. Rainbow Place is one of only 3 apartment blocks right across from the beach and has everything you could want included decent sized, well positioned pool, tennis court etc. Mark and Vicki run a type ship and treat regulars like family members. The nearby Rainbow Bay surf club does a great meal and pours an ice cold beer.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thebigdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thankyou for for your review. We certainly appreciate the fact that a lot of our guests just love coming back to Rainbow Place for their holiday. We do feel like family with our guests as we have known them for many years albeit in a lot of cases we only see them once a year. It just feels like you were just here a week ago. We pick up where we left off talking about work and family and what's been happening. Thankyou for keeping Rainbow Place Apartments and Rainbow Bay as your special place in paradise. Have a great year. All the best from Mark & Vicky Gregory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is the second time we have been at this apartment block. All apartments face rainbow bay which is one of the best surfing beaches in the world. It's also good for sun baking and playing with the kids.

Why did we come back?
1. Close to the beach and one of the best positions in Rainbow Bay
2. Close to the surf
3. A view to die for (from any level of apartment)
4. Undercover security parking so once you get there you don't have to worry about finding an illusive hard to find park at the beach
5. Undercover security surfboard lockers
6. Outside security key locker so you can go to the beach or go surfing without the problem of losing your keys! Just come back, enter your code and pick up your key.
7. A private pool if you get tired of the beach
8. A private BBQ if you want to invite friends
9. plenty of things to do with the kids whether it be on the beach, in the pool, on the half court tennis net, or around Coolangatta and surrounds.
10. Did I say views to die for!
11. Did I say you were so close to the beach you could throw a tennis ball and hit the sand.

All apartments are two bedroom and as they are independently owned all have differing stages of renovation and taste so some you might like and some you might thing are a little dated. The more renovated ones are more pricy so take your pick on what your budget is. Remember, the cheaper ones are not as modern or renovated. We got a mid price level room which had renovated bathrooms but an older style kitchen and living areas. They are fully self contained and have fully kitted kitchen, Laundry and plenty of storage for your clothes. Some are air-conditioned and others just fans so be careful to ask for what you need. We were there in Summer and the fans were fine but we were also on the eastern side which is shaded in the afternoon. Last time we stayed on the western side and it had air-conditioning to keep you cool. A good question to ask when you book.

The in-house managers are very sharp, slick and professional at all they do. They run the place like clockwork and keep a tight ship. This is good as it keep everything under control. They are also quick to fix things and it is rare for things to be out of place. We had a blocked bathroom sink and they repaired it within a few hours. Very slick and sharp. Good to get to know as well.

We were very happy with our stay here. We always want to stay longer but as we don't have unlimited annual leave, had to return home all too quickly.

I just love having coffee and breakfast on the balcony watching the surf

I love having afternoon drinks on the balcony and watching the world go by

I'll be back. Just make sure you book well ahead because this place has a very high booking rate and typically the holiday periods are booked out a year in advance. Too late and you will have fewer choices on where you can stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the beach and sea. The main differences are in the age and quality of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thankyou for your tremendous review of our property. It is obvious from your comments that you are Rainbow Bay convert. We are grateful that you have chosen Rainbow Place Apartments as your holiday destination. Since we have taken over the business 5 years ago we have worked very hard with our owners in renovating and modernising their apartments. We are constantly working ti provide the holiday makers with a modern and comfortable apartment.

During 2012 we will be updating and renovating a couple of other apartments with a feshen up of apartments that were renovated a few years ago, with a repaint, furniture etc The building will also be having work done on this year with painting, tennis court fence replaced. We are planning to renovate our lifts in the next year or two. Once again thankyou for your positive review and we will see you next time. Tell you friends about us too. All the Best from Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed in unit number one which is just a walk of 15 seconds to the beach. Ground floor so no need for lift etc to walk back to your own apartment.
Will definitely be returning.
Heaps of amenities and everything you can need in walking distance.
Try it and you will love it too i'm sure!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haypitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowPlace, Manager at Rainbow Place, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thankyou for your favourable comment.. We have just 2 one bedroom apartments on the ground floor. They are popular with people who don't like heights and travelling in lifts. We'll see you next time. Mark & Vicky Gregory Resident Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.5 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Bay Resort
Rainbow Bay Resort
#15 of 27 in Coolangatta
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebel Coolangatta
The Sebel Coolangatta
#6 of 27 in Coolangatta
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Place

Address: Rainbow Place 180 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Place is situated on the beach in Rainbow Bay Coolangatta on the Gold Coast. All fully self contained apartments have full ocean views and are walking distance to clubs, restaurants and shopping centres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Place Coolangatta, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing