We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recommend”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I was on the Gold Coast for business and decided to put on a few extra days of R & R with my wife and we picked up a very good rate of $99 a night for a one bedroom apartment.
Great location in the centre of Coolangatta, walking distance of all you need – beach, restaurants, cafes, pubs and club. For those not familiar with Coolangatta it still remains a bit of small town feel and whist approaching, it has not reached the depths of over development that has occurred in Surfers Paradise.
The apartment was reasonably spacious with a large balcony. Although we did not use them, it is equipped with microwave, cooktop, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Also well provided for with crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils.
The pool and surrounding area is very nice and beach is across the road.
If I had to be negative I would say it is looking a little tied in some areas but this not unusual in the high traffic areas of the Gold Coast.
Highly recommend at the right price.
Also if you are looking for good home style food (breakfast or lunch) at very reasonable prices, across the road from the Calypso is the Sweet Talk Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
All of the Staff and Management would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor regarding Oaks Calypso Plaza.
We were happy to hear you found our Resort pleasant during your recent stay with your family. Coolangatta is a perfect family location and our beautiful pool and surrounding gardens offer hours of enjoyment for all ages.
We do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    230
    134
    41
    30
See reviews for
203
221
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two young children and it was great. We arrived early at 9am and asked if we could store our luggage till our room was available later, Alex did one step better and changed our room to one that was ready then and there. The rooms had everything a family could need eg laundry and full kitchen facilities. The pool and slides were awesome and kids loved every minute we stayed there. The kids are already asking when we are going back again. No issues with carparking with a large carpark underneath the resort with was easily accessed with a large rental car. Only one complaint during our stay, it wasn't long enough. I cannot remember the name of the lovely lady at the front desk but Molly thought you were very nice and keeps asking if you will still have the decoration she made you. It's customer service that defines a resort and its what you remember and we will be back shortly.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jkstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
All of the staff and Management woudl like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us. We were so happy to hear both you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Calypso Plaza Resort, I will also pass on your comments to Aleks and Kate on reception, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Spent 3nights at the Calypso and found the staff to be very helpful far beyond our expectations. The one bedroom had a great layout and was clean. No views however great facilities and just across the road from the beach. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
All of the staff and Management would like to thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor we were thrilled to hear yiou enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks due to work commitments in a 1 bedroom apartment.

The resort itself is in a nice spot, with coolangatta beach just over the road.

As with a lot of properties on the Gold Coast, the Calypso is starting to show its age a little, although I hear they are renovating some of the rooms.

Don't plan to do too much cooking as the two plate cooktop and the provided pot and pan are tiny!

The reception staff are great and helped us out of a couple of tricky spots, the reception area is manned 24/7.

Not a bad place to stay up you can definitely do better around Coolangatta

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bass_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding Calypso Plaza Resort. We will be going through a refurbishment of our units in the near future and feed back is welcome to help us improve our rooms and surroundings at all times. I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding the Front Office Staff and I will definitly pass them on to all staff concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Just a really good place to stay. The calypso staff is beyond reproach, friendly and very helpful. The hotelis within minutes walking distance to everything you could do in Coolangetta.
One small complaint, if you're a young adult or traveling solo, beware, there is kids here everywhere, it is a family res
Ort

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you Brad for taking the time to right a review on Trip Advisor on our Resort in Coolangatta, I would also like to thank you for your praise of the Front Office staff. We would love to welcome you back to Oaks Calypso Plaza in the near future where I am sure your stay will be a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I arrived a couple hours before check in and the staff were nice enough to find me a clean room as soon as possible. They put my bags in a locked area and by the time I had come back from a quick wak over to the beach a room was ready.

The room itself was amazing, very clean and it was massive. There was a kitchen area, fridge, dishwasher, microwave. A couch and table with large TV in the room leading to the balcony. The bed was in a seperate area which can be closed off. The bed was clean and comfy. The bathroom was clean and large and also had its on washing machine and drier!

I didnt make use of the pool as I spent most of my time surfing or at the beach but they looked good.

There are a few dining options nearby and shopping and other stuff. A mall with Coles and Woolies and other shops is about a 10 minute walk over to Twead Heads.

The hotel was about a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and costed about $20.

There is no free WiFi but a number of over priced services available to purchase.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
All of us at Calypso Plaza would like to thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us. We are glad that we were able to check you in as early as possible which in turn seems to have allowed you to enjoy our fabulous beach across the road, we have several famous surf beaches loacted in this area which allows our guests to enjoy a surfing holiday. I hope that we can welcome you back from New Zealand again to holiday with us at Calypso Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here in January with our 4 and 6 year old in a 1 bedroom apartment. We felt this was certainly large enough and the kids had the pull out sofa and tv so were very happy!!

The pool area is amazing. We have stayed in many resorts and this is one of the best. Cocktails by the pool were lovely and the pool was perfect for small children.

We were in an apartment without a pool view which we secured very cheaply. Next time I will pay the extra to get a pool view, only because it was a fair walk to the pool but a lovely room anyway.

Staff were amazing and so happy. The pool attendants need special mention offering help and noodles to the kids in the pool. One guy almost jumped in when he thought a child was struggling, so very impressive.

Also across the road is a great beach and many fantastic restaurants and shops are in waking distance.

We will be back and have recommended this to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a pool view room, it is worth it. A one bedroom apartment is sufficient with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pchrostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCalypso, Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and the special mention to the pool attendant on duty, the pool at Calypso is a wonderful play ground for yound and old guests at our Resort.
As you mentioned the pool rooms are an easy access to this area and some have perfect views as well.
We would love to have you return to Calypso and enjoy another family holiday with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.0 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,076 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
11.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Property: Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Address: 99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort Coolangatta, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing