We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reflection on the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Eltham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is the perfect location with amazing 180 degree views. The apartment is gorgeous with everything you want for a luxurious holiday. The balcony is delightful to sit on and is sheltered from the on-shore spring winds.

Only criticism is the pool and spa area. It's beside the building and in between Reflections Tower 2 and is quite simply a wind tunnel. The designer didn't have a lot of forethought here - it should have been at the front of the building. If it's a windy beach day and you can't spend time on the beach, don't count on the pool and spa area, you will need to find something else to do.

Otherwise absolutely gorgeous!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ErikaandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    54
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
136
59
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormeau, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Perfect location, definitely the best location for a family holiday on the Gold Coast. Our room was fantastic, great pool and staff we're very polite and helpful. Looking forward to our next holiday at Reflections on the Sea. Kenny family

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed @ Reflections on the sea for 3 nights. Unbeatable deal with booking.com. Arrived after hours and the key was waiting.
Unit 1403 is stunning. Beach views form the bath and main bedroom are amazing. Beach views from 2nd shower and bedroom are just as good.
Luxury appliances, stone bench tops and quality furnishing throughout.
A great central location, great choice of shops and restaraunts to suit most people.
Wind Tunnel effect mentioned by another review is accurate and is especially bad if the outside door is not closed properly.
The only negative I have is the underground car park for our unit was dreadful. There was a constant smell of off rubbish (seafood?) pervading the carpark area which was enough to induce dry retching.
Other than that...a perfect stay.....

Room Tip: room 1403 was divine :) Sunny, Quiet with amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We rented a 3 bdr apartment in the school holidays. What a disappointment our room was. For the price we paid I'd expect it to be quite nice, it was not. I have stayed at the Bellagio for cheaper than the price of this room. To the owners of unit 505 , spend some money on your unit. The unit is tired and dirty. All of your beds need to be replaced. The bed in the main room is peeling, how revolting. The bedding is old and musty. The unit is desperate for a paint job and the bathrooms are full of mould and so are the ceilings in the unit. My kids were sleeping with what they thought was a blanket but it was a mattress protector. Yuk.. It infuriates me to pay top price for a room that is below standard. It was pointless to complain as the they were fully booked. Also the smoke coming from the room next door was disgusting. People who smokes inside anymore!!! To the middle age blonde lady on the front desk be friendly and smile, thats normally what most people do when you walk into a foyer. Its called customer service. Now I will say we had friends staying in another unit and theres was lovely also we had friends staying in tower two, their unit was also nice. I think as a rule all owners should be made to spruce up there unit after 10 years.

Room Tip: My advice is ask if the rooms are well kept. If you are given room 505 ask for your money back. Loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This place is perfect. I called up for a last minute deal for two nights and got a great rate because the AC wasn't working. No issue for us. Travelling with young kids I wanted a clean, safe, newish aprtmt. Loved the views from the balcony, bedroom and second bedroom. You can even watch the waves while showering in the second bathroom!!! Luxury appliances, stone benchtops, great showers too. The only reason it didn't give this place 100% was that the taps on the b/room basins splashed water everywhere, the carpet in this apartment wasn't overly clean (bubs clothing grubby from crawling on carpet- but this can happen when carpets are cleaned a lot, plus expected high traffic use) and the gorgeous roller blinds on the windows let the morning sun in early! Just exercise caution with small kids and elderly when windy when trying to open/close door. There is a wind tunnel effect and the door slams shut with great force. There is a warning on the door about this. Best location, shops, great seafood shop and other shops underneath building. Highly recommend
these apartments if you have high standards. I just hope people respect these apartments and don't trash them so they stay the same when we next return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetsaltyspicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Second stay here - 1st was amazing. Unfortunately our apartment was much lower down this time (8th floor) and the street noise was an issue. Beds in this apartment not as comfy - distinct "lump" in centre of my side of bed made for discomfort. This apartment also in need of a thorough "spring clean" - we both have short hair but had long, dark hairs on blankets etc. Staff still lovely & watching whales from the balcony is rather special but may try another place next visit for a comparison.

Room Tip: Ask for a high apartment AWAY from lifts - ding, ding, ding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gissymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and my sisters family loved staying here. It was a lovely week and we would like to come back... However, some small changes are needed.

1. Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment - LOVELY! Big spacious, loved the kitchen and eating area, loved the TV in all rooms and nice big one in lounge. Also loved that I could plug my hard drive straight in and access all the kids movies easily.

2. The spa was phenomenal and very comfortable

3. The view was gorgeous - corner apartment, overlooking both beach, point danger and Twin Towns. I don't usually care much about the view, however being on holidays rather than working for once, it was a lovely sight each morning.

4. So very very convenient. Shops and restaurants everywhere, walking distance to at least 15 GOOD restaurants and probably 10 or more average ones, cinemas, bars, pubs, convenience stores, loads of massage options and across the road from the QLD/NSW border which was cool.

5. Executive lounge rarely used (whilst I was there) and was good to go and chill out and have a drink and play some pool.

The disappointing

1. Heated pool - heat pump broke down the day before we arrived. Was broken the whole time and this was a significant part of why we booked - winter, good prices, not swimming in ocean much, but a heated pool = win! Understand these things happen, and of course, once fixed will consider returning :) (Spa heating was working and it was lovely, but add a couple of kids in there and gets less fun!)

2. Door locks - it appears that dodgy brother inc. have fit all the room door locks - ours popped into its cavity a few times and had to be dug out by the key and every room on the 9th floor looked like it had the same issues.

3. 3 bedroom apartment - no lock on main room? :S Found this VERY surprising. Recognize that a 1 bed apartment, shouldn't be needed. But a 3 bedroom? Obviously going to be using all rooms or why book so large. So with multiple adults and children, it makes sense that the main room have something, even a small latch of sorts... To have kids opening the sliding doors every morning to the rest of the group was a pain.

3a - The above continues with the shower/bathroom combination - even if the outer door couldn't be locked, you would think the bathroom could be, and yes, the door can. But NOT the 4 sliding glass panels looking into the bathroom over the top of the spa. Definitely a nice touch, but would make more sense with a latch on the spa side.

4 - Cobwebs all over the balcony. Not something I expect to be cleaned every time. But made it look like it had had no attention for a few weeks.

Definitely want to come back, but some small changes need to be made.

BIG props on included internet - didn't use it the whole time (shows how much fun I was having! lol) but beats the hell out of paying $30 a day at Hilton....

Room Tip: Corner Apartment - we were in 905 and it was fantastic. The bin collection can be loud as people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.9 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reflection Tower Two
Reflection Tower Two
#2 of 27 in Coolangatta
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflection on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflection on the Sea

Property: Reflection on the Sea
Address: 120 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reflection on the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflection on the Sea offers contemporary 1, 2 and 3 bedroom holiday apartments with a magnificent location directly opposite one of the Gold Coast's most popular family beaches. Enjoy the panoramic views and esplanade location. Not only will you find pristine beaches and the Tweed Coast at your door, you will also find that Reflection on the Sea features a variety of alfresco dining options and a desirable retail precinct on the ground floor. Reflection on the Sea is undoubtedly the #1 Coolangatta accommodation choice for your Gold Coast holiday. The luxury apartments provide guests with breathtaking ocean views from large private balconies. The state of the art guest facilities include a heated lap pool & spa, theatre, fitness room and secure undercover car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reflection on the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reflection On The Sea Hotel Coolangatta
Reflection On The Sea Coolangatta, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing