We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree with other positive comments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gladstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We (retired couple) needed a basic o/nighter and decided to try Rollo Street based on positive feedback here. We agree: House is airy fresh and clean. Our lower level twin room was quite narrow but well ventilated . Plenty cupboard space. Hubby is a big fellow and missed his deep mattress but we both slept well. Fairly steep steps lead upstairs – we used the bannister ‘spokes’ for grips as both of us have dickey feet. Modern, light airy kitchen upstairs; well organised and stocked with practical Ikea crockery (nothing chipped). Drawer full of clean tea towels. I appreciated condiments from the general-use cupboard. We had tea on the large patio and breakfast inside. Range of books in small sitting area. Light placement in bedroom not good for serious night reading as one might expect: best to take a non-intrusive personal reading light. Still a bit chilly at night so did not bother with the pool which at rear of property. Downstairs bathroom /laundry arrangement typical of older ‘Queenslander’. Water hot. Decent thick towels. Place looked well maintained and well managed, with the usual 'No Smoking Inside' policy, so one felt comfortable regarding safety. Noticed cycles and helmets downstairs. Street parking for car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schafer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstoneBackpackers, Owner at Gladstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

What a thorough review and thank you. Happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. These reviews tell us that we are doing our jobs right. Happy Travels Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I've just spent three nights here with my sister and my eight year old niece when we were in Gladstone for a wedding. Upon making bookings for this trip I found accomodation in Gladstone very difficult to find and very expensive. I've never stayed in a backpackers before and was apprehensive about staying there with my young niece, but we couldn't have chosen a better place. It is a great family-run hostel, with a friendly vibe and spotlessly clean facilities. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hostel - thankyou for a great stay :-)

Room Tip: I had a front room which had a bit of traffic noise through the front door, but nothing beyond what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstoneBackpackers, Owner at Gladstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Hi, I hope it wasn't too much of a cool change arriving back home and glad you enjoyed your coffee on the deck. We thank you for taking the time to complete a review for us. We too use Trip Advisor when we travel so we know the value of a good review. You never know we may get to see you visit again. Cheers Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Tthis is a fantastic family run hostel, clean, very riendly and extrememly helpful. The owners helped us with everything- maps, all sorts of local recommendations, they even gave us a free ride to the ferry terminal and let us keep our car and stuff with them for a few days. My favorite thing about this place was just the over all vibe- very family friendly. in the evening everyone gathered in the common area, some played cards, some (including my kids) watched tTV together- everyone booing and hurraying in unison- very sweet!

Room Tip: our room was near the road and a little hot- as it go the sun all day- i would try to get a room pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstoneBackpackers, Owner at Gladstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Hi,
Thanks for your review! I'm glad to hear you and the kids enjoyed your stay. The afternoon sun can be warm up here in Gladstone and we provide fans to assist with this issue - as well as the pool for a refreshing dip. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Team at Gladstone Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Staying for one night in Gladstone, we just wanted a cheap, basic place to stay. Calling very last minute (on the way to Gladstone), the staff were very helpful and accommodating and happy to fit 9 of us in 2 separate rooms. Having stayed in a hostel right out of a horror movie before, I was pretty hesitant as to what this experience would bring but very pleasantly surprised. Though bathrooms are shared, these were very clean, as were the rooms themselves. Fresh linen and towels were supplied and there was a clean, fresh feel to everything. We didn't spend a whole lot of time at the backpackers except to sleep, but would have spent some time using the large veranda and pool if we had. All in all a great experience for cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monikad763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstoneBackpackers, Owner at Gladstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Hi Mionika,
Thank you for your review. We hope to host you and your group again!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night, it was the best night we ever had and we would have liked to stayed there longer.
We arrived by plane since the bus was cancelled due to the flooding and they picked us up in he nicest suv. It was the nicest owners with the most wonderful dog.
We were on our way out too Heron island and they were really helpful with everything they drove us to the boat.
The told us we could store our bags there and make dinner when we came back before we would get on the night bus to Airlie Beach.


The only little downside to this hostel was that the pool wasn't as clean as I would like but it's no biggie.

I would like too compare it to a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloriaaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstoneBackpackers, Owner at Gladstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Hi!
Thank you for your feedback and for staying at our family run backpackers. We are glad we could assist you on your way to Heron Island. Pandi (our Australian Bulldog) is doing well and the pool is ready for summer action.
Regards,
Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Was up in Gladstone a few weeks ago and as it was never going to be a luxury holiday, just wanted something cheap. The backpackers is definitely the cheapest place in gladstone you can stay. We had a double room and it was clean and pretty basic. No aircon but had 2 standup fans, one double and one single bed. Shared bathrooms and toilets. Kitchen was shared and very clean. Nice owners. Very quiet at night, though don't expect a sleep in as you can hear people talking and moving about in the morning - though this wasn't a problem for us as we are usually up early. Good location close to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladstoneBackpackers, Owner at Gladstone Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Hi,
Thank you for staying at the Gladstone Backpackers. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Many transfers to the buses, trains and ferry occur early in the morning, so for many of our guests there are early starts to day. I am glad to hear that it wasn't an inconveneince to the start of your day.
Kind Regards
Lynda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We booked a night at the Gladstone Backpackers Hostel prior to our transfer to Heron Island and were very happy with our choice.

We got a room with a double bed and a single bed with two fans - sheets and towels were supplied. We did have to share two toilets and showers but these were very clean.

The backpackers is a huge older home which has been converted into a backpackers. It was a little noisy early in the morning as working people live in the hostel full time and get ready for work but this didn't worry us too much.

Lovely sundeck to enjoy breakfast outdoors which we were lucky to have supplied to us free of charge - bread/jam/butter and coffee/tea - perfect.

There's a few seating areas, a lounge with a big screen TV and computers available as well as a book exchange. Beautiful pool area which we didn't use.

Central to the Gladstone Marina and walk to the Gladstone Yacht Club for meals.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenfrogBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
1.6 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
#10 of 22 in Gladstone
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
10.5 mi away
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
Reef Adventureland Motor Inn
#18 of 22 in Gladstone
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#4 of 22 in Gladstone
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone Backpackers

Address: 12 Rollo St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gladstone
Price Range: £28 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gladstone Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2011 Capricorn Tourism Award winning Gladstone Backpackers is a family owned and operated backpackers located within the CBD of Gladstone, which is midway between Rainbow Beach and Airlie Beach. The hostel has a mix of accommodation available including doubles, twins and 4 bed dorms. A great place to take a break and rewind. Take a stroll around the marina, ride the free bikes around to Spinnaker Park or climb the 111 steps to the lookout. Alternatively, relax by the pool with a great book or just sit on the deck and watch the world go by. Free kayak and fishing gear hire for 2 nights stay or more. Wakeboarding, camping and 4wd trips also available. pool side bar with wood fired pizza oven, pool table and fuse ball table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Gladstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing