We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job”
Review of Camelot Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camelot Motel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is an older style walkup multi level unit complex. I stayed here for 2 nights, and breakfest was included in the cost of the room. The room rates were good considering it was mid week in Gladstone. The free Wifi was good, but it just kept dropping out, this made Skype calls impossible. The restaurant was not cheap, more the prices you would pay in a 4 − 5 star resort. My room had a view out over the harbour, so the verandah was a good place to sit do some emailing. The room was clean, the bed was good, so all up, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gt1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Really liked this hotel. I stayed for 2 nights during a relocation to Gladstone.

Check in was quick and easy, staff were welcoming and friendly. Easy parking. Close to everything. The room was clean, well equipped and spacious with a really large and comfy bed, crisp clean linen, and awesome shower head in the bathroom!

The balcony overlooking the pool and gardens and city in the distance was great. Especially enjoyed watching the Kookaburra diving into the swimming pool having a morning dip :)

Have stayed in a lot of hotels, and while this isn't a 5 star holiday resort, it was great value for a weekend stay and I really appreciated the comfortable and relaxing stay it provided during the chaos of relocation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paveyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for one night. We booked via wotif. When we arrived there was no staff at reception just a cleaner who told us the manager had just gone out, at 1430??? The cleaner rang the manager, no answer. Eventually she gave us a key and we let ourselves in. The room itself was ok and quite clean, just very old, dated and with a lovely view of the smelters.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shivsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed here for two nights. Even though it is an older motel, we could not fault the cleanliness of the rooms. Bed very comfortable and had great night sleep. Very quiet location just about 5 minutes drive from centre of Gladstone. Highlight was the great "Sunday" meal we had. Delivered to our table beside the pool, the lasage was just scumptuous (almost as good as mine), and husband said chicken kiev and chips second to none. And we are very fussy eaters. If you are looking for luxury this is not it, but definitely a place to stay if you are visiting or just driving through Gladstone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MingymooBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

How should I start? We stayed here overnight before catching the ferry/boat over to Heron Island. From the minute we entered into the lobby via the front door; it was an interesting atmosphere if not frustrating experience. The front desk clerk was argumentative and despite repeating multiple times that we were tired and just wanted our room key; she continued to argue with us to prove she was "right". Very annoying. In addition much to our suprise, there is no lift in this hotel. The front desk clerk asked us if we wanted assistance with our luggage, but from the "looks" we received from the others at the bar in the hotel, this was not a common occurrence and to accept would be a big faux pas. Then upon entering the rooms which are horrible outdated and look nothing like the pictures (yes, this proves a picture may be deceiving); the first thing we noticed was the TV did not functioning properly (the picture was on, but no sound). After we called down to the front desk (which we had to look up on the number on the internet since the front desk number or how to call the front desk was posted no where in the room), we were told to "turn off" the TV for about 10 minutes and see if it worked after that - if it did not work still - we were to call down to the front desk for them to bring up another TV (although he did mention it would not be a flat screen). Needless to say after 10 minutes, the TV still did not function, but frankly with the lack of customer service or quality we saw from the front desk/reception, but we decided it was not worth the effort to call down again. Although much to our surprise after about 15 minutes later, the front desk called and asked about the status. They then proceeded to bring up the biggest TV we had seen in awhile. Needless to say, the TV had to be configured (which the hotel did not do for us) and the remote for this TV (of course) did not work neither did the second remote they brought up. In addition, during our initial phone call with the front desk, they admitted the fact that they knew the TV was not working correctly anyway and when we inspected the TV closer; there was a post it note attached to it; stating "it needed to be returned." LOVELY!!! I really love it when the company/staff providing the service knows it does not work properly and yet, still does nothing to remedy the situation before allowing customers who are paying for the service or in this case - the hotel room.

Seriously, this hotel is locked in a 70s motif despite the "random attempts" to upgrade certain features (e.g. bathtub, flat screen TVs that do not work!!!, dated - yet appear to be clean - linens, musty sofas we would not even sit on, horrible lighting, carpet had a "damp" feeling to when we tried to walk around barefoot, etc).

As stated, we used this hotel as a jumping off point to Heron Island, but we were tempted to call and try to book another room at 9 PM in the evening. While the hotel room appears basically clean, the lack of customer service and our few annoying and frustrating "experiences" meant we were praying for morning to come quickly. I am sure there are better locations and hotels in the area, I would recommend to keep looking!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bella0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This motel is in a quiet area of Gladstone and although we stayed while a wedding reception was in progress there was minimal noise. Also we were unable to try the restaurant due to this event. Staff were friendly, obliging and helpful. Sliding glass doors opened onto balconies for fresh air and a beautiful night veiw. There was ample parking.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnesescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed at the best western recently and stayed in a spa room, Rooms are a little dated (this is to be expected in gladstone) but have had a bit of updating. Staff where always very friendly and more than happy with anything. The hotel offers a great menu and offers great room service. Nice view out to the sea and industry side of gladstone. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbour City Motel
Harbour City Motel
#17 of 22 in Gladstone
39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
304 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#7 of 22 in Gladstone
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#12 of 22 in Gladstone
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motel

Address: 19 Agnes St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: £45 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Camelot ….experience good old-fashioned hospitality. We are conveniently located on the outskirts of Gladstone with spectacular water views from our room balconies and on-site restaurant. At the Camelot Motel we offer affordable, quality motel accommodation and quality service to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, our team is committed to providing you with exemplary customer service and assistance to the best of our ability. For buses, truck and trailers as well as caravans, we have ample parking available; a very large parking area to suit all, on two levels. Why not take the punt and give the Camelot Motel a “GO.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Camelot Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gladstone
Gladstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing