We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this nightmare over with yet?”
Review of Camelot Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camelot Motel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed 27 October 2009

How should I start? We stayed here overnight before catching the ferry/boat over to Heron Island. From the minute we entered into the lobby via the front door; it was an interesting atmosphere if not frustrating experience. The front desk clerk was argumentative and despite repeating multiple times that we were tired and just wanted our room key; she continued to argue with us to prove she was "right". Very annoying. In addition much to our suprise, there is no lift in this hotel. The front desk clerk asked us if we wanted assistance with our luggage, but from the "looks" we received from the others at the bar in the hotel, this was not a common occurrence and to accept would be a big faux pas. Then upon entering the rooms which are horrible outdated and look nothing like the pictures (yes, this proves a picture may be deceiving); the first thing we noticed was the TV did not functioning properly (the picture was on, but no sound). After we called down to the front desk (which we had to look up on the number on the internet since the front desk number or how to call the front desk was posted no where in the room), we were told to "turn off" the TV for about 10 minutes and see if it worked after that - if it did not work still - we were to call down to the front desk for them to bring up another TV (although he did mention it would not be a flat screen). Needless to say after 10 minutes, the TV still did not function, but frankly with the lack of customer service or quality we saw from the front desk/reception, but we decided it was not worth the effort to call down again. Although much to our surprise after about 15 minutes later, the front desk called and asked about the status. They then proceeded to bring up the biggest TV we had seen in awhile. Needless to say, the TV had to be configured (which the hotel did not do for us) and the remote for this TV (of course) did not work neither did the second remote they brought up. In addition, during our initial phone call with the front desk, they admitted the fact that they knew the TV was not working correctly anyway and when we inspected the TV closer; there was a post it note attached to it; stating "it needed to be returned." LOVELY!!! I really love it when the company/staff providing the service knows it does not work properly and yet, still does nothing to remedy the situation before allowing customers who are paying for the service or in this case - the hotel room.

Seriously, this hotel is locked in a 70s motif despite the "random attempts" to upgrade certain features (e.g. bathtub, flat screen TVs that do not work!!!, dated - yet appear to be clean - linens, musty sofas we would not even sit on, horrible lighting, carpet had a "damp" feeling to when we tried to walk around barefoot, etc).

As stated, we used this hotel as a jumping off point to Heron Island, but we were tempted to call and try to book another room at 9 PM in the evening. While the hotel room appears basically clean, the lack of customer service and our few annoying and frustrating "experiences" meant we were praying for morning to come quickly. I am sure there are better locations and hotels in the area, I would recommend to keep looking!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bella0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

This motel is in a quiet area of Gladstone and although we stayed while a wedding reception was in progress there was minimal noise. Also we were unable to try the restaurant due to this event. Staff were friendly, obliging and helpful. Sliding glass doors opened onto balconies for fresh air and a beautiful night veiw. There was ample parking.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnesescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed at the best western recently and stayed in a spa room, Rooms are a little dated (this is to be expected in gladstone) but have had a bit of updating. Staff where always very friendly and more than happy with anything. The hotel offers a great menu and offers great room service. Nice view out to the sea and industry side of gladstone. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Checked into the Camelot late evening, and were met with genine friendliness by the staff. Asked if they could do a birthday special in the restaurant off the menu, and were happy that it was no problem.

The rooms are in an older style, and probably a little smaller than your average motel country motel room. They had seen a fresh coat of paint, but certainly weren't recently renovated. The room was well serviced and clean.

The rooms all open out to narrow balcony that overlooks Queensland Alumina and the water in the distance - not close enough to cause any disturbance. If you are in Gladstone, then this has to count as a good view!

The location was suburban, no shops or restaurants within walking distance, but Central Gladstone and the shopping areas are only 5 minutes drive away. No problems with noise in this location.

The restaurant seemed a little expensive - but to be fair was on par with other restaurants in town. The dishes on the menu seemed adventurous and tasty on the menu and in their presentation, but a little disappointing in the flavour. The waitperson was having their first night on shift, and made up for some lack of knowledge with a nice smile, and friendly attitude.

Breakfast was servied in the room, or the restaurant. Room service dinner (resaurant menu, snacks or pizza).

We were just there for a one night stay, while travelling up the coast, and the Cemelot met our needs well. We would stay there again if passing for a night or two.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

Be very careful if you decide to park your car on the upper level parking lot. The side barrier between the upper level and the driveway between the two levels is very short and this part of the parking lot is unlit. I went to get something from the car and fell 4-5 feet to the asphalt driveway below. I can't comment on the room as I spent the night in the hospital. My travel companion can't comment either as she spent much of the night in the hospital with me and was too upset to notice the room . I broke several bones and left Gladstone in a wheelchair .

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A4K100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taucherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbour City Motel
Harbour City Motel
#16 of 22 in Gladstone
39 reviews
2 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
2.2 mi away
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
Harbour Sails Motor Inn
#7 of 22 in Gladstone
67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
Siesta Villa Motor Inn
#9 of 22 in Gladstone
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motel

Address: 19 Agnes St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: £45 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Camelot ….experience good old-fashioned hospitality. We are conveniently located on the outskirts of Gladstone with spectacular water views from our room balconies and on-site restaurant. At the Camelot Motel we offer affordable, quality motel accommodation and quality service to make your stay a pleasurable experience. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, our team is committed to providing you with exemplary customer service and assistance to the best of our ability. For buses, truck and trailers as well as caravans, we have ample parking available; a very large parking area to suit all, on two levels. Why not take the punt and give the Camelot Motel a “GO.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Camelot Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gladstone
Gladstone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing