We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On!”
Review of Mercure Gladstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gladstone
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Gladstone
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great Rooms! Restaurants with a wide range of food options. Ideal for the all travelers. We stayed just overnight to board the ship and wanted to stay longer. Room was clean, bed comfortable. Great shower. Fabulous TV selection. Only one setback - No Free WiFi! Hope I can visit the beautiful city and stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AungRedDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Pho P,

Thankyou for taking the time to review Mercure Gladstone. It is fantastic to hear such positive feedback both about the accommodation and Yaralla Sports Club.

If you find yourself heading to the Gladstone area soon, please feel free to contact me so I can personally assist you with your booking & assist you with connecting to our free Wifi.

Kind Regards,

Holly Patterson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    98
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
57
72
10
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel stay, large comfortable rooms with all the amenities. My only complaint is no free wi fi. Undercover parking. Lots of restaurants and bars. Great shower. Fabulous TV selection. Mini Bar had everything you need. Rooms were well thought out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GregoryBBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi GregoryBBundaberg,

Thankyou for your review. As a reasonably new property your review is very reassuring. Our goal is to provide the best accommodation in the area and we are continually working towards this.

If you do find yourself in Gladstone again please let me know, I would be more than happy to take care of your booking myself, and show you how to access our free Wifi.

Kind Regards,

Holly Patterson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at the Mercure over the Easter long weekend.
Firstly I would like to mention the reception staff were great and were definitely the highlight of this hotel.
Now, the improvements that could be made to make this "ok" experience a great one!

Housekeeping: My room was tidy however there was dust and debris scattered throughout the room that could have been cleaned prior to the room being used. Also, the daily refreshment of the room was poor, the housekeeping staff only seemed to make the bed (not very well) and place new towels in the room. There is also little sand flies around the hotel which needs to be treated by a spray or proper clean of the rooms. My husband and I are now covered in tiny bites all over our body.

Breakfast: The breakfast buffet served in the italian restaurant each morning needs to be reviewed. The waitstaff did not seem to be able to cope with there being more than 4 guests at a time seated, this created uncomfortable conversations between guests. Also, the food was cold and tasteless. We paid over $50 per and were extremely disappointed with what we received (not to mention you have to make your own drinks). Value for money not great.

This hotel has the capacity to be great but definitely needs to address the above issues.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not facing the roof or sun as the rooms can get quite hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
HI Rachel B,

Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry that we let you down this time. We pride ourselves on the service and cleanliness we offer our guests.

Please let me know when you are back with us and I will look after your booking myself.

Kind Regards,

Holly Patterson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for a week when in Gladstone for work and definitely recommend to other travellers heading up that way. Really great place to stay in Gladstone with spacious rooms and the hotel staff service is fantastic. Other positives include variety of dining options and free access to the gym next door.
Only downside is the room window looks out over the gaming area...so best to keep the curtains shut!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Justin M,

Thankyou for taking the time to share your experience with us.

The team have worked hard from opening to have great staff who value our guest's stay with us and to have features that really set us apart, so the positive feedback is much appreciated.

There are a number of different views available at the property. Should you be coming up this way again, please feel free to contact me and I will assist with organising a view more to your liking for your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Holly Patterson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for nor night in March and couldn't have been happier with the stay. The rooms are very generously sized and impeccably kept, the rain shower water head was a great touch. You become a member of the sports club when booking a room, and the bar downstairs is super handy for a late night beverage. The staff were outstanding and ever accommodating, making the whole process very smooth. It's a step above everything else in the area. It probably reflects more on me than the hotel but it did take me a long while to turn off all of the lamps!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiekatie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thankyou for providing a review of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We work hard to ensure people have a good stay with us, so I am glad you enjoyed your time here at the Mercure Gladstone & Yaralla Sports Club.

We hope to see you at the property again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Holly Patterson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our stay at the Mercure hotel, Gladstone was enhanced by the front desk staff who exceeded our every need. The staff were extremely friendly, courteous and went out of their way to make our short stay very enjoyable. The room had all the mod cons expected and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and a great shower. The restaurants were varied and reasonably priced. A great place for a stopover or short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Gladstone, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thankyou for your review of your stay with us.

Mercure Gladstone prides ourselves on good staff and good rooms so I am glad you enjoyed your time here.

We hope to see you at the property again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Holly Patterson
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
1.4 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 23 in Gladstone
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
1.3 mi away
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
#13 of 23 in Gladstone
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barney Beach Accommodation Centre
1.4 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#3 of 23 in Gladstone
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toolooa Gardens Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gladstone

Property: Mercure Gladstone
Address: Cnr Bell and O Connell Street | Barney Point, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Gladstone 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing