We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't rate this hotel 4 stars”
Review of Harbour City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour City Motel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I wouldn't rate this hotel 4 stars”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was a reasonable place to stay - the location is good but I was a bit disappointed with the room. It was quite large but in my opinion the furniture is pretty sad. The foam in the chairs has gone flat, no mini bar,horrible shower. I would not rate this 4 stars by any means but if they spent some money modernising the rooms it could possibly deserve its current rate. It seems that this hotel is mainly used by miners whom are very noisy especially early morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imanaussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
15
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We arrived in Gladstone after being cut off by the floods when heading north, so had to stay in this town. Unfortunately, due to the mining boom, accomodation is very overpriced. We noted this was one of the town's 'budget' options at 160AUD a night, so decided to give it a go. We had also noted previous poor Tripadvisor reviews of the place. On arrival we parked up and could see the door to one of the rooms was open and it looks tired and dingy inside.

We arrived at reception and asked them if we could see a room before booking. We were told "It's not hotel policy to show guests the room before they stay in it", as "it might dirty the carpet and the rooms aren't inspected before guests stay". She then advised if we wanted the room we would need to pay right now. Presumably if you then say you don't like it, there is no refund.

I have stayed in 5AUD a night rooms in Asia and the proprietors there have enough pride in their rooms to show them to guests before they stay. I have never heard of such a policy before anywhere. I can only assume the rooms are as bad as receptions attitude. For 160AUD a night, you would expect this most basic element of service.

We decided to give the place a miss. On leaving the rude receptionist said in a sarcastic voice "Good luck finding somewhere else".

Well we did find somewhere else - Harbour Sails Motor Inn. This place is slightly more expensive, but with normal people at reception and reasonable standard of accomodation. Hopefully others will choose to try their luck and find somewhere better that this. We did.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gladstone hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

This was booked for an overnight stay and for $165 included free wifi, comfortable room with modern bathroom and CBD location. As it is only for the one night, you can overlook the unfriendly (confrontational) lady on reception and dwell on the positives already mentioned.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here as a stop over before heading out to Heron Island. Staff were wonderful! Very helpful and gave great advice and tips. (as we arrived on a Sunday afternoon, all the local shops were shut but they suggested a lovely walk to the marina, which we enjoyed.)
Clean rooms, comfy bed. Would have preferred the air con to be on before we got there but it cooled down quickly enough.
Also had a nice dinner across the road at Queens.
Breakfast in the restaurant was satisfactory. Lovely decor.
Overall, a well priced stopover. Staff were wonderful!! Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 15 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MW162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel as a stop over for traveling to and from Heron Island. I arrived around 3pm and was provided a key to a room - upon entry found it was not cleaned, was given another key and again, that room was not clean, finally the 3rd key appeared to be a clean room. However, there was a used soap, trash in trash can and a wet towel in the small frig that was not cold. I was tired of dragging my suitcase from room to room so just accepted this one. The room was very hot and it took several hours before it would cool down. The frig needed to be turned on as well. We were so hot we could not stay in the room so we stuffed some cardboard in the room key slot so the airconditioner would continue to work while we went out for a walk. The room was very average no frills (except for the frig once it cooled off). We felt like we didn't have much of a choice of rooms in this town due to the lack of hotels - it is a "seller's market". When we returned from Heron Island, we stayed here again and the first room was clean. This hotel was approx. $150 US per night which was overpriced for what we got. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: all seem to be the same view and layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 85Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Harbour city motel and found the rooms very nice and quite. Had a meal in the restaurant which was very lovely. The staff was very friendly and the managers were very helpful. I would reconmend to anyone to stay and i will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Staff and management think they can treat you like dirt because they know accommodation in Gladstone is at a premium and if u leave someone else will fill ur place. The owner manager is rude doesn't-listen to u hangs up on you and lies. I will never stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Unit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gladstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Grand Gladstone
Oaks Grand Gladstone
#1 of 22 in Gladstone
262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Gladstone
Mercure Gladstone
#2 of 22 in Gladstone
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
Rydges Gladstone Hotel
#12 of 22 in Gladstone
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel & Apartments Gladstone
0.2 mi away
Park View Gladstone
Park View Gladstone
#4 of 22 in Gladstone
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Lodge Motel
Harbour Lodge Motel
#9 of 22 in Gladstone
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motel

Property: Harbour City Motel
Address: 20 - 24 William St, Gladstone, Queensland 4680, Australia (Formerly Harbour City Motel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gladstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Harbour City Motel you can enjoy free Wifi in our standard, family and spa rooms. Our motel is situated just around the corner from the city centre with an easy walk to numerous eateries. We offer room service breakfast and packed lunches seven days a week. All rooms are air conditioned with a refrigerator, electric jug, telephone, flat screened tv, clock/radio and iron. The ensuite bathroom has a shower, hairdryer and toiletries. Free parking in front of your room for easy unloading from your car. Our seasonal outdoor pool is available for a cool dip after a long drive. Refreshments are available to purchase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing