We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Bay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayview Bay Apartments
Smiths Lake, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis in paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This accomodation offers something very hard to find, peace and relaxation. the well maintained gardens and lawn that spread over a couple of acres from the apartments past the pool, BBQ area through strands of palm trees and down to the waters edge of a canal with boat moorings offers an escape from full on sightseeing days.
The accomodation is spacious and well maintained and the staff are friendly and helpful. The management under Rebecca and Matt are very approachable and prepared to assist.
There is something of real value to be enjoyed as you sit on your balcony in deep shade on a summers evening with a cooling breeze pulling thru your unit. families playing in the pool and families BBQ-ing their dinner nearby. it creates an atmosphere that is simply relaxing.
The accomodation is not new but it is perfectly located in a great part of the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: During the day open your windows up as a beautiful cool ozoney sea breeze pulls thru the units from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you are looking for something cheap, not caring about cleanliness, then Apartment 48 is the place for you. My mother, who visited, was horrified at the condition. I justified it to her by explaining that it was spacious, cheap and I don't mind old. Although it was NOT easy for us two women and two little kids to haul all the suitcases up the three floors. Up and down each day was kinda fun and good exercise, but sometimes dangerous as the lights would flip off mid staircase. Not good for my kids or ageing mum!
Mentioned the cleanliness to Rebecca, who explained that it was due for a "spring clean", however, this needed more than a spring clean. The cleaners did come in to do a surface quicky of the things I mentioned, but there was just too much in the end. Open a drawer and it was full of dirty dishes/cutlery, IN a dirty drawer. Dripped food on the edges. The cloth sofas and dining chairs were sticky with food, chunks of chocolate etc. Rebecca did give us some sheets to throw over them all. Washing machine, dryer very basic and dirty again.
The showers were a real problem for us. One shower, we couldn't pull the lever to switch to shower mode. Both shower nozzles were so cheap and tacky that they'd just locked into place, meaning we couldn't adjust for the kids to use. I couldn't adjust the pressure, which resulted in the rose flipping up to the ceiling. I pretty much got soaked, all over, whenever ANYONE tried to have a shower. Maintenance did come in and attached a crude thing for the kids to pull the lever out, however, I asked if they could fix, or adjust the other shower, as the kids couldn't use that shower, even with the lever.
None of the curtains seemed to block out the morning sun. Either couldn't close, or missing strips. Views would have been nice to experience, but after managing how to open and close, didn't want to step out into the dirty balcony. The windows, glass doors look like they've never been cleaned. Wiped out the fridge myself before putting anything in.
Felt that the whole set up there was about "money". The original unit I was booked in had wifi, but when I mentioned the newly located one didn't, they tried to "sell" me a deal, which turned out to be hooking into the neighbour's wifi. Changing was my fault BTW. My flight was cancelled and rebooked to the next day. Did kindly lend me some adapters.
The good thing about the whole stay was the pool and jacuzzi. Heated nicely for a relaxing dip before we tackled the black out stairs back to our third floor.
When we returned to Runaway Bay two week later, after travelling down to Vic and back, we booked into apartments down the road. For only $70 more a night, it was a HUGE difference. See my review on Broadwater Shores.

Room Tip: It appears that these condos are owned and rented out by different agents and owners. My advice is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akaall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

we loved staying here with our two toddlers.the rooms were spacious,clean and modern.everything needed was provided for.the apartment was very safe and secure,as was the underground carpark. there was heaps of room for our children to play both in and outside.the pool was clean and was lovely and warm too.the gardens were well taken care and tidy and the complex was lovely and quiet.runaway bay was a really nice area with a handy large shopping mall up the road and a garage/service station with food etc... across the road.fab kids playground up the road at paradise point and another in the opposite direction in southport. the apartments were very central to everything and we found it very easy to find our way around. we will definately be staying here on our next holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

It was nice staying at your apartment. Very confortable, quiet and beautiful surroundings. Will stay there if we were to go to GC again and will recommend to our relatives and friends to choose Bayview Bay Apartment if they plan to visit GC. Thanks for your assistance and hv a nice day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boncafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had a great time staying here. The apartment was great, spacious and clean. Great location, out of Surfers Paradise so it was easy to get around, but also convenient to jump in the car and head to the bigger shopping areas. We found it a good location to get to the Theme Parks and we loved the pool on the warmer evenings. It was handy having a washing machine and dryer inside, and the clothes airer supplied got a good workout.
The owners were really nice, and very helpful too.
We will definitely stay here again when we head back to the Gold Coast next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A nice clean apartment that over looked the canal. Secure underground parking and controlled access to the apartments. Didn't try to pool but it looked very clean. Nice BBQ area with room to sit. Will be back again for sure

Room Tip: Access to the rooms is via a stair way so ask for a ground floor if carrying bags is a problem for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

We arrived in the middle of the night which wasn't a problem and all our emails were promptly replied to regarding this. The apartment had everything you needed. The only issue we had was that the apartment didn't smell too fresh, the sofas, curtains and blankets smelled stale but perhaps the apartment wasn't used too often, I don't know. The grounds were very plesant and clean. Bayview Bay is just up the road from to Southport and Surfers Paradise by car and Runaway Bay shopping centre is a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laugan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gold Coast hotels
1.9 mi away
Allisee Apartments
Allisee Apartments
#162 of 350 in Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Waters Waterfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Broadwater Shores
Broadwater Shores
#1 of 1 in Runaway Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach
Bayview Beach
#3 of 5 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#3 of 6 in Labrador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Runaway Bay Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Runaway Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Bay Apartments

Property: Bayview Bay Apartments
Address: 37 Bayview Street | Runaway Bay, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 350 Speciality Lodging in Gold Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bayview Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing